We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DONOTBOOKWEDDINGHERE” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Timber House Country Inn & Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Timber House Country Inn & Resort to your Saves list
Timber House Country Inn & Resort
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   116 Cedardale Road | PO Box 903, Brighton, Ontario K0K 1H0, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 8 Brighton B&B and Inns
Brighton, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“DONOTBOOKWEDDINGHERE”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

My husband and I recently just attended a wedding at the venue and the rooms that we could see were dirty
dust is everywhere and the bride was doing all the place settings on her wedding day when she should have been enjoying it
silverware and plates at different tables were dirty
the water smelled so terrible!! ( definately sulfar) The smell also came out of the drains !!
The wedding co ordinator had a shirt on that did not even cover her belly
and she looked like she was about 20
food was just ok
The front desk is not inviting at all ( nobody is there if you need anything)
It is a shame that this place is not being looked after anymore
My husband and I attended a wedding in 2011 and the place was nothing like it is now

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    11
    6
    9
    1
See reviews for
15
23
1
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We were so unsatisfied that we did not stay the night ! When we arrived it took 5 minutes to locate someone to check us in. The water in the shower smelled so bad, like rotten eggs that It stunk up the room. Our room had a 2 way fireplace and the other side was open to the common room , which made us feel very uncomfortable, as someone could actually look into our room. There were 3 padlocked doors in the room leading to ...? We had expected a dining room for our meals which was mentioned in the ad, but this was not the case. There was no food available in the evening and we discovered that the breakfast would Continental , not fullservice, as we had been lead to believe and would only be out from 8:30 to 9:30 am. Not a way to spend what was supposed to be a romantic getaway. Have tried twice to contact the Inn to get our money back and no one is even returning our calls. Not recommending this Inn to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davedingle, Owner at Timber House Country Inn & Resort, responded to this review, September 6, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to provide your feedback.
I'm very sorry we didn't meet your expectations. If you have left a voice mail, we haven't received it. Please feel free to contact me at info@timberhouse.net for an immediate response.
The room you stayed in is very popular with the majority of our guests, so I was a bit surprised by some of your comments, but I appreciate the opportunity to see things as a guest sees them. The room does have a two way fireplace with a privacy curtain on the guest room side. There are storage closet doors in this spacious guest room. We use them for linens and in the other case, on extremely rare occasions, to access some building wiring. In over 10 years since this suite went into operation, this is the first time we've heard this concern.
Our water is well water and does occasionally have a sulfur odor. We are in the country and on a well. We have a very good softener, while the water is great for bathing and drinking, occasionally there is an odor. We note other reviewers have commented on this and appreciate it may be a concern for some.
Our evening kitchen is open by prearrangement, particularly in slower periods. If you book directly with us we inform you when we send our confirmation so it is clear. If you book on a third party reservation provider, depending on the provider this may not be clear. We are working on improving the information flow regardless how a booking is made.
Our breakfast is a full buffet and seems to be fairly popular. It features some variation each day with some kind of fresh fruit, fresh eggs, bacon, nice baked goods and homemade jams. To ensure a good selection with generous portions, we offer it in a buffet format. The chef is available for any special requests for the period from 8:30 to 9:30 AM. The buffet is available for longer than 8:30 to 9:30 AM for those who sleep later. The buffet is included in our reasonable room rates.
I regret that I and my staff didn't have a chance to learn about and address any of these concerns with you during your brief visit.
Sincerely,
Dave Dingle, Owner
Timber House Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smiths Falls
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed one night in this amazing place and we loved it. Our room was huge with an ensuite bathroom that was absolutely, spotlessly clean. The queen bed was super comfortable. Our room was very reasonable, around $100 and includes a delicious breakfast with hot and cold selections. The staff was very courteous and accommodating. All in all, we had a wonderful experience and would recommend it to anyone. We will be back!

Room Tip: If stairs are a challenge, ask for a ground floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We are accidental tourists from across the pond in Rochester, NY, USA. We have a cottage on Port Bay (Wolcott, NY, USA) and planned to spend a week there following the dropping off of our youngest at university. Last week, as we were making plans for an enjoyable week, my husband suggested day trips with possible destinations of Kingston, Gananoque, Alexandria Bay and Lake Placid. We have been to all many times and I left the planning to my husband. Earlier this week, he suggested spending the night somewhere between Kingston and Gananoque, an idea I thought was lovely. And off he went to make a reservation. Done. And off we went. Imagine his surprise when he entered the address into his GPS following a nostalgic early supper at a favorite cafe in Kingston only to find that he had miscalculated. Rather than 1.5 hours towards Gananoque, it was 1.5 hours toward TORONTO. And here we are. Not what we had planned at all.
We took 401-W from Kingston, exiting at Brighton. After many twists and turns, with darkness looming, we finally found the Inn. Pulling in, it was an inspired first glance. A young family walking the path from the woods, an older couple sitting outside in Adirondack-style chairs, a mother and daughter off to explore... all in the shadow of a large, well-lit timber-peg Inn. I expected Hemingway to emerge from the wood's edge followed by a loping a moose at any moment. Check-in was effortless and Dave, the innkeeper, showed my husband our room while I finished a phone call to other children at home. First, the setting. Timber House is set off the beaten track, away from the lights, glare and noise of day-to-day living. If you are looking for peace and tranquility, you have come to the right place. We stayed in the Upper King Suite and were pleased to find that the room met all expectations. Clean and well-cared for, comfortable bed (first thing I checked!), perfectly appointed bathroom with plump, fresh, white towels. Luxurious. Two things to note about the water. Yes, it has a sulphur odor (in response to other reviews). The water is wonderful, refreshing, cool, crisp WELL water. A sulphuric odor on occasion is a small price to pay for pristine well water. The other thing to note is that a water softener is used. You will definitely notice this when showering. Softened water is a treat but be sure to use only half the amount of soap and shampoo or you'll be there all day, actually not a bad thing. After a long day, we traveled into Brighton to try to find dinner. At 8:30 p.m., in a small coastal/lake town on a Tuesday evening, we were only able to find one restaurant still open (Vita's- very good). We returned to a quiet Inn and retreated to our room where we slept the deep, restorative sleep one can usually only hope for in a strange place. Both my husband and I are light sleepers from years of children and teens coming and going at home. We never heard a sound from the other inn guests... not a peep, cry, snore, or bed bounce. Though the parking area indicated a full house, we wondered if the cars were from a neighboring campground. We rose in the morning and headed down to the breakfast room which had seating for 18, more if you pulled up extra chairs. We met other inn guests and chatted away while food began arriving. Breakfast is buffet style but don't let that deter you. This morning's offerings were homemade breads (banana mango), delicious, thick french toast with REAL maple syrup and homemade jams, baked eggs, fresh thick bacon, and a variety of cereals. The coffee and juices balanced the meal perfectly. We are back in our room, packing up, and counting blessings that we "accidentally" encountered this magical inn. And now... off to Gananoque!

Room Tip: My husband headed down to get us coffee before breakfast was officially served. He ran into others w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here overnight and it was fine for what we needed - a clean and quiet place to rest. Because it's in a wooded area, we did see a few mosquitos in our room which we had to kill before we headed to bed. Their facilities are clean and accessible, except their yoga studio. It felt like no one used it and it was a bit dusty and had a couple of wrappers laying around. The steam bath was a nice touch. The next morning we had a decent breakfast and the chef was very accommodating.

Room Tip: Book early to get the best suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked the space for a catered family event. It is nice and clean inside, except for the laminate floor which is bubbling up, and it appears to have a vulnerable septic system.

But the problem was with the SPARSE and somewhat haphazard staffing, who simply couldn't keep up with service required (our 40 polite guests were left without wine, coffee or other top-up things for much of the meal). For such an expensive per-plate (something like $65) cost, the little pat of dried chicken, green beans and potatoes were more like thievery than an insult.

Even the appetizers seemed reluctantly placed in a corner unannounced. Kind of bizarre.

Anyway, I love my family too much to let this ruin the memory of the event- but I'm warning you that you'll regret how much you paid for such an event here.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davedingle, Owner at Timber House Country Inn & Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear policestyle,
I'm very sorry you feel this event was unsatisfactory. I was surprised to see this review as we are very proud of our record as a family and corporate event venue of choice. Most of our reviews reflect this. For your information, the Timber House Resort uses a state-of-the-art wetland treatment system, installed three years ago.
Please feel free to contact me via this forum or telephone should you wish to discuss further.
Sincerely,
Dave Dingle
Owner, Timber House Resort
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Timber House suffers from an identity crisis, it is neither a B and B nor an Inn. It was completely full for the first two days we were there. On arrival we actually were greeted by someone, many times the desk is not manned and you have to call to get someone to come and check you in. We soon discovered the advertised tandem bicycle had little air in its tires and the chains were rusty; needless to say we did not get to try this. No one informed us they had a steam room, nor were we told anything about the place except that breakfast was at 08:30. The breakfast was okay but they decided to add a variety of peppers to the scrambled eggs on the first day, and it was always a buffet style. The choice of cereal was poor and unhealthy. We noted that the one 4-slice toaster they had for all the guests (which they cannot sit when all the rooms are full) had one side without a pop-up so the bread got stuck and guests had to fish it out.
Our room was spacious, but was not clean. I wrote 'Dust' on the shelf of one of the tables, it was there all three days! The bathroom floor was not mopped the entire time we were there...I left little tests for them. The TV was SMALL, my laptop has a bigger screen; I didn't know you could get screens this small.
Then there is the water; it does indeed have a very heavy smell of sulphur or rotten eggs. I had seen this mentioned in one review I read, but it is really an issue; unless one likes a mineral bath. Using the jetted tub was not a pleasant experience; only tried it once.
We never the owner or his wife although I suspect he was the guy in shorts we saw in the morning at breakfast.
Needless to say, we would never stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
7.1 mi away
Canadas Best Value Inn Trenton
8.3 mi away
Ramada Trenton
Ramada Trenton
#5 of 7 in Trenton
3.0 of 5 stars 333 reviews
17.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Belleville
BEST WESTERN Belleville
#2 of 7 in Belleville
4.5 of 5 stars 244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.1 mi away
Towneplace Suites Belleville
17.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Belleville
8.4 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#2 of 7 in Trenton
3.5 of 5 stars 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Timber House Country Inn & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Timber House Country Inn & Resort

Address: 116 Cedardale Road | PO Box 903, Brighton, Ontario K0K 1H0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Brighton
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Brighton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Timber House Country Inn & Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Timber House Country Inn and Resort has 9 luxurious guest suites which are great for single over night stays or large family reunions! The Great Banquet Hall can accommodate up to 230 guests (125 seasonally) for your wedding or party. Let the friendly staff at The Timber House create a warm and cozy feeling every visit :) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Timber House Country Inn & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Timber House Country Inn & Resort Brighton, Ontario, Canada

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Timber House Country Inn & Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.