We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing! Should be 5 star not 2.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Villa Gasparini

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Villa Gasparini to your Saves list
Hotel Villa Gasparini
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riviera Martiri della liberta 37 | Riviera del Brenta - Venice, 30031 Dolo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Liverpool
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Amazing! Should be 5 star not 2.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

My boyfriend had booked this trip to Venice as a 21st Birthday Suprise. As perfect as he is, he is a man so i was a little skeptical as to the hotel he had chosen. However, when we arrived it was beautiful. I can not believe it is only a 2 star hotel. In England it would be regarded 5 stars. On arrival the hotel's owner (i think) picked us up from the airport (my boyfriend has arranged this prior but was not a hassle). He drove a big 4x4 without a speck of dirt or dust inside or outside of the car - real high class service. The hotel room was completely as I imagined Italy, the gold headboards, the drapes, the gold and green silk bed throw. There was beautiful beams too. The room was spotless, and the bathroom the same. Every night when we came back from being in Venice centre, the bed was re-made and I could tell there were fresh sheets as I had forgotten to wash my face one night and stupidly left make up on the sheets and it was not there on return. The towels were fresh every day and the floor swept.

We were both skeptical about being outside of Venice in terms of transport, but there is a bus on the opposite side of the hotel and it goes straight into Venice. However you must purchase bus tickets from the Tobacco shop before bording the bus (we learnt this the embarrassing way). The bus from Venice back to the hotel was too very easy to find, and the stop is right outside the hotel - make sure your alert at night incase you miss it in the dark. When we watched people lugging suitcases around the uneven side streets of Venice, we were both glad we hadn't had to deal with that. For we found that you cant get lost in Venice but you cant really find something specific (unless big) easily.

As for Venice, it was on of the most fantastic cities I have been too, for sure it is on top of my list with New York (although for obviously differing reasons). The character that every back street has is unbelievable, every street you turn theres something completely different even though its the same if that makes sense. The food in Venice was to die for, and as a coffee drinker, I now hate English coffee and urn for the velvet taste of italian roasted beans. The vibe in both the day and night of the City is busy but not too busy that you want to escape.
The food is expensive in Venice. However when we asked if there were any places to eat around the hotel, the lady directed us 20meters to the right. It turned out to be the next hotel along, and I have never tasted such wonderful flavours - for a truely reasonable price. We had a 4 course meal for two and a bottle of wine and it came to 60euros. That would probably have been double in the centre of Venice. The waitress and the Lady who obviously owned the place were most welcoming and did everything for our comfort.

Overall I think this Hotel is amazing and completely underrated!! The staff were so helpfull, friendly and inviting. I would go back in a flash. I highly recommend both this hotel and Venice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    62
    20
    5
    9
See reviews for
19
100
Solo
0
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Stayed one night on the way to Venice. Had a quiet room on the second floor at the back of this small hotel. Beautifully restored to reflect the original character of a summer home of Venetians escaping the city. Staff and owners were friendly and helpful - their English was much better than our Italian! Good breakfast and clean bright breakfast room on the second floor. Easy access to Padova, Venice and Venice airport by car or bus. Venice can even be reached by canal. Charming little town with plenty of shops, cafes and restaurants. Could be considered as an alternative to staying in Venice. Great restaurant within 100 m of hotel. Many of the hotel guests dined there as well.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back may be quieter. Pay extra to park in their secure yard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ladysmith, Canada
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

We stayed here twice this year, first in mid-June and later in late August.
Excellent room, quiet, fabulous breakfast and breakfast room. The staff were a bit stand-off-ish but that may be because we didn't speak any Italian and they may be concerned about their English skills. In 150 days of hotels this year that can be a factor.
Wi-fi is only available in the lobby, which is small but nice. You do have to pay for parking a car on the property but there is plenty of parking across the street. It is located right on a canal that you can take a vaporetta right into Venice, and you can catch a bus as well if you don't want to drive. We were riding a motorcycle so parking and driving weren't issues for us.

Room Tip: Take one of the outside rooms, they are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Norway
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

We stayed at Villa Gasparini a while ago. Everything was perfect. The room was well decorated and clean, with a bathtub. The location was great, easy to drive to Venice, Verona and other cities. It's also very convenient that they have parking places for the guests. The workers and the owners were always very polite, smiling and helpful. The breakfast was good, my son loved their croissants. I will surely stay there again when visiting Veneto.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2010

We stayed in the family room which was spacious for the four of us. The owner of the hotel recommend a very nice pizzeria in the town of Dolo. We upgraded the breakfast to the 5 euro per person option. It was money well spent. The hotel staff recommend the boat from Fusina to Venice. It was a fun way to go to Venice. We like the hotel enough to recommend it to our friends in Padova whenever they need a hotel recommendation.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2010

The hotel is located rather far from Venice - 15 km (approx. 35-40 min.), but fortunately the bus stop is near the villa (to be more precise in front of villa ducale); I stayed in a junior suite - quite ok with nice furniture and a very spacious and clean bathroom; the continental breakfast is rather inexistent (1 juice, 1 coffee, some gem, chocolate and honey (but no butter), 1 small bread, 1 small cake, 3 biscuits) - for 5 Euros you can get some ham, chesse, butter, croissant (really not worth paying). Please note that the info provided by the villa's site in respect of how to get there is really accurate. All in all it was a realy nice stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

After reading a couple of negative reviews, I had to send a review as I could find no faults with this hotel. The rooms are beautifully renovated and are spotless, and the staff all friendly and helpfull. As we arrived after 11pm we checked in and decided to have a couple of drinks before turning in -the staff offered to get us 1 even though the bar was closed, or gave us directions to a pub 300 yards up the road, we went to the pub and shared a bottle of wine(just 7 euros and good!!) and then headed back in preparation for a long day in Venice. The bus service and boat taxi service was easy to navigate (hotel provided a timetable) buses into Venice are frequent and the last one is at 1.45am, the trip takes 40 mins. Venice was fabulous and the hotel good value and lovely and I would definately recommend. Only 1 small negative, we paid 5 euro per person for the 1st day for buffet, and after looking at the extra you got(ham,cheese&cereal) decided we didnt need that for the rest of our stay, but we never had a breakfast set up for us, so we just got off the buffet what was on the other tables, on checking out they asked us to pay extra, but when we explained we werent charged so no problem. If you want to stay out of the hustle and bustle of Venice or you are on a budget Villa Gasparini comes highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Villa Gasparini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa Gasparini

Address: Riviera Martiri della liberta 37 | Riviera del Brenta - Venice, 30031 Dolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Dolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa Gasparini 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Villa Gasparini is located along the Riviera del Brenta, between the historical cities of Padua and Venice (bus stop in front of the hotel and boat stop to St. Mark's at 8 kms). The hotel was built in the 18th century by the ancestors of the owners, the noble Venetian family of the Gasparinis. The Palazzetto(literally 'little palace'), which used to be a noble summer mansion in the past, was renovated and converted into a hotel in 2006. Renovation works were carried out with the objective of maintaining the true spirit of its glorious past and the charm of its family ambiance. Today the hotel can offer 15 rooms, each of them representing a perfect combination of Venetian classicism and modern comforts: the ideal place to spend some quality time, relax and enjoy Italian art. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HostelBookers, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hotel Villa Gasparini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gasparini Hotel Dolo
Hotel Villa Gasparini Dolo, Italy - Province Of Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Villa Gasparini, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.