We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cafe. Museum & Site In General Excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection)

The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection)
Fort George, Ardersier IV2 7TD, Scotland
+44 131 310 8701
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 2 Attractions in Ardersier
Type: Military Bases/ Facilities, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Inverness, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Cafe. Museum & Site In General Excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Open all year, Fort George, is the mightiest artillery fortification in Britain, if not Europe. We visited this attraction again, now that they have a new museum with Highlanders history, covering three floors. The museum gave visitors historical facts about how the highlanders were formed from clans and highlanders and islanders of 1700`s also showing artifacts about this regiment. The site is fantastic if you want to view the Moray Firth and Dolphins and fighting memorabelia. There is a lot of walin involved if yu want to walk, but you can sit on the seats also. The cafe with toilets is a fantastic place clean airy and inviting. With outside seating for those who have dogs.The home made soup (made by a staff member) was excellent, tasty and filling, and the cakes made at historic scotland bakery were moist and tasty also, and all served by mature staff who understand customer service and what tickles the tase buds. Visit if you have the chance.........if you are not a member of HS there is a fee for this place

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

190 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    61
    12
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good Cafe food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Needed a quick bite to eat during our visit here, my wife had the soup of the day which was very good and I had a panini with mozzarella and basil which was also good, with coffee and cake a nice light lunch. Good value and amazing location.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Amazing views”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

The Army are still based here in barracks inside the walls.

On arrival, you purchase tickets inside the gift shop before heading over the bridge into the fort walls. The woman on the till was really friendly and took the time to explain to us that if we were planning to visit other castles, it is cheaper to buy a 3 day ticket. As we're planning to head to Edinburgh this weekend, we went ahead saving us a chunk of money and opening up lots of other places we can visit free of charge.

On heading into the fort, it strikes you how new it looks, despite being built iin the 1700s. Some of the walls have been rebuilt, but generally speaking ti is in excellent condition.

There are ramps up to the outer walls so you can look out over the sea. Apparently sometimes you can see dolphins, but they weren't around while we were there.

There is a quaint chapel you can look ariund at the far end of the fort and you can go into some of the buildings to look around. My son sat through an 8 minute film in the cinema which re-enacts a battle which he really enjoyed.

We spent a good couple of hours looking round despite the cold. Well worth a visit if you're in the area.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilwinning, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“St George Fort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

This is a great place to visit. Just a shame we were too early for the dolphins who visit at the end of March. The views are stunning if you are not a military buff.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
“So interesting - even when it's cold.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

Had a great time walking around the fort - even though it was a cold, foggy October day. The fog just added to the atmosphere and character of the place. Better in summer obviously and more chance to see dolphins.

I walked there from our apartment at Ardersier - a nice 1 mile(ish) walk along the beach path.

Will be back there in April.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection) also viewed

Ardersier, Scottish Highlands
Culloden Moor, Scottish Highlands
 
Scottish Highlands, Scotland
 

Been to The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Highlanders' Museum (Queen's Own Highlanders Collection), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.