We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is all relevant .........” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant

The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Meliden
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant
4 Ffordd Talargoch, Meliden LL19 8LA, Wales   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Meliden B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“It really is all relevant .........”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

My room cost £39 and every thing that I required, including plenty of space. If it had cost £139 I would have griped about certain aspects, however as I remark in my review title 'it really is all relevant .The bathroom may be a little bit tired but at this price and the price of the food , it's difficult to see where the investment would come from and I would rather see the security of the excellent staff.......a proper fully staffed establishment here, take note, than have a new bit of Lino in the toilet.
The cooking here reflects on the honest approach of the owners and a Chef with commitment and confidence. The chef has aspirations , it is evident to see with the presentation as well as the skill in preperation and cooking.
This is somewhere that would be good to live near to because the reliable an fairly inexpensive menu would be an affordable regular treat.
Anyone holidaying in this area could do an awful lot worse than eat a The Red Lion.
I was here for a funeral sadly , at the church next door (another Guinness Vicar).
The cellar must be well kept and plenty drunk because the Guinness was as good as any where including Ireland.

Room Tip: Don't think there's much choice and maybe only two to choose from.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    14
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
3
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The food at the Red Lion this Christmas was amazing. It wasn't gourmet food and it didn't pretend to be. It was just great properly cooked food beautifully presented on our plates. It was fresh, tasted wonderful and the kitchen staff went the extra mile to make each dish look as special as it tasted. The table was beautifully set and the great feeling of Christmas cheer seemed to be alive and well in the whole pub. The service from the four different members of staff, who we directly interacted with, was excellent (even though they were pushed to the limits and our party ranged form the very young to the very elderly).

This was the second year that we booked Christmas dinner at the Red Lion, Meliden and it exceeded our expectations. Christmas day is a busy busy day and we chose the Red because we like the owners and staff and because we implicitly trusted them to deliver our large party a true Great Value For Money experience. They delivered, and then some.

We are regular contributors to this forum and believe that our reviews are well balanced and will show that we have travelled well and dined even better! We know standards of food and service. One of our party, on Christmas Day, is a senior manager for one of the country's largest hospitality businesses. We all agreed that, on a Value for Money basis, the Red Lion Meliden did an absolutely terrific job on Christmas Day.

We are therefore somewhat surprised at the seemingly scurrilous comments posted here by a previous reviewer. They are entitled to their opinions and we would certainly not sink so low as to directly criticise their review (even though they have no such qualms about making unnecessary and shameful personal attacks on the staff of the Red Lion). All we ask is that, before judging the Red Lion, you look at this reviewers profile. You will see that (at time of writing) they only write bad reviews. Have they never been anywhere nice? Their review quite clearly states that they had previously decided not to come back to the Red Lion. Would you trust your special Christmas Day to a pub that you thought was not up to scratch? Not likely! We will be requesting that Trip Advisor looks into this reviewers motives.

Happy Dining

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north wales
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This is the second year running we have had our Christmas dinner at the restaurant and we have already booked for next year. The food is simply outstanding, all homemade and truly delicious. There aren't many traditional pubs like this left and it is a real gem!!! The atmosphere is lovely and the staff are friendly and always cheery and helpful. My family who traveled from Australia were amazed at the quality and value for money...... Try going for your Sunday's lunch, but make sure you book as they are a popular choice!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palma de Mallorca, Spain
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

Such a nice surprise. This cosy pub & restaurant has been on our doorstep all the time. We were a party of four so we tried four starters, four main meals & four sweets and... everything was delicious! This is "proper grub" as James Martin would say.
Clean, friendly and efficient. What more can one ask for in a pub milieu?

Lovely!

FB

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Wales
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

My family and I have eaten numerous times in the Red Lion restaurant , including Christmas day dinner. Every meal has been top quality. All food is freshly cooked using quality fresh ingredients. The food is presented well and portions are generous. The meals are exceptional value and the atmosphere is very warm and welcoming. The Red Lion's meals are superb offering a really wide selection - something for everyone. Highly recommended, make sure you give it a try!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Stumbled upon this pub on the web and we called in to try the "Early Bird " menu. A 3 course meal for 8 quid!....WOW...how fabulous is that! Was expecting throw it at you sub-standard pub grub for that price. Couldn't have been more wrong! the food was of fine quality served with no fuss that looked good and tasted fantastic. Early bird menu goes on until 7.30pm and I can't recommend it enough.... go try it....you won't be sorry! Cheers mine hosts...keep up the good work., will be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2012

A real find ; expertly cooked and presented food in a lovely Olde Worlde style pub.
The food was fabulous.
Hard working staff were attentive but not overbearing and very helpful and polite when we were ordering , both for ourselves and our 6 year old son.
Would recommend every time.



n.b. might be worth trying to book in advance at weekends ; we booked in for quarter to seven on a saturday night and by half past the place was heaving , doing a roaring trade.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant

Address: 4 Ffordd Talargoch, Meliden LL19 8LA, Wales
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Wales > North Wales > Denbighshire > Meliden
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Meliden
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Red Lion is run by Licensee Mrs. Marilyn Devlin and her husband Gordon.En-suite accommodation with the facilities of a traditional Welsh pub. Our tastefully furnished rooms are ideal for business or holidays! All visitors are assured a warm welcome, whether you're taking a much needed break or travelling on business ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added The Red Lion Inn & Restaurant to your Saves list