We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good meal but lacking in atmosphere.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The walton gateway

The walton gateway
160 Main Street | Walton, Street, England
01458-44-77-33
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 33 Restaurants in Street
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Good meal but lacking in atmosphere.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Arrived without booking and found a table.
Menu of typical pub food, not gastro pub but solid fayre if a little unadventurous.

Dined in the bar area which is smart enough but a bit bland and lacking in character/style....
but clean and modern. Menu a bit limited.

Food good portions, tasty and hot and a mountain of chips if you like that sort of thing.
Game casserole good amount of tender meat but just a tad too much salt and dumplings
undercooked.

Overall enjoyable, reasonably priced and helpful, friendly staff.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    11
    4
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Nice Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

Went to this Pub because of reviews on Trip advisor.

Had a beautiful roast beef dinner and my daughter had a chicken dish (also very good)

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“What a pleasant surprise!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Needing a hasty lunch on our way from Street, this was the first place 'out of town'. The "2couses for £10" ad made me think it would likely be either cheap and cheerful or second rate. We only had time for one course each and said that we were in a bit of a hurry. We had a diferent dish each, Smoked haddock, spinach and mustard mash, squash (I think) and red onion rissotto, fish supper, and liver and bacon. Extra sauce was brought along, on request, with an apology for the delay.....all of 5 minutes! All four plates were quite delicious, well cooked and well presented. The service was slick and friendly and with a dring each, the bill came to around £44!! Couldn't fault it. Nice atmosphere, good parking, some nice local beer....what mor could a weary traveller (or 4) want?

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glastonbury
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Return experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Having had a poor experience here last year not long after the restaurant opened (I was invited then by Trip Advisor to revise my initial review as I had quoted other diners which unwittingly contravened the terms and conditons of posting on TA and by their own admission, the restaurant experienced initial teething problems long since resolved), we were still reluctant to re visit until recently persuaded by a member of staff to do so! we are very pleased we returned.
We have to say the meal we had today was first class as was the service and hospitality extended to us. It is good to know too that the staff care so much about the restaurant and its reputation and are so loyal and committed to it....something too seldom seen nowadays.
We couldn't fault the service, establishment, cleanliness, food or anything.
Thank you all for making us so welcome after our last review...we WILL return again and again and would certainly not hesitate to recommend The Walton Gateway in future. Special thanks to
Marcus and Sue for extending such kindness to us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fab Food and Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

We stayed in the Accommodation above the Pub and had breakfast there as well as an evening meal most nights. I cannot fault the service of all the staff that we met, they were very friendly and helpful. The food was absolutely Fabulous, plenty of it! all home cooked except the chips! But they were delicious too! Good value for money would definitely go again if we were in the area.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The walton gateway also viewed

 

Been to The walton gateway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The walton gateway, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.