We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If the location was different this hotel would be perfect..” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Antille Hotel

Antille Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Antille Hotel to your Saves list
Antille Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Via Monte Rosa 2 | Cazzago di Pianiga, 30030 Dolo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“If the location was different this hotel would be perfect..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2010

The hotel itself was great. There was a breakfast and I think dinner available, but we didn't avail. This was one of the hotels we stayed in while interrailing, and as a result we were on a budget. The location reflects the price unfortunately. When we arrived into the main Venice train station we caught a suburban train to Dolo, but due to complete lack of signs or announcements, missed the stop and ended up stranded in the countryside surrounded by corn fields (literally) after the last train. Luckily the people are amazing, and after showing a group of Italians the name of our hotel they got a neighbour to drive us to it, despite neither parties able to speak a word of the others' language.
Late summer is the wrong time to go to Venice anyway, but particularly if staying outside of Venice; shops/cafes etc have unusual hours, opening very early and having a long siesta during the day. Buses are terrible in this area and no taxis to be found anywhere.
The hotel was fantastic though, though staff weren't terribly helpful, and there was absolutely no food available in the hotel, or in the area when we arrived, despite it only being 22:00. We checked out a day early feeling that we'd experienced Venice to the full.
If driving I suppose this hotel could be a good option.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    16
    18
    4
    4
See reviews for
11
15
2
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bamber, Germany
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

Here's the deal, I read most of the reviews for this hotel and I feel that if you know what you're in for, you'll be satisfied. Is it the nicest hotel you'll ever stay in? No. Is it super near to venice? No. But for $44 a night for two people you really can't beat the value. We had a car which made things a bit easier for us. You either have to option of taking the train from Dolo 2km for 7 euro round trip, or driving about 13km to Mestre, parking-about 8 euros for the day, and taking the train, 2 euros round trip. If you're doing Venice on a budget and you have the luxury of a car, this hotel is for you. This hotel truly is a super value and was clean and fairly nice to boot. The staff was super helpful and made our experience a good one.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2010

On arrival at this hotel, the receptionist looked at me and said "oh didnt get a get a phonecall this morning" i said being 1000 miles from home and its still morning i wouldnt know. She informed me i had been double booked and blamed cheaphotels.com for the mistake. No apology offered, she just told me i was lucky they could get me into another hotel nearby. After spending many miles to find my new hotel which was supposed to be 3 miles away, i found it was closed down. Believe me when i tell you that if i'd had a gun....The workman outside the hotel told me to go to another hotel that was linked to the closed hotel (are you still following this). I Finally found the other hotel and was checked in, now the anger hits TOP LEVEL. The manager Norman Bates told me that i and other couples had been moved to him due to a large booking arrived at Antille the night before and they didnt want to turn the business away, and was nothing to do with Cheaphotels.com as they wouldnt have known this. The new hotel was ok'ish but in the back end of nowhere and was difficult to get to Venice. I Wouldnt book at Antille unless you are in a very large group and dont require any loyalty for your custom. Me personally would never enter the doorway again!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed at this hotel for two nights last week. It is basic, but the bathroom was nicely tiled and had a nice shower. The hotel did have AC which is a plus. The downside. It is very noisey. All of the floors are tile including the hallways so in the morning as tourists are checking out early or the cleaning staff start at 6:30am and you want to sleep, just plan on getting up. Dolo is a lovely town with a great bakery, ice cream shop(s), and a restaurant called Christo's(be prepared to wait). The people are friendly too. Watch the parking in town, a hefty parking ticket when we would have gladly paid for parking if it had been clearly marked. Good grocery stores too.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GTA
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2009

Stayed at the Antille for two days as our base to see Venice , took us about 30 mins by car to arrive at Venice during mid week morning rush in late May , but if you want to do it with public transport , it will be 2 hours min.

Price is fair , our room looks like been renovated very recently , everything works and actually the modern decor is more then we expected for a small hotel in such a small town. Dolo is a very small town , if it is not for it proximity to Venice , there will be no reason to have a hotel in Dolo.

Parking is free right at the door and area is very quiet so you can get a good night sleep after a long day in Venice.

In summary , if you have a car and want to see Venice on a budget , this is a good choice.

Breakfast is 4 euro , but there is a cafe at the corner and you can have great coffee like a real a local Italian.

Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

After reading the reviews I was a bit concerned about what I would find. The Hotel was approx 30 mins from the airport - we had a car - and fairly easy to find. The area is residential, but it was ok for a base to drive to various places in the Veneto area.
If you want to drive and explore the area it is good, as it is close to the motorway and we found the driving ok.
The hotel is quite basic, but the room was large and clean. One of the receptionists was very helpful at giving advice. We caught the train into Venice and left the car at the station (free to Park). There were no taxis available when you returned , so I could see that would be a problem.
The worse thing was the breakfast. This morning most of it had 'run out' so we went hungry. There was only some pink juice, I have no idea what it was, some cereal (run out today) and some cracker type biscuits that are not nice and tended to be broken, which I have to say annoyed me. You can have a cup of coffee and you are given a croissant each.
However there is a pizza restaurant over the road that is very cheap (25 euros for a couple of pizzas and a bottle of wine).
This hotel is good if you want a base for touring the area. It is perhaps not the best if you want to spend several days in Venice.

  • Liked — Large room
  • Disliked — Poor breakfast
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Antille Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Antille Hotel

Address: Via Monte Rosa 2 | Cazzago di Pianiga, 30030 Dolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Dolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Antille Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, HostelBookers, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your Antille Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Antille Hotel Dolo, Italy - Province Of Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Antille Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.