We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed holiday in a luxurious home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gentarrubia

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gentarrubia to your Saves list
Gentarrubia
Via Berna 8, 09012 Capoterra, Sardinia, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Capoterra
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Groningen, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
“Relaxed holiday in a luxurious home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

The moment you enter the garden gate everything is clear: this is the Garden of Eden; here you could stay forever. The garden - although small - has many places where you can sit comfortably. Out of the sun, but in the pool area of course also in the sun. The pool is as thoughtfully designed as everything here; it makes good use of the available space. Gentarrubia imeans Flamingoes in Sardese - and water and shells and flamingoes are the recurring themes in the design. Rooms are comfortable, clean and support the feeling of a luxurious home. Pasquale and the staff are always there to make you even more comfortabl. Cinque stelle!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    44
    11
    0
    1
See reviews for
28
77
4
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ghent, Belgium
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

+ The rooms and pool and a charming Pasquale!
- The location...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mallorca
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2012

This review is long overdue...but nevre too late.
It is officially a B & B but it's runned as a real hotel, great rooms, reception service, great tv in the room, nice garden pool area and indoor pool. Everything perfect!
We booked it because it is close enough to the airport and were very pleasantly surprised!
Thank you again!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

We stayed with Pasquale and his family for 3 days and had a great time, Pasquale and his wife showed amazing hospitality and the B&B was more like an upmarket hotel than your standard B&B. The great thing was that it still had that homely family feel!

We loved our stay with these guys and Pasquale was so generous with his time with us dropping us off to the beautiful beach one day because we were unable to find a car for the day - he only charged us a nominal fee to do so and offered to pick us up at the end of the day.

The room was large and really clean and the bathroom was gorgeous with a generous sized shower in it. I have to say that it was a little bit expensive but good value compared to other hotels in & around the area. I would suggest that you don't stay in Cagliari it's very quiet and too far from the beaches.

This location was good but Sardegna is huge so remember to hire a car in advance and you will be fine. We would highly recommend staying with Pasquale and his family in this gorgeous little hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexleyheath
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2011

I took my SatNav so it wasn't at all difficult to find but it would have been tricky without it. Another reviewer has given accurate directions which I had printed off, just in case. I loved every minute of my stay at Gentarrubia. ALL the staff are really helpful, always smiling and always welcoming and willing to help in any way shape or form. The hotel is very nicely decorated and kept very clean and well maintained. It is very quiet at night - all the other guests were very considerate in the corridor as it a typical B&B which is like a big house. I quite often had the pool to myself, bonus as it was over 90 degrees F! A previous reviewer had inaccurately described the location as industrial and complained about the noisy dogs when she/he meant residential. Everybody in the locality has a very large detached house and MOST have dogs and when one starts barking (usually on the rare occasion a pedestrian has walked past) they ALL start barking.

This is a fantastic place to stay for a really relaxing break and I wholeheartedly recommend it. There are some wonderful hidden beaches - just try one of the side roads near to where the more popular beach resorts are. I found the perfect beach just past Pula by taking a turning for a camping site on a road called via Fluminiaggia (check spelling). On the more popular beaches you will be charged between 3 and 6 euros to park your car for the day. Pula is a stunning little quaint town which is well worth a visit.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schwabisch Gmund, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2011

My wife and me spend one week at Gentarrubia would definitely come back again.
The room looked quite new and was cleaned every day perfectly. The facilities included mini bar, safe, air conditioning and Sky television. The staff members were friendly and helpful. As Gentarrubia is located in a residential area it is very quiet at nights. Located only 20 minutes to the city of Cagliari and to Cagliari airport it is a perfect base for exploring the south of Sardinia.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
holland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2010

nice, cosy, new rooms. The Hotel has a small garden and swimmingpool.

During our stay, okt 2010, there was a lot of noise. The neighbours had some building activities.

The breakfast was not continentel, but mediteranian, that means very sweet and no ham and cheese at all!!!!!!!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gentarrubia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gentarrubia

Address: Via Berna 8, 09012 Capoterra, Sardinia, Italy
Location: Italy > Sardinia > Province of Cagliari > Capoterra
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Capoterra
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gentarrubia is a small, charming B&B in Capoterra along the south coast of Sardinia. It offers modern rooms, and both an outdoor swimming pool and a heated indoor swimming pool with hot tub. All air-conditioned, rooms at Gentarrubia come with a minibar, safe, 32" LCD TV with pay-per-view channels, and Wi-Fi. Rooms feature classic furniture and parquet floors. You will be a 10-minute drive from both the centre of Cagliari and Cagliari Elmas international Airport. Free public parking is available outside the property. The professional staff is always ready to provide local information and advice on the best places to visit, including the nearby beaches of Chia and Tuarredda. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Venere, Travelocity, Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, HostelBookers, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Gentarrubia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gentarrubia Capoterra, Sardinia

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gentarrubia, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.