We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Quaint Cabin-Perfect Alaskan Amenities!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McCarthy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B
Save
You added Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B to your Saves list
McCarthy #42, McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 McCarthy B&B and Inns
Anchorage, Alaska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Quaint Cabin-Perfect Alaskan Amenities!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A cabin experience in Alaska can go many ways... From bare minimum to ultra decked out. Obviously the expectation is that you pay for the better experience.
This McCarthy stay is one that resounds both the sense of place and the hosts perspective of hospitality.
I enjoyed the cleanliness and sense of detail. The bathhouse was toasty warm and the pricing was affordable. I also enjoyed reading their news magazine, (Rick and Bonnie are the editors/publishers) as it too gave me a greater sense of how locals work together to build the charm of McCarthy.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thirsk, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in early Sept. Whilst the weather was not clement, the warm welcome from Bonnie and Rick made our stay a really enjoyable one. We stayed in Mom's Place, which is quite quirky and retro, but had everything we needed to be comfortable. Bonnie went out of her way to answer our questions and help us out generally. A very good base for exploring the area, and the drive in/out along the road using a 2 wheel drive was fine.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elsing
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed three nights at the beginning of August 2013. Bonnie gets up really early every morning to bake the muffins and cake for breakfast,they tasted heavenly! Such friendly hosts, excellent welcome and they know how to look after their guests. We were so pleased we chose to stay there a good base for getting to the footbridge.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AUSTIN
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We enjoyed our weekend stay here on a large property. The owners shared their garden with us--fresh tomatoes and cucumbers! The room was large with a kitchen (full size refrigerator) and a table. The grounds were well-maintained and mowed. It helped to keep the bugs down. Outdoors was a covered area where we could enjoy the outdoors and play board games. During the day, the bugs were not bad and easy to stay outside. We would stay again should we visit Wrangell St.elias National Park again.

Room Tip: Had a cabin with ensuite bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

My friend and I stayed here on out trip to Alaska in June 2013. We chose this B&B because of its proximity to the foot bridge going into McCarthy. Bonnie is an excellent hostess, bringing fresh muffins or coffee cake each morning. She is also very knowledgeable on the area and the different activities that are available. My friend and I elected to stay in Mom's place since we preferred our own bathroom. Having stayed in many "trailers" this was quite adequate. Even though the trailer is "dated" it was very comfortable and everything worked well. Don't expect long showers since this does have a small water heater.

I would not hesitate to stay here again on another visit to McCarthy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

This is a great, quiet little place. Need your own transportation to get there--about 2 miles from the footbridge. Wind past a private airstrip, the river, into the forest, and break out in the meadows. Bonnie is great. She will make you muffins or coffee cake in the morning. Cold cereal, milk, coffee and teas are provided. Bonnie says her place is "rustic." But hopefully that is why you chose to go to McCarthy in the first place! Be flexible. Be open to something a little different. Have fun. So glad we ended up there for two nights.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Our reservation at another B&B in the McCarthy area was cancelled at the (almost) last minute. Bonnie was nice enough to fit us in on a phone call's notice. We stayed at Mom's Place, which was converted from an old trailer. We chose it because this was the only unit with indoor plumbing available at the time. The outdated décor did not bother us, as we were grateful that we were able to find a place to stay to begin with. We were also appreciative that this was off of an unpaved road in McCarthy, AK. However, we were not warned about the small water tank that was in the trailer. The next morning, hot shower water ran out after about 2 minutes of usage. We would have been more prepared had we known about the situation. This caused a small inconvenience. Having said that, Bonnie was warm and welcoming. She baked fresh muffins for us the next morning and brought them over. BTW, do not expect the Wi-Fi to work on a consistent basis. After all, this is rural Alaska.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B

Address: McCarthy #42, McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > McCarthy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McCarthy
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Aspen Meadows Of McCarthy B&B Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.