We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise found at this Garden of Eden....” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Museum Hotel George Molfetas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Museum Hotel George Molfetas to your Saves list
Museum Hotel George Molfetas
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Faraklata, Argostolion 28 100, Greece   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free breakfast with your stay
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Seillans, France
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Paradise found at this Garden of Eden....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I chose this hotel because of it's very good write ups, and everything written here is so true!
My husband and I arrived after having cycled 50kms on the island and we were both welcomed by Barry and Katerina like long lost family! Such a warm welcome and such lovely surroundings... everything oozes love and attention, which Barry and Katerina put into their wonderful hotel. We had a beautiful room, all furnished with antique furniture and linens, so cosy, with a wonderful bathroom... all has been created with utter perfection and it is very luxurious.

I had read about Katerina's wonderful cuisine so I immediately asked if we could stay and have dinner, when Barry mentioned it was actually his birthday and they had family and friends over... a private party. Well, to cut a long story short, we got invited to join the birthday party, which was absolutely wonderful! Meeting & talking to lovely people, being fed Katerina's wonderful cuisine, drinking great local wine, singing & guitar playing by Barry and Katerina's daughter and this all on a warm Greek evening in their lovely Garden of Eden....

We cannot express our gratitude to both of them having given us such a very special night and I agree with others that it feels more like having met new friends.... We will definitely come back to spend some more time here and we can truly recommend all of you to stay here!

One great idea is to actually rent the whole place with a group of friends or family... You'll have great privacy, all luxury and you can have it all catered for by Katerina as well....!

If you want something very special we recommend you stay at this wonderful hotel... you'll love it!

Room Tip: I believe all rooms are different but very special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
41
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tasmania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I write this not so much as a review but more of a letter of gratitude to Katerina and Barry for the best short holiday I remember. We left their beautiful hotel and home feeling more like friends than guests; this was testament to their genuine kindness and hospitality, obliging nature and warmth of spirit.
The hotel costs a little more than some places on the Island but we couldn't be more pleased that we chose to stay at Museum George Molfetas. We received advice and suggestions catered to our own interests on what we might do each day from the owners: this really added a lot to our holiday, experiencing and seeing places we would never have discovered otherwise.
Katerina's cooking is exquisite. She was kind enough to give us the recipe for our absolute favourite dish she served us which is actually cooking on my stove as I type! Don't expect the usual taverna meal's though, Katerina cooks her own authentic home dishes and they eclipse anything you'll try elsewhere on the island and we happily ate in her restaurant every night we were there.
The rooms at the hotel are all unique and beautiful, each with their own story which Barry and Katerina are proud to tell. We adored our room, I've never slept so well in all my life! The bed was wonderful, the ambience was serene. The facilities were first class too.
I could keep writing for hours but I will stop here and hope you will take my advice and stay at the Museum George Molfetas!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Katerina's and Barry's hospitality and the beauty of this place make for an amazing vacation. I am sure that you have noticed the good reviews that everybody has given. This is the result of the amazing experience that you get when you stay in this hotel.
The rooms and the surroundings are very beautiful and the hosts treat you like being a member of their family. The food is also excellent.
Highly recommended for all travelers on vacation in the beautiful island of Kefalonia.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two weeks in September with our little girl and it was perfect. It's located in a quiet village and perfectly placed to visit all of the island. We stated in the room with two bedrooms, which was lovely and worked well with a toddler.

Barry and Katerina were wonderful hosts - knowledgeable, friendly and very accommodating. Katerina's food is incredible and without a doubt the best food we had on the island (our toddler also enjoyed it as Katerina kindly made her food also).

We loved it and wouldn't hesitate to recommend as it's a very special place.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Our friends stumbled upon this hotel and invited us to join them whilst we were touring Zante and Kefalonia as part of our honeymoon. Although suspicious that the owners often busied themselves writing excellent reviews of their own hotel based on the impressive glowing reviews we had read we agreed to join our honeymoon crashers. On arrival Barry and Katerina could not have welcomed us more warmly. We were immediately greeted with homemade ice cream and frappacinos to cool us down from our travels. We were allocated the Eros room which was wonderful and includes a glass partition to the bathroom - fortunately the toilet door is frosted - love is not always blind after all. We stayed for dinner and Katarina conjured up some of the best food we have ever tasted. Barry is always on hand to provide advice from matters of local restaurant choice, local beer selection and motor maintenance and will often tinkle his ivories over breakfast. Barry and Katrina may well be androids as during our stay we could not work out at what point in the day they slept. Robotic autonomous life forms or not they both made our vist a wonderful experience and we fondly look back on our stay there.

Room Tip: Please note if you book via the hotel website directly they give you a far better deal. All rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

What can we say, this place is truly magical. My husband and I visit Kefalonia twice a year as my parents live on the Island and this is by far the best place to stay. Each room is unique and is full of treasures. Katarina and Barry couldn't be more hospitable, they make you feel like you are their only guests and nothing is too much trouble.

Katarina's cooking is out of this world and so is Barry's piano playing. Having enjoyed our stay so much we booked the room 'Eros' for my brother and his wife's wedding night, they have re-booked to go back on their anniversary already!

The hotel is in a great spot to explore the island. Close to the centre Argostoli, beautiful beaches and the mountains Barry and Katarina have extensive knowledge of the island and it's history and will be more than happy to suggest great day trips etc.

We were in two minds to put a review on tripadvisor because we want to keep this magical place to ourselves, but that would be unfair! If you are visiting Kefalonia this is the only place to stay.

Room Tip: No tips needed, we looked at every room and each one is superb and has it's own character and st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011

We got married here on 20 September. The venue is absolutely stunning, as is the location. Katerina cooked us a fantastic meal and we stayed in 'Eros' on our wedding night. A beautifully styled room on the ground floor. Katerina clearly put her heart and soul into rennovating this property.

The next morning we were served a scrumptious and hearty breakfast by Katerina, while her partner, Barry, played the piano.

Katerina and Barry are excellent hosts and are happy to share their knowledge of the island. We were very tempted to extend our stay and would have done, had we not been booked into another hotel in Katelios.

We could not recommend this hotel / restaurant highly enough. If you go to Kefalonia, you really should book in for a night or two. It's a hidden gem.

Room Tip: Eros is a beautiful room with open shower in the main sleeping area and a very comfy bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Museum Hotel George Molfetas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Museum Hotel George Molfetas

Address: Faraklata, Argostolion 28 100, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Ionian Islands > Cephalonia > Argostolion
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 12 Hotels in Argostolion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Museum Hotel George Molfetas 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Museum Hotel "George Molfetas" was meant to be a sanctuary for people seeking not only what the eye sees. It is an effort to bring to life the hospitality of the era it represents, the 1890s, which was the all-inclusive model of the luxury guest house. The actual impact on our guests is an immediate sense of being "at home." And this is our ultimate dream: to offer a home to the traveler and the dreamer of our times. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Museum Hotel George Molfetas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Museum Hotel George Molfetas Ionian Islands, Greece - Argostolion

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Museum Hotel George Molfetas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.