We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Stay..” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Ducale Hotel & Restaurant

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Villa Ducale Hotel & Restaurant to your Saves list
Villa Ducale Hotel & Restaurant
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Riviera Martiri della Liberta 75 | Localita Cesare Musatti, 30031 Dolo, Italy   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“Beautiful Stay..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

We had the best holiday there and were in awe of how beautiful this Villa and grounds were. Waking up each morning and looking out onto those grounds was wonderful.Thoroughly enjoyed our Breakfast each morning and had some really memorable Dinners in the restaurant too.You made our stay in Italy very special and we still day-dream about your beautiful place.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    22
    11
    8
    3
See reviews for
19
40
3
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2010

The hotel is in a beautiful setting, the grounds are tranquil and inviting. The staff were friendly and helpful and there was a relaxed feel about the place. There was a wide range of food for breakfast including cereals, fresh fruits, pastries, cakes and also some hot food. You can eat your breakfast outside if you wish which was a nice touch in the gardens / patio area. The rooms were fairly standard but nice with a large bathroom. We travelled quite a bit around Italy and this was by far the best hotel we stayed in during our trip.
There was a mini fridge / bar in your room but I'm always disappointed when there are no tea/coffee making facilities in the room - this was the only negative thing for me.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2010

The grounds at this hotel are gorgeous, worth visiting just for that reason. Our windows opened onto the grounds and it was breathtaking. We chose this hotel as we understood we could reach Venice by bus quite easily but let me assure you it was not easy! Be informed of the bus schedule and allow about an hour to get there, each way of course. The hotel had no food available after we got back from visiting Venice so we had to forage for ourselves. There is nothing in the immediate vicinty except a pizza shop and a very high class looking hotel restaurant next door. Be aware there are no restaurants open on Tuesday nights, so eat accordingly! The staff at the hotel were very professional and helpful. They picked us up at the airport and took us to the train station when we were leaving. The room we had was strangely located off of the dining room, so you had to walk through there each time you went in or out. Fortunately the hotel is small and there were never very many people in there, very expensive if you choose to have dinner there. We enjoyed our stay very much but would consider booking something closer to Venice next time so we could save some travel time.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2009

The best thing about this villa is looking at it from a distance, when it looks quite impressive. Once you get closer, however, it all starts to look rather shabby and neglected.
The hotel blurb states that the villa has been "lovingly restored". The restorations actually appear to have been done cheaply or badly, and give the place a tacky feel. The room was very shabby, with badly scuffed door frames and badly-hung doors. The bathroom was not very pleasant. There were old-fashioned taps that only dribbled water. You could excuse this on the grounds of maintaining a period feel, were it not for the tacky shower cubicle in the corner. Cleanliness was poor, especially in the bathroom.

I like a firm bed, but ours was so hard it was like sleeping on floorboards.....it was the most uncomfortable bed I have ever slept in! Furthermore, there was a bright lamp on to light the exterior of the villa throughout the night, which shone into our room and made it look like bright daylight. Needless to say, we slept badly. The only saving grace of the room was the high ceiling, which gave an idea of what the villa was like originally.

In the evening we attempted to use the outside seating area to have a drink. Yet again this looks inviting until you get closer and see that there are abandoned cups and glasses piled up but not removed, and leaves from the trees and cobwebs that haven't been cleared away for quite a while. The staff offered to bring our beers to us, but after 30 mins we had to fetch them ourselves as we had been forgotten. We were charged 10 euros for two small beers!

The most unacceptable part of our stay was breakfast......I have had better ones in youth hostels! There was a small basket of stale, poor quality bread, and slices of processed cheese (like the ones you put on burgers) presented still in their individual plastic wrappers! Drinks were from a self-service machine, but no cups were provided. Not that that mattered, as the "fresh" milk provided for drinks and cereal was actually powdered, and so ruined the drink anyway. The breakfast room was cramped and tables were all piled high with previous guests' debris, making it an unpleasant setting and hard to find anywhere to sit.
The whole stay cost 140 euros, which we felt was a rip off. There seems to be an expectation that you will be so overwhelmed by the setting that you will not notice their cost-cutting. Shabbiness may be excusable in an old building, but poor service and inedible food is definitely not. We would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Villa Ducale Hotel & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Ducale Hotel & Restaurant

Address: Riviera Martiri della Liberta 75 | Localita Cesare Musatti, 30031 Dolo, Italy
Location: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > Dolo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Dolo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Ducale Hotel & Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1884, by a Venetian nobleman, Count Giulio Rocca, Villa Ducale is situated in a magnificent park along the shores of the Brenta River. A mere 15/20 minutes from romantic Venice and ancient Padua, Villa Ducale offers an ideal starting point for discovering the Veneto countryside. Public buses stop right in front of the Hotel's gate and provide a direct service from Dolo to these two cities of art. Villa Ducale offers 11 rooms with high ceilings, frescoed walls, and warm wooden floors all furnished in pure Venetian style. Every room offers the comfort of a mini-bar, safe deposit box, mtv, direct line telephone, bathtub or shower en suite. All rooms offer views over the ancient park. Villa Ducale offers genuine Venetian cuisine in its "Le Colonne" restaurant. Free wi-fi for the guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Villa Ducale Hotel & Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Ducale Hotel & Restaurant Dolo, Italy - Province Of Venice

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Ducale Hotel & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.