We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday lunch/dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Gulch Brewing and Bottling Co.

Silver Gulch Brewing and Bottling Co.
2195 Old Steese Highway, Fox, AK 99712
907 452-2739
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 2 things to do in Fox
Attraction details
Fairbanks, Alaska
1 review
“Birthday lunch/dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Food was expensive, but the beer was great. Much better than I expected. When traveling to new places I always make a trip to the local brewery (ies). This one is worth the drive if you're in the Fairbanks area, but I wouldn't make a special trip all the way up here just for it.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    23
    15
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Woodward, Oklahoma
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Lacking”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Had reservations and when we arrived were told we had to sit upstairs. We were first ones taken up there via the duct tape wrapped hand railing, missing carpet, and obviously old furniture. Then they brought up families with little kids (we were all way over 21 yrs). Felt like the kid's table. Food way too pricey, and creme brule sugar was burned and bitter. Husband and daughter keep reliving their dinner (steak salad and halibut tacos).

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valdez, Alaska
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
22 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A Beer Lover's Delight”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Excellent food, excellent service and good selection of their beers! It was our first visit, but nice ambience-fun filled atmosphere and great service by staff...very busy too!

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairbanks, Alaska, United States
1 review
“Good, but inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

The beer is always good here, but the service and food can be inconsistent. Don't go on the weekend - the service can be very slow. If you do, be sure to make a reservation.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for Fairbanks, but OK for elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

It's a 9 out of 10 for Fairbanks, but it is only OK (maybe a 6 or 7) if you compare it to other brew pubs with more competition elsewhere, such as Anchorage. The Moose's Tooth or Bear's Tooth in Anchorage would dominate this place if just next door. The food is good, but a little pricey compared to even some other nearby Fairbanks restaurants. The Pumphouse has better food prices in the bar by three to four dollars for similar items like burgers and nachos. The beers are good, but not amazing, but their head brewer is always trying to innovate so there is usually something different every time I stop by. I would recommend the Pear Gorgonzola Pizza, Beer Broiled Shrimp and the Blue Cheese Buffalo Burger.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Gulch Brewing and Bottling Co. also viewed

 

Been to Silver Gulch Brewing and Bottling Co.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Gulch Brewing and Bottling Co., register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.