We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Next time, it will be destination Albano!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of B&B Albero Gemello

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added B&B Albero Gemello to your Saves list
B&B Albero Gemello
Via Olivella 63, 00041 Albano Laziale, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
“Next time, it will be destination Albano!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Without a doubt the highlight of our trip was this B&B. Mary and Mario are the loveliest, warmest hosts yet. We were welcomed as if by beloved relatives. Their love of Italy, knowledge of Ancient Rome, immaculate home (whose beautiful decor reflects their backgrounds in architecture and antiques), their helpful travel tips, etc. just made for a wonderful, memorable visit.

Mary's being fluent in both English and Italian proved invaluable in advising us on shopping, dining, etc. and especially in scheduling transportation to and fro during our stay.

We were completely charmed by the B&B and would definitely recommend it to others. We hope to return to relaxing, quiet Albano Gemello!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    14
    0
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
5
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

I am a repeat guest at this B&B. Mary and her staff are extremely hospitable, kind and can offer advice or suggestions for travel and sightseeing throughout the area. The location is just a short train ride from the center of Rome, or a quick bus ride to the sea and beaches. The afforability compares to none; as it is extremely clean, the hosts are very hospitable and accomodating. From this B&B you can choose to spend the day in Roma, take a bus to the sea, walk to Castel Gondolfo(summer residence of the Pope), or train to Anzio (which has a heavenly beach & happens to be the former summer residence of Emperor Nero). I would also like to add that the hosts/owners are very learned in arts, culture and history. I will continue to stay here while in Rome and area. And I will continue to suggest this wonderful B&B to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful, tastefully decorated with art. Each room has a balcony and a view of l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Outstanding B&B. A great place to relax after a tiring day in Rome. Stayed there 7 nights in November,2011. Mario and Mary were perfect hosts and interesting people to meet. Did not need a car and visited the hilltowns (Ariccia, Genzano, Nemi ,Castelgondofo,) by bus, a great local experience, using Mary's good advice. We speak only pocco pocco Italiano and it all was a great adventure. Do try the Porchetta in Ariccia. Mary and Mario even hosted a going away dinner for us and three friends on our last evening there and then drove us and our luggage to the station the next morning. Relaxed on the balcony and munched on fruit and wine we got at the local market. Shared the bath with another guest on two nights-no problem. Great breakfast. Nice little tratoria across the street for fun dinners. We lived in the area for a short time 22 years ago and this was our first time back. This B&B was the perfect place to reconnect.

Room Tip: Choosing a B&B 6 month in advance via the internet takes a little trust. The previous reviews we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2010

We stayed here for 6 nights and enjoyed the wonderful hospitality provided by Mary. The location is not rural, but is in the high-end suburbs about 20 miles from the center of Rome. The 3 of us used both rooms and shared a bath. For the price, we were delighted with the accommodations and the location.

The B&B is almost impossible to find because it is hidden from the street. Our GPS took us to the hospital, which is about a block or two away. Look for the restaurant with the yellow sign ... it is directly across the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2010

Albero Gemello and the hospitality of Mary and Mario certainly live up to the rave reviews. This is an excellent base for exploring the Castelli Romani region.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
u.k
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2010

Great host's comfortable accommodation & superb knowledge of Rome surrounding area.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton NB
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2009

I had the pleasure of staying for 5 days at Albero Gemello in August with another couple while visiting Rome and Pompeii .The hospitality of Mary and Mario is second to none. They went out of their way to take us to points of interest in and around Albano Laziale which is lovely suburb south of Rome.It is only a 10 minute walk to catch the commuter train and a 45 minute trip in to Rome Termini station. The trip in gives you time to plan your day's activities and the return journey gives your tired legs a welcome respite.The rooms are immaculately clean and the breakfasts are delicious and nutritious, showing Mary's commitment to a healthy diet.The rates are considerably cheaper than comparable B&B's in the center of Rome which I have stayed at before and the train fare is less than 2 euros per trip. Incidentally,the Roma & Piu pass covers trains to and from Albano Laziale.Mary also offers free pick-up at Ciampino airport and for reasonable fee will pick-up at Leonardo da Vinci airport which we did.
All in all, Albero Gemello was the best B&B we stayed at during our 3 week trip to Italy and Ireland.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to B&B Albero Gemello? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B&B Albero Gemello

Address: Via Olivella 63, 00041 Albano Laziale, Italy
Location: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Albano Laziale
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Albano Laziale
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Near Rome in the Regional Park of the Castelli Romani, this small cozy B&B is situated in Albano Laziale (ancient site of Albalonga) and is family-run by Mary (Canadian) along with her family Mario and Marcello. Albano is the first hill-top town you come across taking the Southern route from the Eternal City on the Appian Way. Well-connected with Rome-Termini by local bus and trains every 15/20min./1Hour respectively. B&B Albero Gemello is definitely the right choice for tourists who would like to spend their evenings in a cool and relaxing environment, enjoying the genuine home-produced food in the many wine-cellars, restaurants and pizza-places, after a tiresome day taking in the awesome beauty of Rome. Here meals are a time of leisure, accompanied by the famous Colli Albani wines & served by charming robust locals. Excellent quality/price ratio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your B&B Albero Gemello reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
B&B Albero Gemello Italy/Albano Laziale, Rome

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage B&B Albero Gemello, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.