We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was wonderful to participate a wedding in this resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort to your Saves list
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Interamericana, Km 108, Guias de Anton, Santa Clara 0229-00140, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Rate Guaranteed
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Clara
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“It was wonderful to participate a wedding in this resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

I was invited to the resort for a friend's wedding. I enjoyed my stay there for relaxing and beautiful beach. There are different types of restaurants, one bar and one lounge. The food and drinks are included. I spent three days there and had so much delicious food.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    385
    216
    76
    57
See reviews for
300
411
9
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014 via mobile

It was my 5th time at Sheraton Bijao, unfortunately it was quite disappointing. I found the the hotel lack of maintenance and the service and food were poor. The staff looked bored and dressed cheap. The food was also terrible in flavor and presentation. No comments about the cocktails. Bad. The breakfast was the best. There wasn't even proper napkins. My room wasn't well cleaned, black between tiles confirm it. The furniture looked deteriorated including the mattress and the poster, which is only "fancy" detail. The furniture and the floor at the swimming pool looked dirty. Entertainment terrible. I'm still wondering what happened. I hope things change. I will not go back until it happens.

Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I'm sad we only had the chance to stay here for one night. It's beautiful! Wonderful private beach, fantastic pools, tasty themed restaurants and good service. It was very busy during our visit. Our room was spacious, ice cold and clean, just the way we wanted it.

Room Tip: If you choose an oceanfront room, the music is very loud after 9pm. Stay on the garden side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonBijao, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear RealEstateScorecard

Thank you so much for this fantastic review. We are so happy that you enjoyed all of our facilities during your last stay. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that!

We hope your next visit will be for more than 1 night. All our staff will be delighted to show again the Sheraton Bijao experience.

Kind regards,

Santiago Tapia V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We visited the Bijao Resort with our entire family. It was as beautiful as the photos online. There were lifeguards at the pool, hammocks hung among the palms, shaded chairs on the sandy beach, and cool water to drink. They have a children's care center and a day spa. The luncheon buffet includeded a wide variety of foods--with an emphasis on local favorites--fried fish, sweet plantains, lentils, etc. But also a pasta bar, soup bar, salad bar, antipasto bar, etc. We just spent the day there, but we had a wonderful time. My family did not want to leave. The service was great--which is something to be said in Panama, which is not know for exceptional service (and I say this having visited Panama on many, many, many occasions). The only thing that made me lower the rating was that many of the fruit juices and drinks were watery. The beach was nice right out side the hotel, but if you walk down the beach, there is ocean trash washed up on the beach. Also, I had an elderly person with me and the person had to walk a ways from the pool to get to a restroom, which was difficult. Otherwise, a must visit if you just want to lounge by the pool, stay cool in the shade, and listen to the ocean lap on the beach.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonBijao, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Dear M_Phillips2014

Thank you for the great feedback regarding our facilities and how you were impressed by our service. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy to provide our guests a space not so far from Panamá City where they can relax and renew, close to the ocean.

We hope you could visit us again with your family for more than one day, like this you will live the entire Sheraton Bijao experience.

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind Regards,

Santiago Tapia V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Excellent! For an all included hotel, excellent attention. The staff is really helpful and knowledgeable. Food is pretty good with nice presentation and variety. During the night the kids show is very entertained although no spectacular. Super comfy rooms and bed.
Overall very nice hotel...

Room Tip: ask for garden view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonBijao, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear MEILIN0804

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoy our facilities and our all-inclusive service. Guest satisfaction is our number one goal and there is nothing better than achieving that! We are happy our staff were able to meet all your needs during your stay.

We look forward to your next visit!

Kind regards,

Santiago Tapia V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

I stayed 3 days, 2 nights of my 9 day Panama vacation at the Sheraton Bijao. The drive from Panama City wasn't as easy as we were told but we arrived in under 2 hours. Upon arrival we were greeted by name by Irene Avalos and Javier (manager) and were given a welcome drink. We were not required to go to the reception desk to check in because Irene had everything ready for us. We were escorted to our upgraded suite in Building 4 located steps from the beach. The room was what you'd expect from a beach resort, no frills but clean, spacious, comfortable with an amazing view of the water. We had the all inclusive package and dined at all of the resturants. Alcibaciado (bartender) was our favorite throughout our stay. We were celebrating our anniversary and were surprised to receive a bottle of champagne in our room with a plate of desserts. When we went to dinner on the first night we were given a special table with flowers and greeted by the staff by name and they acknowledged our special night. When we returned to our room we had flowers all over the bed with two "towel" swans in a heart! Irene & Javier took great care of us and made us truly feel like VIPs. We were usually greated by name by the staff (some of which we had not met) and really enjoyed ourselves. On my last morning I took advantage of the spa. I got a 25 min massage, body scrub, and facial -- all worth the price which was less than I would normally pay elsewhere. The grounds were very lush and green. With a private beach fully equipped with beach chairs and huts I had no worries laying out and relaxing. This was a holiday week for the schools so there were a number of kids out and about but overally this did not interfere with my comfort and relaxation. We had 3 family members come by to visit and while the resort charges for your guests to enjoy the amenities, Javier did come up and tell us they could enjoy a few cocktails with us free of charge. This really made them feel welcome even though we were seated in the lobby area.

I would definitely visit the Sheraton Bijao again especially if Irene is still there! She made my anniversary trip very special!

Room Tip: Stay in Building 4 beachside. Has private patios with lounge chairs facing the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonBijao, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear AB627

Thank you so much for taking the time to write this fantastic review. There is nothing we love to hear more than our guests loving their experience with us! Your kind words regarding the service of our Staff are greatly appreciated. It is so wonderful to hear that Javier, Irene and Alcibaciado were able to make your stay with us more enjoyable!

We are so happy to hear you lived a wonderful experience in our Resort for your anniversary and that you will be back in a future!

Kind regards,

Santiago Tapia V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2014

We stayed at the Sheraton Bijao the last week of May 2014. We arrived on a Friday and the place was packed with mostly locals who we found to be very rude when it came to manners at the different restaurants, bar, and pool. On Sunday evening, the resort was empty. I'm guessing there were maybe 40 guests at the most left at the resort. This created a different experience than we are used to. It was very quiet which can be good and bad. Panama is not very customer service oriented. We never had bad service it just isn't comparable to what you get in some other resorts in different countries. Very few people at the resort spoke English. At lunch we tried to ask our waitress for napkins and she couldn't understand that. It wasn't that big of a deal for us, but this may be a big deal for people that may need additional assistance throughout their stay. The beach was probably the best part of the resort. The sand is very soft and a mix of yellow and black sand. The pools always seemed very clean and there is a ton of shade for those wanting to escape from the heat. We also never had any problems getting towels or a beach chair even on the weekends when the resort was full. The food is average, the Japanese steakhouse was the best. The portions at the ala cartes are very small though, many times we would end up going to the buffet after our dinner because we were still hungry. During the week, they only opened up one of the ala cartes each night so you don't get to choose which one you get to go to. During the end of our stay they were starting some remodeling on the main buffet restaurant and the slide in the pool was never working during our trip. The rooms are a little dated and if you are looking you can find lots of imprefections but we were their to relax and not critique the poor painting or tile work.

While we were at the resort, we did take a cab to a city called Penonome, the tour guide at the hotel arranged this for us. We spent about 4 hours just walking around looking in shops and grabbing some lunch. It was worth the $60 cab ride to get out of the resort. More than 4 hrs might be too much time there though.

Some other things I though I would mention is that the resort is a good 2 hour drive from the airport, this is without traffic. We had an early flight out of Panama so we decided to stay in the city at the Radisson the night before we left. We were very glad that we did this. We just arranged to do our tour of the city and the canal the last day that way we didn't have to make that long drive more times then we had to. For our transportation and tour we used Easy Travel Panama. We were so happy with this company. We got a personalized tour so it was just my husband and I. They customized the tour so we could see all of the things we wanted to see and we didn't have to worry about waiting on other people. It was awesome! Judy the owner and her tour guides speak great English and have a US phone number so you can call and talk to her before your trip.

In all it was a decent place to stay, but it's not like the resorts that you stay at in the Dominican or Jamaica. So as long as you keep that in mind I don't think you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SheratonBijao, Guest Relations Manager at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Logan K

Thanks so much for your kind review. We are so pleased that you enjoyed our beach and pool facilities, as well our Japanese and Grill Restaurant.

We do want to apologize for the difficulties you had in the main Restaurant because of the language barrier and the renovations we started on it during your stay. Our Food & Beverage Manager has been notified. We are always trying to improve our products and service and we want to thank you for your valuable feedback as it helps us know what service specifically needs to be improved. On behalf of our team we hope you will return and give us another chance.

Kind regards,

Santiago Tapia V.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Address: Carretera Interamericana, Km 108, Guias de Anton, Santa Clara 0229-00140, Panama
Phone Number:
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 293
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Media 8, Inc., Travelocity, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bijao Beach Hotel Santa Clara
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort Panama/Santa Clara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.