We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor customer service and booking experience.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent to your Saves list
Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newborough Road | Needwood, Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 9PD, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early, up to 20% off
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Needwood
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor customer service and booking experience.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was staying at the hotel for a corporate event that I was invited to but twice the hotel tried to cancel my reservation because of over booking. Once by phone and then on check in. On check in I was told that there was an air-conditioning leak which had damaged a number or rooms. Eventually I got my room but there was no sign of the damaged rooms!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Operations Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Sven E

Thank you for your review, I am glad I’ve had the opportunity to correspond on a separate email regarding your stay.

Kind regards

Greg Crawford
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton at St George's Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    406
    164
    54
    16
    11
See reviews for
151
193
9
198
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
london, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

very plesent hotel with warm and welcoming staff rooms are to a outstanding standard with very comftable beds wounderful facilities that were availible and on show at my award evening i would recomend this hotel to anyone wanting a hotel to stay in burton on trent

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Ryan G

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and thank you so much for your recommendation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
themarle
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I think this was my fifth stay at The St Georges Park Hilton Hotel in Burton On Trent. As ever our stay was relaxed, enjoyable and we were looked after exceptionally well by all of the staff here. From the room service to the spa and from the reception to the restaurant and bars, every member of staff was cheerful, nothing to much trouble and went out of their way to make our stay as enjoyable as it always is. Rooms were exceptional and comfortable. Thank-you to you all for a great overnight stay. My family and I will be returning in the not to distant future.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear themarle

It’s so nice to hear that you experienced an enjoyable stay with us, and that our team made an impact on your stay.

We do hope to welcome you back for a sixth visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I was angry when with 48hrs notice the hotel tried to cancel us and move us to another chain hotel 8 miles away. When I refused I was informed we had no choice as they had overbooked and the organisation that were requesting more rooms had priority. We were not offered a refund just a taxi to bring us to our function (which was in the St Georges complex which is the reason we stayed there in the first place). I think this is a terrible way to treat customers and they should have informed the organisation that they were fully booked and could not take any further bookings.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Operations Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Lisa H

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor, as per my email please do not hesitate to contact me if you wish to discuss further.

Kind regards

Greg Crawford
General Manager
Hampton by Hilton at St George's Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Our second visit did not disappoint; we are booking for a further visit in May, 2014! On this occasion we used the gym and pool; both excellent facilities. The staff remembered us from our previous visit and were keen to share experiences.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Dear Dubaiunlimited

We look forward to welcoming you back in 2014, thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

Me and my cousin stayed at the hilton for a spa experience, for her birthday and for my self due to getting engaged to my boyfriend a week earlier. The spa was fantastic and Jess the lady that did are treatment was superb, and needs a pay rise. Xx couldn't give her enough praise. When we arranged at the hilton, at about 1pm the staff where fantastic at reception couldn't do enough for us, we had the executive twin room and was welcomed by a birthday card and a bottle of sparking wine. Hank you so much. Our down side to our stay was the way we were treated by the evening staff, we we're invited by two lovely people from the judo event which we accepted kindly, but we we're advised that it wasn't up to the people that invited us and we had to leave which we did with no problem, only to find out when we got back in to the crossbar, they would not serve us anymore with no reason. The way they spoke to us really upset my cousin which made her cry, she is not the kind of person that gets upset. I do not believe we did anything to be treat the way we did. We complained to reception straight away, with the two people that invited us to the event, as they left there as well due to the way we were treated, which the reception staff didn't seem to be bothered about it. We went to our room, went bed. In the morning Sonia went for her treatment, but wasn't in the mood to go due to being disappointed with the night before, any way she went and Jess again from the spa was amazing. We went for breakfast and when we we're choosing want we wanted there was a hair on the sausages, we showed the Lady serving the food from the buffet only for her to say, oh it can't be one of hers as it's not curly she removed the hair from the sausages on the buffet tray and just mixed the sausage up, it was disgusting serves, the breakfast was horrible, under cooked bacon, snotty eggs, runny scrambled eggs, my cousin has had to go the doctors today 18th November as she was unwell from the morning of 17th November which we stayed from the 16th to the 17th. Her doctor has advised her that she has noro-virus, she has been told she can't go to work from today 18th November due to this virus caught from the hilton hotel as she works with children in a school. And now she will be losing money. We are very very disappointed with all of this. When we left I asked for the email so I can complain, which I will

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
General_Manager-GC, General Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear Emma0563

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback, we are pleased we had the opportunity to respond to your email prior to your review on Trip Advisor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DISS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed here because we attended an event in the Hilton I had a phone call 2 days before we went to say they were moving us to the \Premier Inn 10 miles away because they were overbooked luckily my Association managed to rearrange this and I was told I had a room, on arriving I was informed that I had been moved the receptionist just gave me details of the new hotel and would not enquire why it had been changed again I managed to find my organiser who had arranged the rooms and I was on the list the girl did not apologise and the next day sent on a wild goose chase for our breakfast, I feel we were treated like 2nd class citizens because we were in the Hampton on not the Hilton

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandra L, Operations Manager at Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Dear deniseo55

Thank you for posting your review on Trip Advisor following your recent stay at the Hampton by Hilton, St George’s Park.

I am really sorry to learn of the confusion with regards to your reservation and I am glad that your organiser was able to make the amendments to your accommodation on the list.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused and we do hope we have the opportunity of welcoming you back to the Hampton by Hilton at St George’s Park in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent

Address: Newborough Road | Needwood, Needwood, Burton upon Trent DE13 9PD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Staffordshire > Burton upon Trent > Needwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Needwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the stylish Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent hotel, nestled in the National Forest and in the geographical centre of England. Located six miles west of Burton upon Trent and 35 miles from East Midlands Airport, the Hilton at St George's Park is close to the M1, M6 and M42 motorway links. St George's Park is home to all 24 England teams and an inspirational centre for coach education. With state-of-the-art conferencing, sport and medical facilities, the park is fast establishing itself as a world-class event and sporting venue attracting teams, athletes and corporate clients from far and wide. Take advantage of Hilton at St. George's Park unique surroundings and host a meeting or event using our modern facilities and 19 flexible meeting rooms. This hotel has ample parking and complimentary WiFi access throughout. Relax in a guest room or suite decorated in rich, warm colours. Enjoy the view from large windows and refresh in an elegant bathroom with separate bath and shower. The workspace includes a comfortable ergonomic chair and a large desk with UK power outlets (U.S. adapters are available at reception). Upgrade to a deluxe or executive-level room for more services and amenities. The hotel features a health club, indoor swimming pool and spa. Admire the tranquil scenery of the forest or seek out the thrills at Alton Towers and Drayton Manor theme parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton EMEA, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton at St George's Park, Burton upon Trent, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.