We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A region that needs to show some enthusiasm for its guests” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Camping Bi Village

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fazana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Camping Bi Village
3.5 of 5 Cabin/Campground   |   Dragonja 115, Fazana 52212, Croatia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty lodging in Fazana
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“A region that needs to show some enthusiasm for its guests”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at Bi Village for one week, we'd been there a few years ago, so knew to expect its close proximity to the airport and Pula, the short walk to the lovely village / harbour of Fazana, the incredibly cheap and tasty ice cream, and the Italian influenced food.

The weather was (mostly) lovely, the accommodation (Roan) was clean and a decent size. Food was good (pizzas everywhere were uniformly excellent, and good value - apart from a very disappointing pizza in the square in Pula, the place where the old man beckons people in. It was like a shop bought job that had been dried out and made impossible to cut). The waiter in the Bi VIllage restaurant (the one furthest away going towards Fazana) was very pleasant and helpful, good food, music provided by a man and woman who bravely warbled away in the background. The young girls working in the Sports Bar were efficient and very upbeat - a great team spirit there.

So an ok holiday, nothing special. My main gripe is the service - on most occasions, very few staff in shops, bars, restaurants and cafes (and for some reason, particularly the women) had any enthusiasm or spark. Sometimes plain rude with a "take it or leave it" attitude. On the few occasions where the service was good it stuck out like a sore thumb. It appears a nation that doesn't do warmth and welcoming naturally - perhaps people on Trip Advisor will provide evidence to the contrary. Come on Istria - you need to do something about this!! Not the gushing fake stuff you get in the States; a smile and some courtesy would be a start!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    23
    27
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
46
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our holiday was booked through Thomson Al Fresco staying in their Bellini mobiles during May 2013. This review also includes a more detailed explanation about the check-in and check-out procedures not mentioned in Thomson’s Departure Leaflet - we hope this will be useful.

GETTING THERE
Bi Village (pronounced Bee Village) is an easy destination to get to from the UK.
Flying with Jet2 from Manchester to Pula Airport is around 2 hours 15 minutes (Local time in Croatia is one hour ahead of UK). Pula Airport is small so is quick to get out of and it’s then around a 15 - 20 minute drive to the Bi Village resort.
Taxis are prevalent around the airport. As there were six of us we decided to pre-book one with Taxi Edi (or one of his colleagues) as mentioned by an earlier reviewer. (Just e-mail him editaxi@net.hr to confirm price and arrival time so they can meet you at arrivals). We were told by locals that a taxi ride should cost 150 – 200 Kuna + 10% tip (at time of writing 1 Kuna is approximately 12p – Bear in mind Croatia is joining Eurozone soon).

ARRIVAL AT SITE
Check-in at the main Reception area by the entrance gates. All staff are friendly and speak English. You will need to show your Thomson booking details. You also need to leave a passport / driving licence / card as security until departure. You are then given Bi Village guest passes and instructions on how to find our mobile home. They also explain that you have to pay a small tourist tax for each day you stay (kids are free or half price depending on age). You settle this at the end of the holiday.
Thomson have a couple of reps on-site (shared with other tour operators) and are available at specific times during the day at a tent near the first swimming pool and children’s activity / animations area.
Unfortunately with yet another late running Jet2 flight we arrived after 8pm so there was a little note from the rep saying to go straight to our mobile home.
If arriving late you just meet up with the rep the following morning to pay a 60 Euro or £50 cleaning deposit – refundable on departure.

MOBILE HOME
The Thomson mobile homes are located on two small rows at the south-east corner of the camp – near the harbour. This is a 5 – 10 minute walk from reception. Sadly this seemed a lot longer in the pouring rain pulling suitcases through muddy puddles. It would be good idea if the site staff were able to offer one of their buggies to help in these circumstances.
The mobile homes are quite close together with little privacy compared to other sites we have stopped on but the pine wood location is a great shield from the hot sun that Croatia is usually blessed with.

The grass around the Thomson homes was overgrown with quite a few brambles over the decking too. The rest of the site is very well kept so I think, being the start of season the workmen had not got down to that area of the site yet.
The Bellini mobile homes are on the functional side – fine for a family of four and do benefit from air conditioning and excellent power shower. The layout is as per the Thomson website but the interior was a little older than the brochure photos. Some of the basic utensils were missing so it was a case of speaking to the rep to replace the ones that were really needed such as a kettle.
Beds were comfy and a pillow and modern quilted blanket are provided for each person (you will need to choose to hire sheets, pillow cases etc. when booking with Thomson or take your own)
As with most self-catering mobile home holidays, basics such as washing up liquid and bin liners are not provided. This was the first one we had stopped though where toilet paper was not provided. This was a bit of a shock having arrived after the shop had shut on site too – so perhaps remember to take some with you!
Pack UK to Euro socket adapters too. The pre-arrival letter from Thomson and on-site inventory mention they are included but were missing from ours.
Oh – nearly forgot – tap water is fine for drinking. No problems with this all week.

SITE FACILITIES
The Bi Village complex is large and is split into areas for mobile homes, apartments & beach rooms and also touring pitches. The site and facilities are very well kept and clean. There is a reasonably well stocked supermarket on site with fresh fruit and veg, deli and bakery. There are a number of small gift / beachwear shops, a doctors, a beauty salon and hairdressers as well as a Vinoteka (selling local wine on-draught).
There are two or three bars around the site and an ice-cream parlour. Food-wise there is a Pizzeria near reception and a good restaurant towards the beach. Both are reasonably priced.
There are a range of kids and sporting activities on offer too. The site also has two swimming and splash pools open to guests. The heated one is fairly close to the mobile homes.
You can purchase a Wi-fi pass from the Information office which can span one day through to a week. The weekly pass is approx. £15 (which they add to your account for payment on departure). Bear in mind the wi-fi signal is only available in the main public bars, restaurants and does not reach as far as the mobile homes. Once used – the one pass will work on one device only.

BEACH
The great plus for Bi Village is the direct access to the beach. There are several gates onto the beach with the nearest about 5 – 10 minute stroll from the Thomson mobile homes.
The beach and surrounding area are very pretty with views across the Adriatic to a series of small islands. The beach is clean with changing booths, showers and beach bars dotted around. It is stony and quite painful walking barefoot here and in the sea. Flip flops or waterproof beach shoes can be purchased from the on-site shop if needed. I would say the Adriatic sea is similar to the Med further south. There’s hardly any tidal movement or waves making it great for kids. Although we went quite early in the season, the water was still ok for a quick dip. Definitely a couple of degrees warmer than our UK seas!

LOCAL AREA
Bi Village is on the outskirts of Fazana (Fashana). It takes about 10 – 15 minutes to walk along the footpath / cycle way next to the beach or there is a good footpath along the road too.
Fazana is a picturesque village with lots of restaurants and bars dotted around the harbourside.
The ones we sampled the food was good and reasonably priced, staff friendly and very importantly for the mother-in-law – loos ultra-modern and clean  (putting some other mainland European destinations to shame) Fazana has a series of gift shops, banks, post office and a couple of ice-cream parlours too offering ice-cream for just 60p a scoop!
There is a small supermarket away from the harbourside but for a more substantial and cheaper food shop it would be worth going into Pula which has a range of larger supermarkets such as Lidl.

THINGS TO DO
Taking a short taxi or bus ride from the site to Pula you can visit the striking Roman Amphitheatre – then take refreshments at one of the cafes in the square overlooking the Roman Temple of Augustus.
The Istrian coast and islands are truly beautiful and there are a number of boat trips you can take to experience this closer.
A popular day out locally is the 3km boat trip from Fazana harbour across to the island of Brujini – a national park and small wildlife park / zoo. This can be booked at their information office next to the harbour in Fazana.
One trip we did, organised by our rep, was a day long boat tour from Pula along the coast to Rovinj (Roeveen) and Porec (Porrech). The tour includes freshly cooked meal and wine on board. Porec is a smart Riviera resort with lots of hotels, shops and restaurants dotted though little streets. Despite being flanked by some very expensive yachts and cruisers, it’s still only £2.20 for a coffee and croissant or beer at one of the waterfront hotel café terraces. Rovinj is a great place for exploring the narrow streets and visiting one of its most prominent features St. Euphemia's Basilica, the bell tower of which resembles St Marks in Venice.
Talking of Venice, if you don’t mind an early start (or the cost) you can do a day trip there from the site. We booked through Atlas who have a tourist booking office in Fazana (just back from the harbour near the old church). You get picked up from the site reception at 6:45AM then taken to Rovijn where you board the Jetboat to Venice (passports essential). The Jetboat takes around 2 and 1/2 hours. You have 10.30AM – 5:00PM in Venice. There are lots of optional guided tours, gondola trips etc you can add on. You arrive back at the site around 8:30PM. The Atlas guides are again very friendly and knowledgeable. At this time of year (weather permitting) the trips are Tuesday and Friday. There are more trips to Venice as the season progresses going from Pula too.

DEPARTURE
When it is time to leave, you need be out of your mobile home by 10am and visit the main Information office before 12 noon where you settle your account (for sporting activities, wifi etc) and also pay the tourist taxes. You can pay by cash or credit card. The Info Office also has a currency exchange, bank and cash machine if you need it. Once paid, you then take your receipt to Reception where you can claim back the passport you left as security. If you don’t fly home until late evening you can ask to leave suitcases with reception and stay on site or on the beach all day if you like.

LANGUAGE
Istria is very popular for German family holidays so if you don’t speak Croatian most Croatians in the resort areas seem to speak German. Although most speak English too and were very happy to welcome English tourists. It’s always good to have a go yourself though so here are some useful words to use out of courtesy (they are not spelt correctly in Croatian – just written how you would speak them)
Hwala – thank you
Mollim Vass – please
Dah – yes
Ney – No
Rachoon – Bill
Dobber Dan – Hello/Good Day
Bohg – Hi
Dovvijenya – Good Bye
Most importantly……. Peevo – Beer!

IN SUMMARY
Bi Village is a pleasant well-kept family site with lovely beaches on the doorstep. Our memories of Croatia are of the great coastal scenery and genuinely friendly people (weather was not too bad either). The message from Croatians we met was “please tell your friends to come and visit Croatia!”
Well, this is certainly a country we would visit again another year.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ragusa, Italy
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I liked everything this campsite had to offer....fantastic beaches,great swimming pools and evening entertainment.

My teenage daughter also had a fabulous time with all the water activities the beach offered.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaxjo, Sweden
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a very well organized camping combined with the possiblity to rent bungalows and mobile homes. It is fairly large, there is even a doctor available daytime every day. Generally the standard in the mobile homes (where we stayed) is quite good. 30 m2 is not much, but if you are at the seaside you spend most of the time at the beach anyway. Most of the mobile homes also have a veranda which adds an outdoor living room. The beach and the water is ok. If you want really nice water to swim and dive in you will have to go to one of the islands in the national part just outside the village (Fasana), Staff is really helpful and have a good working knowledge of several languages. Supermarket inside the complex, where you f ex can buy freshly baked bred in the mornings.

Room Tip: If you stay in the camping part make sure you choose a place that has shadow. Same thing if you rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

situated directly on the sea, under pine trees a quuiet large camping with international quests, mainly german, dutch and italians. we rented a ready camping trailer which was clean, nicely situated and equipped with everything you need. 5 min to the pebble beach, in the evenings enough restaurants around or a 15 min walk in the town of Fazana. really enjoyed it

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

Booked with Thomson Al Fresco to stay at Bi Village as we had such a great time before. We arrived very early at 10am and were allowed to stow our bags and were in our caravan for midday which was great. We have 6 people and had 2 bedrooms and a a large pull-out settee bed thing in the front room. The balcony had large table 4 chairs plus 2 adjustable chairs and 2 sun loungers and was all very clean and fresh. Al fresco caravans are 5 mins walk to both pool, shops and beach and the supermarket is well stocked as well as shops offering the normal inflatables, beach shoes and gifts to take back. There is a flinky club for the kids but our kids were happy to go to beach and pool mostly or it's a short walk into Fazana town to the best pizza restaurant ever the Grande Piazza and very reasonable. Most of our evenings were spent in the wonderful beachside restaurant with dance floor for the kids and the menu is fantastic and the the food was fantastic with lovely eyecandy waiters! For 6 people all having drinks mains and dessert it was around 600kuna so roughly 60 quid so bargain and sitting on the beach watching the sun going down is priceless.

The beach is extremely stony and so beach shoes are needed and the tree bugs make a really lous noise but thats the only negatives I can think of. All staff were very nice and spoke good english and we never had a problem with anyone in Bi Village or Fazana. We visited Brijuni island for 6 was 1400kuna (140quid) for the morning which was well worth it with boat trip, then tour guide around on a train through the safari park, Titu museum and church. It was interesting but you could wander off with small children.

I can't praise Bi Village enough for families with teens and young children as we have both and really enjoyed our second time there. I can also recommend TAXI Edi for picking us up info@taxipula.com and ferrying us around for little cost. We will be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays Customer Service Team at Camping Bi Village, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
We're glad you enjoyed your holiday with us to Bi Village, thank you for the feedback you have provided. We hope to see you again this summer, Kind Regards Al Fresco Holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
Top Contributor
144 reviews 144 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012 via mobile

This is a combined campsite and apartment/bungalow complex. It probably works better as campsite.

The good things are the activities for kids, very helpful and pleasant girls running the club. Always some game or activity. In evening the entertainment varies, some shows are great some less so. Kids will enjoy it here alot which makes up for alot. You need to buy the special card for that, but don't bother for adults unless you will try lots of activities.

The apartments are spacious but a bit basically equipped both in terms of what they have and how modern and comfortable the furnishings are. Patios are a bit small and you are very near your neighbour. They don't get cleaned either so prepare for linen and towels to be used for a week.

There are 3 pools but they are absolutely jammed, you can't move in them. Also each pool has one day a week closed which makes it even worse. the sea is ok, seems like it was excavated and then concreted beach. No sand at all and stony everywhere in water too. Not great for kids to explore for crabs or suchlike.

Restaurants aren't great in complex. DO NOT go to the pizzeria in middle or try their kebabs, definitely worst meal ever had in Croatia. The two at seafront are better, but much better food in Fazana which is 20 min walk.

Supermarket in complex is terrible, no bread after 9.00 apart from white and also very expensive.

Staff everywhere were very helpful.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Camping Bi Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping Bi Village

Address: Dragonja 115, Fazana 52212, Croatia
Location: Croatia > Istria > Fazana
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 14 Specialty lodging in Fazana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Camping Bi Village 3.5*
Also Known As:
Camping Bi Village Hotel Fazana

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Camping Bi Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Camping Bi Village to your Saves list