We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely - should have stayed longer - a Malta highlight” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Dar Ta' Zeppi

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B Dar Ta' Zeppi to your Saves list
B&B Dar Ta' Zeppi
39, 28th April 1688 Street | Gozo, Qala, Island of Gozo QLA1011, Malta   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Qala B&B and Inns
Melbourne
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely - should have stayed longer - a Malta highlight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Loved staying at Dar Ta Zeppi. Longer would have been better as 2 days not nearly enough to chat to Tanja, Vince and family and get to know (and relax in) Gozo. Incredibly charming, hospitable and welcoming hosts with a great sense of humour and commitment to both Gozo and their role as hosts. Very helpful, flexible and just generally fabulous. Lovely accommodation - peaceful, quiet and of good quality and great breakfast. Wish we had also tried the home cooked dinners - maybe next time. Thanks to you Tanja and Vince, we really loved our stay. It was a highlight of our travels.

Room Tip: Each had it's individual benefits
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    232
    18
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
62
104
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeming Bar, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I knew that Dar Ta'Zeppi was going to be a lovely and quiet bed and breakfast from the pictures on their website. What I didn't expect was the warm welcome and amount of thought and preparation that went into our stay prior to our arrival. We have a 1 and 3 year old, and there was a nightlight, nappies, toys, a children's toilet seat, and a nappy bin already in our room. Tanja and Vince were very kind to our children. Having a school age son themselves they understand what children are like and are very patient.

But I don't just want to mention what a great place this is for kids. We had a lovely evening meal which was beyond my expectations with candlelight and wine. Tanja arranged a massage for myself which was very relaxing.

So, this was the perfect place for our family to in Malta. We were looking for a bit of pampering at a reasonable price. The house is on a busy street but once inside it is very private and quiet. I couldn't recommend Dar Ta'Zeppi enough and we hope to return.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nadur, Malta
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

This B&B is run with love, heart and ART.
When arrived in the evening we got welcomed with a glass of wine on the pool. A wide range of food at breakfast with a healthy vitamin shot of a freshly pressed fruit juice, which gives you a whole day of energy. Tanja and Vince are such warm hosts that you feel like it is your home. The whole house is full of art which again gives a very personal feeling.
Thanks again Tanja and Vince

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Dar Ta' Zeppi is a gorgeous little oasis in the middle of Qala, Gozo. The hosts, Tanja and Vince went well out of their way to make sure I was comfy, happy and always eating something delicious! This bed and breakfast is a 5 star in my opinion and I felt right at home, even travelling on my own. While Dar Ta' Zeppi is a family run bed and breakfast, it blends the best of staying in a hotel (fully stocked mini bar, fresh towels, sparkling daily cleaning service, etc) with the warmth of a family home (Home made cakes, jams, all the tourist info you could ask for and some very entertaining conversation!). The building itself is really big with two rooms upstairs and some below. As a single traveller, I stayed in the orange room as there's no supplement for a single person which is great for budget travellers. The room was massive, with a powerful shower and a big comfy bed, extra bedding and a heater for colder months. Outside, there is a lush swimming pool, sun loungers and plenty of beautiful art. Tanja and Vince are always close at hand, but never intrude - they've usually thought of anything before you know you need it! Breakfast is served until late, which means you can have a lie in if you want (I couldnt resist the lure of the sun so happily woke up early every day). Breakfast consists of fresh bread, plenty of yoghurts, a variety of meats and cheeses, fresh smoothies, fresh orange juice and usually fresh cut fruit like strawberries or melons. There is also always a lovely cake too! Tanja leaves this out for you to eat during the day when you get peckish which is lovely as a pre-lunch snack. She also invites you to make a sandwich from the breakfast leftovers incase you're headed to the beach for the day which was much appreciated. The rooms have a fully stocked fridge with VERY good prices. They feature cold water, cokes, wine and I loved the local beer for just one euro! Nice to take with you to the pool for lunchtime. Tanja and Vince made food on some nights (You can request this if you want to experience the dishes!). The barbecue we had on my last night was lovely, every detail was thought of and they always make sure there's plenty of choice. Tanja loves being creative and it shows in her cooking, her art and throughout the home - a great change from your standard bed and breakfast or hotel.There were plenty of interesting guests to meet, and Tanja speaks plenty of languages so was always happy to translate into english for me! I would come back to Gozo just to stay at Dar Ta' Zeppi. It's friendly, central, organised, clean, blissfully relaxing and the food is awesome. I left happy and just abit fatter than when I arrived :) Can't wait to come back.

Here's the nitty gritty:

Close to bus routes and about a minutes walk to the restaurants
(You can actually see the bus stop from the building).
Cleaned daily, tea, coffee, drinks stocked in rooms.
Fresh towels for the pool and for the shower
Close to the beach - owners are always happy to show you where to go, or to help you get there
Tanja picks you up from the ferry on time with no hassles
Remember to check to restaurant and shop opening times - different from the uk!
Owners are great at replying to emails, organising transport for you, booking taxis etc.
Remember to ask Tanja to book a taxi at least 24 hours in advance - taxi service is very reliable.
The area is very safe for a traveller on their own

Things you must do:
Ask Vince to make you a delicious irish coffee!
Visit Hondaq beach and take a trip to the blue lagoon (8 euros return)
Get the hop-on-hop-off bus from the ferry. 15 euros and you get to see all the best sights in gozo.
Visit the Azure Window, the Ggantija Temples and do abit of shopping in Victoria

Room Tip: The Orange room is perfect for single travellers as it has no single supplement. It's ensuite wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

It was wonderful as a single traveller to find such a welcome and to feel part of this busy household. Dream of a breakfast around one large table. Garden bigger than I expected with pool and flower beds and lots of art pieces created by and left by visitors. A heady mix of art and tradition and nature created by Tanja and Vince. Thanks!

Room Tip: one room is Ideal for a single traveller
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

Seven years ago I was here with my husband to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. We were pampered and I loved the hamburgers made by Vince in his Zeppi bar. Last week I was again the gast at Tanja's and Vince and the pampering has even increased, I got my vegetables in the morning, the self made smoothies, the different sort of teas, not a single thing was missing to make a vacation a complete success on the beautiful island of Gozo where hiking is a must (Tanja will advise you to take a walk with Martin on the sea cliffs) - The rooms are very bright and you will sleep like an angel. After a whole day of hiking or just doing nothing and rest at the swimming pool you will be delighted by the succullent dishes Tanja is preparing for you and Vince makes delicious deserts. Go and see for yourself, you won't regret it !!!!

Room Tip: If you want your own place outside, or if you are with children there are 2 family rooms downstears...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapellen
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Lovely people in a very nice house on a beautiful island!
Everything is realy excellent: the rooms are nicely decorated, the breakfast is very good and the atmospere is very warm.
An adress I can recommend to everyone!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Dar Ta' Zeppi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Dar Ta' Zeppi

Address: 39, 28th April 1688 Street | Gozo, Qala, Island of Gozo QLA1011, Malta
Location: Malta > Island of Gozo > Qala
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Qala
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family run B&B in a charmingly renovated classified old town house situated in the serene village of Qala on the secluded island of Gozo. With us you find the perfect mix of the cosy Gozitan lifestyle with the quality of living through art, gastronomy, relaxation, meditation and country walks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your B&B Dar Ta' Zeppi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b&b Dar Ta` Zeppi Hotel Qala
Bed And Breakfast Dar Ta` Zeppi
B&B Dar Ta' Zeppi Island Of Gozo, Malta - Qala

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Dar Ta' Zeppi, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.