We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spectacular views, Historic setting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kennicott Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennicott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kennicott Glacier Lodge
Save
You added Kennicott Glacier Lodge to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   #15 Kennicott Millsite, Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Explorer Package
San Antonio, TX
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Spectacular views, Historic setting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2006

This was a really neat lodge and worth the cost if you can swing it. Though built only about 12 years ago, but was based on an earlier structure from the first half of the 20th century and has lots of period décor. The view from the front porch of the lodge is spectacular with a glacier coming down the valley right in front of the lodge and incredible snow-covered mountains all around. The rooms are small but serviceable, with shared bathrooms and showers located at various points on each floor. The rooms do have a sink. If you purchase the vacation package, the meals are included, which if you eat at the lodge restaurant, ends up paying for itself. However, they also advertise that a tour of the Kennicott Mill is included in the vacation package, implying that it is the St. Elias Alpine Guides Mill tour. It is actually just an evening walk that anyone staying at the lodge can do where the hotel staff takes you around the town and not into the Mill itself. Other than this, I have mostly positive comments about this lodge. The staff was helpful and took time to remember your name. The food was wonderful, and the dinner dishes were comparable to some higher end restaurants. Dining room seating is reserved for guests at long tables so you get to sit with and meet other guests to share conversation and experiences. If you will be out for the day, they can prepare a sack lunch if you tell them the night before. They will also get you setup with the local outfitters for various activities, even making calls for you if necessary. We changed our flight-seeing trip time, and they took care of letting them know we were coming. To get around, they have a large van that runs to the McCarthy bridge. Since it takes some time, its best to schedule with the desk in advance when you want to go somewhere. However, they can give you discount tickets on the local commercial shuttle service (Wrangell Mountain Bus) if you need to go somewhere at a different time. If you arrive by car, you can call them from a free phone at the foot bridge and park your car for free at the St. Elias Alpine Guides office about ¾ miles back up the road (the St. Elias guides will shuttle you down to the bridge.) All in all, I think this was a great place to stay.

  • Liked — Incredible location, great food and service, historic location
  • Disliked — Expensive
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay in the main lodge rather than the south building.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    40
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
30
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2006

The Kennicott Lodge lacked a lot of basics. I was not expecting to share a bath for $189.00 per night. The room did have a sink that was not functioning. The food was ok, but certainly not memorable. I was not thrilled to be served "family style" (only a few tables were everyone sat together). For $30 per person I was expecting more than platters of roadhouse food. On the bright side, the people were very nice and had lots of good information on the area. After Dinner there was a slide show on flightseeing, note: go flight seeing rather than watching a slide show on it! The buildings in Kennicott are worth the trip.

  • Disliked — No hot water, Food quality
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adirondack, New York
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2006

After a short scenic flight from Chitina with the Wrangell Air we were picked up by the shuttle from the lodge and driven 3 miles on a bumpy road full of potholes and a few chickens.

Our room in the new south wing was large, properly decorated, with windows facing the glacier and mountains, nice very clean bathroom with plenty of towels. There was no hair dryer and I didn't care about it but it may be a big issue to those who have to have a hair dryer regardless where they stay.

Breakfast is served buffet style from 7 o'clock until, I think, 9 AM. We never waited until 9 am anyway as we like to start our day early. There is a choice of a continental breakfast for $9.95 or a hot buffet breakfast for $15.95. Dinners were surprisingly very creative with plenty of vegetables and served a family style and that meant everyone is eating at 7 PM. Staff was great.

There are two guiding companies located in Kennecott and they take visitors on many various outdoor activities. We are independent travelers and opted to focus on our own activities this time. We started out our hike before 8 am which meant nobody was on a trail but us and black bears. We hiked to the glacier, then continue on the trail to Erie Mine. By the time we got to the glacier, clouds disappeared and for the rest of the day we had a gorgeous clear day with a blue sky and incredible views of the mountains.

We came back to Kennecott just in time to leave our backpacks in the lodge and show up for 3:45 PM free tour lead by the park ranger. The park ranger was not only knowledgeable but entertaining. Only 5 people were taking this tour which does not go inside the mill but it takes visitors to two buildings and a cabin. A few years ago National Park Services purchased Kennecott to protect an important part of the Alaskan and national history. Hence there is lots of restoration going on. We were happy to see where at least some of our tax dollars go.

The next day our plan was to hike to Bonanza Mine and after that returning to Kennecott to take a guided tour of the mill ($25.00 per person). As planned we hiked to Bonanza Mine. It was a long hike on a steep but well maintain road/trail. On the way back we got caught in a rain and suddenely the same raod seems much steeper hence it took us much longer to get down. Our knees were weak, we were tired and as a result got too late to take a tour. Overall we had a great hike and a day.

To summarize, our room in the South Wing was more than we expected and not expensive, in my opinion. Food was delicious, staff helpful and accommodating, weather was perfect, regardless of being caught in a rain. I should add that rooms in the main lodge look small but very clean and shared bathrooms and showers were spotless. One day we'll be returning there for more hiking. It is an ideal destination for those appreciating quiet places, grand scenery and outdoor activities. We met one woman wearing high heel open toe sandals. I recommend hiking boots for hiking and maybe sneakers for walking around. There are no sidewalks and no pavements.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Valley, NJ
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2006

We were happy to reach the end of the 60 mile (3hr) bumpy, gravel road leading to Kennicott. We managed the trip in our rental car with no flat tires. At KGL's suggestion, we parked at the St. Elias office and received a drive to the footbridge. After crossing, we had about a 30-45 minute wait before the KGL van arrived and brought us to the lodge.

We stayed in the lodge's new South wing, so our room had a lovely porch area overlooking the glacial silt and mountains and a private bath. As we were only there one night, shortly after our arrival, we took a walk to the National Park Service building to take their final walking tour of the season- exceptional! We returned for the family style dinner of salmon, broccoli, and scalloped potatoes- excellent! Wine selection was good, but availability was limited- probably because they were winding down for the season, and were closing in just 1 week's time. We got to see a classical guitar show in the Recreation center after dinner with many locals, so that helped add to the whole Kennicott experience.

After breakfast the next morning, we hiked out to the glacier via the Root Glacier Trail. We didn't book the meal package, which seemed to work out for us since we didn't eat lunch there. If you are looking for a true escape with history, wildlife, and scenery wrapped into one, you will enjoy Kennicott and the Kennicott Glacier Lodge.

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
73 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2006

We flew into Kennicott via Wrange Mtn Air from Chitina and were wow'd by the Fall colors below us, it's a 30 minute flight, then you're met by the Kennicott van. Our room was 2 double beds, room view of the glacier with photos, original pieces of the Kennicoott mine on the walls. 2 meals a day were included, and were very tasty. breakfast is a buffet with excellent baked goods, lunch is sandwich/soup, or similar, and dinner changes nitely, one night was chicken stuffed with spinach, salad, pasta, chocolate cake for desert, 2nd night was new york steak with baked potato, and an apple tart, soup. each evening was a slide show after dinner of available activities, like hikes, ice climbing, rafting, or a 2 hour tour of the mine milling facility, excelllent to see the machinery and walk up the flights of stairs, don't recomend it for older folks. my wife stayed and enjoyed reading under the huge covered porches of the lodge. Friendly staff to help/assist you. Kennicott stopped producing copper in 1938 and the national park service is working to shore up the buildings so they remain, many have already fallen, but the miners bunk room, old store, power station, are being brought back to life. stay at least 2 nights to see much, take the shuttle to nearby quaint mc carthy town, stroll the streets, dine, or savor it's history.

  • Liked — fabulous views of the glacier, tasty food, friendly staff
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Federal Way, Washington
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2006

Kennicott is about as far out in the middle of nowhere as you can get. The lodge is located on a hillside overlooking the Kennicott Glacier, 80 miles from the main highway. Rooms in the main lodge are small with a sink and bathrooms and showers down the hall. Everything is very clean and the hospitality is warm and friendly. Buy the meal plan. Meals are outstanding and reasonable by Alaska standards. Your first impresssion is that the lodge and meal plan is expensive and by most standards, the facilities are primitive for the price. On the other hand, this is a very nice place so far off the beaten path that you are lucky to have a place to stay at all. We came away feeling very good about the prople who run this place and that we got good value for our money. Believe it or not the wireless internet works great.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2005

We stayed only one day in the Kennicott Lodge. It was one of our highlights within our Alska trip.
We stayed in the southwing of the lodge in a room with privat bath. The rooms were just perfect. Clean with comfort and a great view on the glacier. The dinner was family style. Perfect food with friendly service. So was the breakfast- you have to try the fresh bakery! All in all the team made us feel really at home and surrounded our Wrangell NP experinence with excellent service. (The only point to mention is the picture from the lodge in the internet: it didn´t show at all how nice this place is-you can expect more).
This is must if you travel to the Wrangell NP.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kennicott Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennicott Glacier Lodge

Address: #15 Kennicott Millsite, Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > Kennicott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kennicott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kennicott Glacier Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennicott Glacier Lodge is a family owned lodge located in America's largest National Park, Wrangell-St. Elias. Try glacier hiking or ice climbing on the Root Glacier, one of the few easily accessible glaciers in North America. Get a breath taking view of the park on a flightseeing tour, or spend time alpine hiking, river rafting, and exploring the National Historic Landmark of the Kennicott Copper Mine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kennicott Glacier Hotel Kennicott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennicott Glacier Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.