We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Holiday with family” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bear Inn to your Saves list
Bear Inn
53 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Street B&B and Inns
Madrid, Spain
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Holiday with family”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

We went with our sons and were put in a large spacy room. The bathroom was large and pleasant. The staff are very friendly. The only inconvenience would be that we only one set of room keys and had to use another door to get into the building. We had to coordinate each time to open the main entrance. They have a nice kitchen with good ales on tap. The staff are friendly and helpful. They can improve the mattresses on the beds (both standard and fold out). We had a great stay!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    65
    25
    6
    6
See reviews for
33
69
2
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Yorkshire
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Bear is one of the Marston's Inns group and I have always found the accommodation at such places to be comfortable and clean. The advantage of the bear was that the room that I had was sitauted in a row of cottages about 100 yards from the pub irself. That means that you do not have the disturbance of late night leavers or the drone of extractor fans from the kitchen when the chef cranks up breakfast at 5 a/m No; I had a pleasant little maisonette with a seperate bedroom and loungeand there was plenty of parking outside of the cottage in the private car park.

Breakfast was pretty standard fare but well cooked an dpleasantly served. I stayed on a Sunday night so got very good value at £49.50 through Booking.com but you can sometimes find it for even less on the Marston's website. We worth it as a venue for a stay over or a weekend away in the lovely Somerset hills and levels.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2013

A sound B&B that is in keeping with the cost of a room. Our room was a little dark and worn in places but clean and quiet. We stayed in the cottages down the road which were pleasant. Breakfast was buffet style cooked breakfast, simple and filling. Good location. Don't set you hopes too high and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Well worth the money. Good value for money.
We stayed here while we came for our completion.
Lovely to come across very humble people.
Top class will recommend to anyone out there.
Very clean and tidy. Check out most reviews they are similar. Because they all make sense, it's true

Stayed August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2013

The Bear, stopped for the third time this year. Simple clean rooms, good shower, comfortable bed. Staff in the Pub/restaurant very efficient and helpful. Food nothing special but plenty of it and tasteful. For a one night business stay in this area its as good as you get !

Room Tip: Try one in one of the two cottage extensions they have, not as noisy as the ones in the pub itself.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marina di Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

One night stop over to visit nearby school....simple, very simple Inn, do not have any expectations.
Simple small rooms and bathrooms, ok for One night. They have a grill restaurant, nothing special and slow services.
Over all ok and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stopped here for one night so as to visit Glastonbury -which is within walking distance -just! Very good value for money, stayed in Blossom Cottage which was perfect as we were intending on coming home after 11. Very clean and comfortable and very good value for money. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Full English for breakfast too, didn't have an evening meal there but it was clearly very popular and a quick glance at the menu showed good value pub grub. Will go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage if you intend on being back after 11 also gives you a small separate lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Inn

Address: 53 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Inn Street, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.