We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superlatives fall short” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kennicott Glacier Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kennicott
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kennicott Glacier Lodge
Save
You added Kennicott Glacier Lodge to your Saves list
2.5 of 5 Lodge   |   #15 Kennicott Millsite, Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
The Explorer Package
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Superlatives fall short”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2012

Our family has enjoyed Kennecott for 24 years.....things have changed, but Kennecott Glacier Lodge has only gotten better. Friendly staff, great food and a view to die for were enjoyed by 3 generations of our family this time. Go for the view, go for the fun, go for the history but just go. I sincerely doubt you'll be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    40
    5
    6
    0
See reviews for
31
78
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I just returned from a 2 week active travel vacation to Alaska. Kennicott was my favorite place. It isn't fancy-but it is charming. The property is very well maintained and the owners pay attention to little details that make this place special....relaxing classical music and fresh fragrant flowers in the common area, Well prepared food.
I thought community bathrooms would be a hassle, but I did not have to compete with other guests to use the them. There are a few rooms with private baths (for an additional charge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Netherlands
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Didn't know, what to expect, when we arrived at the river and the footbridge after a couple of hours of dirtroad. And really only understood, how these places ( Kennicott & McCarthy) are situated in the middle of a glacier landscape , when I saw it from the air. What a landscape!! And on the grounds of the old Kennecott Mines a building, with a very homely atmosphere, nice rooms, even if you have to share the ( very clean) facilities with other guests. And very lovely food. Complements to the cooks.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front have a view towards the Kennicott Glacier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waynesville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2012

Great place to stay in the park albeit not for long because there's limited things to do. You can hike to the glacier or to the mines or walk through the old mining building. Unfortunately the main attraction - the 14-story processing plant will be closed in mid-July for major renovations which could take years. In the main building the rooms are adequate with hall bathrooms and showers that are kept very clean. Dinner at their restaurant is very pleasant. One seating at 7:00 pm. Limited WiFi in their lobby. Great place for a wedding or special event.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnutport, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

This lodge in the middle of Wrangell St Elias National park is the crown jewel. If you go to Alaska and miss this national park, you have missed the most beautiful place in Alaska. Kennicott is easy to access by Wrangel Air Service or a 3 hr ride on a dirt road. It is on the site of an old copper mine, and a beautiful glacier. Your room has a panoramic view of the Chugach Range, and the Wrangell Mountains. The food plan here is reasonable, and the finest I've eaten in a long time. The portions are huge, and you will gain weight. The service is fabulous. It is pristine clean. If you do not explore this area, you've missed something very special.

Room Tip: Your fitness center is the great outdoors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2012

My Mom has stayed here before and told me I have to see this place. Okay, so you have to drive 33 miles off the hwy to Chitina, then a pothole/single lane bridges road (60 miles) to McCarthy, then walk a footbridge and then get the lodge shuttle but it's somehow worth it. Nice place. Room was huge and nicely furnished. The young girl driving the shuttle was really nice and seemed like a sweet person, especially to my Mom. She pointed out a lynx on our drive and we had never seen one in the wild before so we got some photos. Dinner was good, but I'm not a fan of dining with others and chatting and passing around the dishes (not that I'm mean I just want to eat). We had prime rib. Dessert was nice. We walked around the mine area-which is pretty cool. What was odd was after dinner they give you what looks like a bill (but mine was prepaid) where they put the amounts on it. I couldn't figure out if it was for a tip or not, then I read that you should tip after your stay. That was confusing. I did tip like I normally do. You do have to get the blowdryer from the lobby but that's okay. No tv, no phone but that's not what this place is about. Oh, we stayed in the lodge part with the private baths. Some rooms have shared baths, we opted for privacy.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
81 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
169 helpful votes 169 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2011

Over priced but in a wonderful location, and thats what you pay for here.

Basic accommodation, basic , overpriced food, and as soon as you have a dietary requirement, expect "the vegetarian" option. A talentless chef, a miserable russian waitress who, the next time she does smile, will break her face.

Everything extra here, and vastly over priced compared to similar activites elsewhere on the Northern American Continent.

But yes, a wonderful location, and nice to see the Guggemheim's legacy of a mountain of rotting steel drums, at the edge of the glacier being added to by the workmen working to save the National Heritage.. They certainly took all they wanted and left their rubbish behind.


A place of contradictions which if the service and room quality had been there, might have got away with the the average food at high price. but all in all , all three factors came together combined with the extortionately high activity prices, to leave us more or less disappointed...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rich_Kirkwood, Owner at Kennicott Glacier Lodge, responded to this review, December 14, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. We appreciate and take all guest comments with the utmost consideration. We are pleased to hear that you were able to enjoy the beautiful location of our lodge. At Kennicott Glacier Lodge, we strive to create an unforgettable experience for each and every Guest and are very disappointed to hear that some of our services fell short during your vacation with us. We would like to invite you back in hopes that we can not only meet your expectations, but exceed them the second time around. Please feel free to phone or email us at the lodge to discuss any other questions or concerns you may have. Thank you again for your time and feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kennicott Glacier Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kennicott Glacier Lodge

Address: #15 Kennicott Millsite, Kennicott, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > Kennicott
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Kennicott
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Kennicott Glacier Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kennicott Glacier Lodge is a family owned lodge located in America's largest National Park, Wrangell-St. Elias. Try glacier hiking or ice climbing on the Root Glacier, one of the few easily accessible glaciers in North America. Get a breath taking view of the park on a flightseeing tour, or spend time alpine hiking, river rafting, and exploring the National Historic Landmark of the Kennicott Copper Mine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Kennicott Glacier Hotel Kennicott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kennicott Glacier Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.