We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Moderate Food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chez Gaston Au Petit Pave

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chez Gaston Au Petit Pave
9 rte Meaux, 77700 Serris, Marne-la-Vallee, France
01 60 43 02 07
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 43 Restaurants in Serris
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
UK
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Moderate Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

If you like meat then this is the place for you, but unfortunately my wife is vegetarian. Despite this she had a good Goats cheese salad which she enjoyed but I had the Lamb shank which was okay but the vegetables were appalling having been zapped from the freezer to the microwave; to my plate.

Not my idea of authentic French cuisine.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    10
    6
    3
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Only Meat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

If you're not in the mood for meat, don't go here. The food was ...ok. The service was nice.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiltonhead SC
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nice surprise after long day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We were surprised to come across this cute restaurant at 9:30 at night after a long day in Paris.The menu had quite a few options. Mostly Beef and veal dishes. Nice piping hot tasty beef bourguignone! Delicious salads! Especially the goat cheese on criutons! Yum!
The waitress is very efficient, even though she does not speak English (which is fine). The first night we were there, she never smiled. She smiled at the tables speaking French, but we were given the stone cold face.
We went back 4 nights later and had the beef with duck foie gras and the lamb shank. I liked the beef, lamb was a little wild tasting, but prepared very well.
The waitress was smiling at us by the end of the night. The chocolate glace dessert is fabulous! We complimented the chef as we left, he is a nice guy very talented and a bit of a cowboy! Overall, best meal we had in Serris.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefield, New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lots of cow, but excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2011

Yes, there is a huge fake cow out front and plenty of vache throughout the place, but the food was excellent. As one would expect, the menu was heavily beef and veal, but they were nice enough to fix me a fantastic chicken dish with mushroom sauce upon request (thanks for my father-in-laws French). The potatoes au gratin were fantastic!

  • Visited March 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent meal at Chez Gaston”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2010

We had an excellent meal at this restaurant. When my family and I walked in, we were the only people there. And it was 8-8:30 at night. By the time we left there were about 5-6 tables full. The food was outstanding. Our waitress didn't speak any English, but we managed with our (embarassing) French dictionary. My only compaint is this: between the huge fake cow outside and the American country music playing, it ruined the atmosphere. When in France, I would much rather a quaint, French feel. The country music didn't make any sense. It was after all French cuisine. However, the meal made up for any ambience that was lacking.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chez Gaston Au Petit Pave also viewed

Serris, Marne-la-Vallee
Serris, Marne-la-Vallee
 
Serris, Marne-la-Vallee
Bailly-Romainvilliers, Seine-et-Marne
 

Been to Chez Gaston Au Petit Pave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chez Gaston Au Petit Pave, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.