We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defiantly be back.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Gun Lodge Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Gun Lodge Hotel to your Saves list
The Gun Lodge Hotel
High Street, Ardersier IV2 7QB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Ardersier B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Defiantly be back.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

First time time in the gun lodge. We live local and will be back with friends and family soon. The food was fantastic and very reasonably price. The member of staff that was serving our table was friendly and could not have done enough for us. The food was all fresh and cooked to order.
I can't wait to go back to have another apple crumble. It was out of this world. A must if your visiting here.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenaskitchen, Owner at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, December 19, 2012
Thanks for your lovely comments, we pride ourselves in the quality and service of our food and it is so nice to get feedback especially from our locals, as its down to the locals who keep us going when times go quiet, keep your eyes open for our theme nights we have great fun then. We have a facebook page where we post these events.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    35
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
14
49
14
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

stayed at this hotel whilst visiting friends in Ardersier. We were made very welcome and shown to our room which was, as requested, on the ground floor with easy access for my elderly mum. We had dinner in the restaurant with my friends and her family and we were all made very welcome by the barman and the food was freshly cooked and first class. We had continental breakfast and were greated by Sheena who was very welcoming. Will certainly visit again when in Ardersier. Thanks very much again Sheena

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenaskitchen, Owner at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 8, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments, I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed our food, we pride ourselves on our freshly prepared meals using as much local produce as we can, we are so lucky to have so much on our doorstep. we hope to see you again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

I recently visited the Gun Lodge for the fourth year running. I was greeted with a warm hug from Sheena the owner. As usual the accomodation was good and I had been upgraded to a twin room c/w wet room. The bed was comfortable and sleeping was no problem. The food here is fantastic, any one visiting should try the rib eye steaks. what a treat! The full Scottish breakfast has to be seen to be believed more than enough for one. All the staff are most attentive, and do their best to make your stay a good one. I will be back next year and look forward to seeing all my friends at the Gun Lodge Hotel

Room Tip: Just book & Sheena or Richard will give you the best available value for money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenaskitchen, Owner at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments and so glad you liked your upgrade to our new room, it is great having three more ensuite rooms and we are continuing with our plans to become all en suite but it all takes time. As you know this is a very old Historical building and we are trying to keep that feel and not go too modern. we look forward to you returning next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We sat down for an early dinner here being the only eating place in the village.We were happily surprised by the welcome we were given and the locals were all very friendly.Wine glasses were nice and clean ,well kept Guinness and a good menu.We had the soup of the day (tomato and basil) and chicken and leek pie.My wife (not the easiest to please at the best of times) was delighted and I was shocked when she sent 'compliments to the chef' through to the kitchen!!.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenaskitchen, Owner at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your lovely comments on your meal, we do pride ourselves on our menu, everything is freshly made and locally sourced and its nice to hear such lovely feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

As the title suggests, this property couldd do with a real deep clean.
We stayed here before going on holiday, flying from Inverness airport. We had to wait a while when we arrived as the one barman was serving people as well as greeting the guests,clearly the local drinkers were more important than us as we had to wait around 20mins.

When we were seen to we were pointed in the direction of our room and given a key for another stairwell which we were advised to use.

The room was stale and tired, and you also have to share a bathroom with everone else on that floor.
The bathroom had a carpet in it that stunk of urine and was generally grotty.

The stairwell had a damp dog smell and dogs could be heard in the owners appartment at the bottom of the stairs.

We did not eat dinner of have breakfast here so i cannot comment on the quality of the food.

We were generally dissapointed with the standard of room we recieved and general cleanliness of this establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheenaskitchen, Owner at The Gun Lodge Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2012
Thank you for your review
We take our Guests comments seriousley and are sorry you were disappointed with our service however if you had brought your concerns to a managment notice we could have delt with several of your comments at the time as after the event with no name or date we cant track the problems
To reply to your first concern over waiting time at checkin our lounge bar is not that busy or big enough for a wait of 20 minutes which is excessive & our staff are told to ask for help if it looks like there will be a long wait for guests
It is our policy to show all new guest to there rooms and explain about the 24 hour access door and the drop box for keys
Unfortunatley you chose a none en-suite room which is priced at a discounted rate and we are on a rolling refurbishment to upgrade to fully en-suite . most of the rooms on this floor are en-suite and we have 2 sets of bathrooms to share between 4 rooms
The shared bathrooms are cleaned throughly on a daily basis but other people will use these bathrooms
We are a family run hotel and do have dogs in our private accomodation which does join on to the hotel however they are not allowed within the hotel for hygine reasons
If you were disapointed with our non en-suite room then you could have upgraded to one of our en-suites if you had spoken to us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family recently spent a very enjoyable and relaxing few days at the Gun Lodge Hotel. The service was second to none and the food was delicious. We were made to feel very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. We will definitely be back. Top marks all round.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012 via mobile

We had to move from previous guest house and was told about the Gun Lodge. Very comfortable rooms with great food and service. Perhaps some signs up in hall ways to remind guests that other guest may be sleeping. still a fabulous place to stay. Big Thank you.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gun Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gun Lodge Hotel

Address: High Street, Ardersier IV2 7QB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Ardersier
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Ardersier
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 12 bedroom family run Highland Hotel situated in the picturesque village of Ardersier. This hotel is situated between Inverness airport and the historic Fort George. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Gun Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Gun Lodge Hotel Ardersier, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gun Lodge Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.