We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A remarkable place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kennicott Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennicott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kennicott Glacier Lodge
Save
You added Kennicott Glacier Lodge to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   #15 Kennicott Millsite, Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Explorer Package
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Tikøb
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“A remarkable place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Kennicot Glacier Lodge is definitely worth a visit. It is not luxurious, but has a lot of charm. The rooms are comfortable, clean and with a fantastic view of the glacier. The old copper mine and the surrounding buildings are very interesting – and a hike to and on the glacier is a very good experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    40
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
31
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Me and my wife stayed in room#2 of Main lodge for 2 nights in July 2013 and found the experience to be less than average.

There were more negatives than the positives for us here...

Rooms: Very small in size....two small size beds ....and just a cold water sink... for approx $200...seriously?? The shared bathroom right across the room had hot water sink... so we felt it to be a cheap act of not providing hot water in the room sink.

Overpriced breakfast, lunch and dinner: Breakfast $15, Lunch $18 and Family style dinners for over $30 per person....being vegetarians price was a deal breaker for us...
We ate pizza right across the lodge at a bus aka pizza joint....$20 great deal!

Only positive is location as it was closer to our glacier hiking activity at St. Elias Alpine Guide office. Also parking of $5 at the footbridge was waived off.

But all in all, a highly overpriced experience and we would blame our travel agent - Alaska Vacation Store to set us up here...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich_Kirkwood, Owner at Kennicott Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Thank you for visiting Kennicott Glacier Lodge. We are sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations.

Kennicott Glacier Lodge is a remote, wilderness lodge and because the Main Lodge is a replica of an original mining era building, those rooms are smaller than typical hotel rooms and they have shared bathrooms. All of the rooms in the South Wing are larger and have two queen beds and a private bathroom.

For guests who would like to eat in our dining room, we offer a Room Plus Meals option that includes your room and three meals per person per night. This package saves you 10 to 15% over purchasing meals individually.

It is our goal to ensure that our guests know what to expect during their stay and this year we launched a new website that describes the different types of rooms, the discounted meal plan option, the special package offers, and other important information. We recommend that all of our guests, including guests that book through a travel agent, as you did, read the information in the website. We believe that the more information our guests have before they arrive, the more they will enjoy their visit.

Thank you again for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisiana
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I didn’t stay at the lodge, but I did have lunch. I had an excellent meal for $18 including tip. The food tasted great and the service was friendly and attentive. After eating, I sat there for a few extra minutes just to enjoy the rest of my tea, the soothing music, and savor a great view of an awesome glacier! ….. I regretted not being able to stay. It was my type of accommodations – historic, nostalgic, quiet, and a great view.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peters Creek, AK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I recently had the fortunate opportunity to stay at this remote lodge for an extended weekend. We had such a wonderful time that we're now self proclaimed 'ambassadors' telling everyone we know of the need to experience this beautiful area as well as the Kennicott Glacier Lodge. We were so impressed by every aspect of the lodge, from the friendly staff to the incredibly tidy and comfortable rooms. The food deserves a special mention, as not only was it plentiful, but it was extremely tasty! We truly look forward to returning to KGL in the near future.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uk
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This Lodge is almost at the end of the trail in Kennicott. We stayed in the Annex to have a private bath but would imagine, looking at the overall standard of the Lodge, the cheaper shared bath would be fine. The rooms looked out over the glacier to the mountains beyond & the Kennicott Copper Mine complex was just up the trail. Staff cheerful & friendly & the Family style dining was great. The food itself was excellent & we found the continental breakfast to be adequate but there was hot available. To produce this quality in this isolated place shows real commitment. Not cheap but well recommended.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niederlenz, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We "only" had 13 days to spend on our trip to Alaska (in July 2012). So our first intention was to skip Wrangel St. Elias Nationalpark (the largest Nationalpark of the US) from our list. I'm glad that after all we decided to visit it as well: A remote, tranquil place, off the beaten track of most tourists.
One thing is the visit in the Nationalpark itself, which is outstanding. But the best thing you can do is to stay overnight in the park as well (then you have the park almost to yourself). We decided to stay at the Kennicott Glacier Lodge and we did enjoy it: After being on a glacier hike during the day (with Kennicott Wilderness Guides, see my comments there), we enjoyed the evening in the hotel. First we had a drink on the porch outside of our room and then the dinner together with other guests "family style" which means that you share the table with other guests.
The very best of our visit: we had or glacier hike and evening at the hotel on a perfect sunny day = very hard to top.

rooms: we had one in the main lodge with glacier view and with shared bathrooms. Everything clean and comfortable.
food: good-very good
atmosphere: hard to top (unless you expect something new and fancy)
price: yes, it's a bit on the pricier side (but you're very far away from everything. What also means that they have to take a big effort bringing all the things in they need for the guests)
what else: you can almost feel the history
and: we would definitely stay there again if we'd the opportunity

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

We have stayed here overnight before and given the lodge an excellent rating. Outstanding when considering they are able to provide such a quality lodging and dining experience in such a beautiful remote area of the globe.

We also have a cabin in the general area so I spend much of my summer months there. I try to eat lunch at Kennicott at least once a week. This season the sunshine and weather have been phenomenal so I average a little more than that. A couple of weeks ago my brother flew his plane up from the coast and we decided to go up to Kennicott for the family style dinner. Had halibut, excellent.

The reason I am posting this review is that the meals are exceptionally good this season. On nice days I love to go up there and eat lunch out on their deck. This experience offers a world class panoramic view of the Kennicott Glacier and Mount Blackburn, the tallest of the Wrangell Mountains, while eating a memorable lunch

This summer I have tried a number of their lunch selections, all good. But I discovered last Sunday they have Tuna Melt on the menu. I'm a sucker for Tuna Melts, however, this was the best I ever tasted. I also had a cup of their clam chowder that day, it was all sooo good. Unfortunately, I could hardly waddle when finished and skipped dinner that evening.

Room Tip: They offer either standard type hotel rooms with shower/bath or rooms with shared baths. You might b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kennicott Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennicott Glacier Lodge

Address: #15 Kennicott Millsite, Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > Kennicott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kennicott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kennicott Glacier Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennicott Glacier Lodge is a family owned lodge located in America's largest National Park, Wrangell-St. Elias. Try glacier hiking or ice climbing on the Root Glacier, one of the few easily accessible glaciers in North America. Get a breath taking view of the park on a flightseeing tour, or spend time alpine hiking, river rafting, and exploring the National Historic Landmark of the Kennicott Copper Mine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kennicott Glacier Hotel Kennicott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennicott Glacier Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.