We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WARNING: This is not in Glennallen. This is 60 miles East in McCarthy, in the park.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in McCarthy
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B
Save
You added Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B to your Saves list
McCarthy #42, McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 McCarthy B&B and Inns
Tyngsborough, MA
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“WARNING: This is not in Glennallen. This is 60 miles East in McCarthy, in the park.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I made a reservation here for an overnight on my way from Valdez to Anchorage. Glennallen sounded like the right place to stop, so I picked this place. However, this place is in McCarthy.

Fortunately, the proprietress was very, very nice and understanding and allowed me to cancel my reservation without any hassle, as soon as I figured out the error. I really hope to be able to stay here some day when I can venture that direction.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

18 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We decided to stay in a cabin instead of camp, and felt lucky to find this little place. It's clean, private, and conveniently located near the McCarthy footbridge. No TV or phones, thankfully!
The cabins are clean and tidy (with shampoo, but no soap: luckily we had our own).

Room Tip: It ain't fancy, but it's "real Alaska"
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaska
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

Aspen Meadows is highly recommended if you are planning a trip to McCarthy. We stayed two nights in the Large Cabin (http://www.wsen.net/AspenMeadows/page2.html) while visiting Kennicott. The cabin has everything you need--two comfortable double beds (with lots of pillows), a small propane refrigerator, a two-burner propane stove, plenty of cooking and serving utensils, and a small sink for washing dishes. There is a coffee maker and a variety of teas available. There is no running water in the cabin, but water for drinking and washing is available from a 5-gallon cooler. The bathhouse next door has hot showers and a flush toilet. Towels are provided in the cabin. The cabin has electric lights and four accessible outlets for recharging electronics. A free wireless is available works very well from everywhere on the grounds. (McCarthy is served by Verizon and has a free wi-fi hotspot in the town--if you have a Verizon phone.)

Breakfast is a variety of cereals (including oatmeal). Bonnie brings around fresh muffins and butter each morning, and milk and juice are provided as well.

Aspen Meadows is located about two miles off of the McCarthy Road on the opposite side of the Kennicott River from McCarthy. It's a bit off the beaten track but the solitude is worth the extra drive. The shower feels incredible after a long day of hiking around the town and glaciers.

Bonnie and Rick are gracious hosts and have done a fantastic job with the enterprise. Electricity is provided from a solar array, so there is no generator noise or odor. All you hear is the nearby Kennicott River.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Flagstaff, Arizona
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

1st Our group was a 7 person party heading out on a 7 day Class V whitewater expedition. After driving 7 hours from Anchorage and arriving late Bonnie tucked us in to Moms Cabin and the cabin next door. We cooked a mean meal and went to bed. Early next morning Bonnie popped in with some muffins and left us to our own program for the next 2 days. For more than an hour we salivated over Bonnies incredible garden, and sweet downhome spread. She is the real deal! and we felt incredibly blessed to be staying at Bonnies place. She even filled our propane tanks for the trip.

Aspen Meadows B&B is a slice of heaven!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2009

First, a preface. On a two week tour of Alaska, we stayed at 6 B+Bs, and 4 hotels. We need to be objective and rate each group on a different but similar scale. Excellence is a tough category, and hopefully we never will need to use the words terrible or poor.

Well, we had email correspondence with Bonnie for a few weeks. much of it about the driving conditions to MCarthy. Please note that TripAdvisor is using a PO Box, and actually, the B+B is in McCarthy, off about MM58, and about 1.8 miles up a dirt and rocky road. We made all of these safely in a Chevy Impala.

As you might see on their site, they have two cabins and Mom's trailer. We stayed one night in the trailer, because ensuite toilet was a necessity to dear wife.

We arrived in mid-evening, having fetched meals to go at the Chitina Hotel, and Bonnie greeeted us, and showed us to the Trailer, which was rather cozy, and we were able to light the stove and warm our food.

However, the fridge, being propane, was not cooled down, and both the butter that Bonnie had put in, and what we had brought along, would have spoiled. The hosts put all in their house.

The dinette seating is terribly worn, and one falls deep into the benches, making eating a bit of a chore.

We did sleep well, and the plumbing worked quite ok. There was a variety of cold cereals, and we warmed up Bonnie's muffins left the night before.

We paid the rate on the website.

So, how do we rate this one? I've marked down the cleanliness, as there was noticable wear, etc. We may have been the first users for the season. Location = off the track, but we ruled out the others for the isolation. Service = Bonnie worked at hit. Room: unique - we had stayed in a trailer park trailer once before. This one is beat up. Value: nothing is cheap here. This is a pretty good value.

I looked at the rooms at Ma Johnson's in McCarthy, and also at the Kennecott Inn in Kennecott as we did sightseeing. The WSEN, now changed to Aspen Meadows has a lot going for it in terms of privacy and quiet in a busy season. A replaced dinette would go a long way. It's all what you can have fun with.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B

Address: McCarthy #42, McCarthy, Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve, AK 99588
Location: United States > Alaska > Wrangell-St Elias National Park and Preserve > McCarthy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in McCarthy
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Aspen Meadows Of McCarthy B&B Alaska

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aspen Meadows of McCarthy B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.