We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Street....” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bear Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Bear Inn to your Saves list
Bear Inn
53 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Street B&B and Inns
Marina di Castagneto Carducci, Italy
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Best in Street....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

One night stop over to visit nearby school....simple, very simple Inn, do not have any expectations.
Simple small rooms and bathrooms, ok for One night. They have a grill restaurant, nothing special and slow services.
Over all ok and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    52
    20
    6
    6
See reviews for
29
56
1
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Stopped here for one night so as to visit Glastonbury -which is within walking distance -just! Very good value for money, stayed in Blossom Cottage which was perfect as we were intending on coming home after 11. Very clean and comfortable and very good value for money. Staff were extremely friendly and helpful. Full English for breakfast too, didn't have an evening meal there but it was clearly very popular and a quick glance at the menu showed good value pub grub. Will go back without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for the cottage if you intend on being back after 11 also gives you a small separate lounge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

The overnight stay was very last min.Good value.Next to Clarks Village and local shops.
The room was clean,bottled water in the rooms.Not enough coffee or milk and only 2 mugs there was 3 of us in the room.Little girl had to sleep on pull out sofa,which was not great.
We booked online and the price we had was £54.00 for a family room,when we went to pay they asked us for £79,00,We had all the details on a phone,so we paid the £54.00.So i suggest you print of all your paperwork before hand.

At breakfast there was no one about to tell you what you needed to do.Dining room very untidy once i found the waitress she was very helpful and service was good.Breakfast was good however had to wait for eggs.I would agree i would not pay anymore than £54.00.I would not rate as a 4 star 2 star plus.However you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

This is the third time we have stayed at the Bear Inn and the 2nd time we have stayed in Rose Cottage. The 1st time we stayed we were put in a room across the road which was acceptable for the money, however Rose Cottage is right next door to the pub and the rooms 11 - 14 are both very nice. For £50 via Laterooms it is very good value, however I wouldn't want to pay much more. The breakfast is buffet canteen style eat as much as you like, I have always enjoyed it :)

Room Tip: Don't be put in the rooms across the road ~ insist on Rose Cottage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

we wrote a review regarding our wedding day, but it has ben deleted, what a surprise, this place is to be avoided, but stay there and you will see for your self, management awful, etc.they quoted us a price for 16 rooms then following morning they raised their fee by £10 per room, they run out of food at breakfast and the new food cooked was cold. we were fuming

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands, UK
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Booked blind, this turned out to be very worthwhile. Had a room in the cottage annexe, with a jacuzzi bath (alas it didn't work, so only 4 stars). Lovely comfortable room and the main Inn did very good meals with nice beer. Literally next door to Clarks Village

Room Tip: Cottages are the best rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

Stayed in a annexe with a four poster bed. Very clean but could do with air con as got very hot at night. Also wish they had put some bottled water in the room had to have top water!! Breakfast was good with plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bear Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear Inn

Address: 53 High Street, Street BA16 0EF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Street
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Street
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Bear Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bear Inn Street, Somerset

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bear Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.