We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is not the same” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Carretera Interamericana, Km 108, Guias de Anton, Santa Clara 0229-00140, Panama   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Is not the same”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Since previously Breezes chain the quality has gone from 10 to 4 , good service, great location , bad maintenance, but the food is as low and basic as you can get, don't expect a 4 star hotel !!
We have come 3 times in four year and if there is not an enormous change I will not come back .

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconveniencies you experienced. Our food and beverage department is aware of your comments and have taken steps to ensure an appropriate solutions.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

718 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    167
    282
    162
    65
    42
See reviews for
220
310
5
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Olympia, Washington
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Checkin went smoothly. Our room was large with a partial ocean view. The room was lacking in outlets and there were bedside tables with lamps but no outlets to plug the lamps into. The bathroom was large and well appointed but the only shower was in the tub. Short people or those with disabilities would have trouble getting in and out of the tub.
The resort itself was lovely. The multilevel, meandering pool was great with plenty of room. The swim up bar was great and the beach was awesome. The beach was nice; uncrowded, nice sand, lots of shells.
We ate at the Japanese restaurant and the buffet and were satisfied with both. Overall, my hubby loved the free drinks and food.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience with us we are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay with good food and service.
Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level ofservice simply because our guests deserve the very best.

We hope to have you back soon again.

Kind Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Clara, Panama
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

Of the all-inclusive resorts in Panama, five are within 12 kilometers of each other in The Pacific Beaches. There is a reason for that. This area has the best beaches and the best weather in Panama. They are all in what is called "The Dry Arch", which gets more days of sunshine than any other area of Panama.
Of all the Pacific Beach resorts - The Royal Decameron, Playa Blanca, Buenaventura, The Royalton and The Sheraton Bijou - Bijou is my favorite. First of all, it is the only resort on Santa Clara beach, easily the best beach on the Pacific coast. Secondly it is the second prettiest (next to Buenaventura) but half the price. It has 5 or 6 great restaurants, including a fantastic Japanese sushi restaurant. I have friends who live there, otherwise I would take advantage of the all-day pass available to visitors - treat yourself - try a weekend.

Room Tip: I have not stayed there, but I put my CEO up there with her family and they loved it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao we will forward your comments to our staffmembers as we normally do, to keep them motivated and continue providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best. . We look forward to having you back.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tybee Island, Georgia
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Our stay was in June of this year, and I understand that this property had just recently been taken over by Sheraton. Having said that, and having just come from a wonderful hotel in Bocas del Toro, we still enjoyed our stay here. The check in process was perhaps not the smoothest, as it was not done at a typical front desk registration, but more of a convention area, where we received our wristbands at long banquet type tables. After check in however, we very much enjoyed the all inclusive food, drink, and amenities that this property offered.
The pools are lovely with plenty of lounge chairs, we particularly enjoyed the small thatched cabanas looking out over the ocean.The bartenders made wonderful drinks, the mojitos particularly were amazing, made with fresh mint and limes every single time. The food was tasty and nicely prepared in a buffet style, except for the specialty restaurants that were by reservation only, but we had no problems getting in on our four night stay. The room was spacious and clean with a wonderful balcony looking across the pools to the ocean.The hotel does show a little bit of its age in the room decor, but has very comfortable beds with plenty of pillows and clean white linen.
The bottom line is this is a great place to relax and enjoy the amenities and not have to look at the right side of the menu for the price. All inclusive is totally all inclusive here, no hidden fees, just enjoy.

Room Tip: Enjoy at least one room service breakfast served on your balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
At Sheraton Bijao, we take pride in ensuring our guest’s satisfaction. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced at check in. We appreciate your feedback this will help us to improve our service.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Not the typical Starwood hotel. It is an all inclusive hotel and it may have started off as a Breezes type before they rebranded to Starwood. First start with the good - nice location on the beach some of the staff was friendly.

Now the bad - service was non existent and some of the mangers were rude. There is no clock in the hotel anywhere (lobby, restaurants, meeting rooms) and equally no awareness of time for the staff. We were with a large group and gave the hotel our schedule when we arrived. The meeting room was locked every time we needed it. We had to track down the person with the key and this typically took 30 minutes while everyone waited patiently outside. The hotel had water for us about 1/2 the time and the a/c only 1/2 the time in the meeting room.Our group had to wait 30 minutes and pay for the bus an extra 30 minutes because the hotel was running late and could not provide towels for our day trip.

We had paid for a deluxe ocean suit and was given a downgrade to a jr. suite. When we asked the check in desk they said the room was what was booked even after we showed them paperwork to the contrary. Even when I provided a platinum number, they offered no upgrade and the free wifi in the room didn't work. The bathroom tub did not drain properly so anytime a shower was taken, the drain on the bathroom floor would back up and spread dirty shower water all over the floor. We complained to the quality manager who said sorry but offered nothing to correct the situation for any of the issues - the shower still backed up dirty water on the floor, we were still in the jr suite and they did not offer us a refund, the hotel did not offer us a refund for the extra 30 minutes we had to rent the bus nor the times we could not use the room, and the list went on and on. I literally spent 1-2 hours every day trying to fix things the staff could not get right like open the meeting room, where are the towels, turn on the a/c, etc.

Even getting the front desk to call a manager was an issue - at first they refused and literally turned their back to me. I had to ask the next day for a manager with a different staff. The lack of training and accountability to fix simple problems was what I expect in a cheap motel, not a Starwood beach property. Every time I brought up an issue with the staff I was told how this was not their problem - it was the booking system, the manger is out, we must have made a mistake, they didn't know when we needed the meeting room (even though we gave them a print out of our schedule), etc. I had to tell them how to fix all their problems since nobody seemed to think it was their responsibility, and even then they wouldn't do some simple things such as have someone fix our shower drain or refund us for the room we booked. Unbelievable the lack of training or empathy in the staff. One manager was exceptionally rude to us when there were not enough seats in the restaurant buffet area and some of the group wanted to take food up to the room. We were told nobody could take plates to their room and everyone had to pay for room service instead. The food was free (part of the all inclusive) but you have to pay to take a plate to your room (room service) even when there are not enough seats - I don't get it. When I told the quality manger I would complain to Starwood corporate if she didn't try to correct the issues we had, her response was go ahead, I don't care. That sums up the customer service.

Room Tip: Beach view is nice. Explain to them if you are a platinum starwood member, they have to give you an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 25, 2012
Dear Skim500

Many thanks for your comments.

Your account of the events related to your last visit to our hotel is inaccurate. We tried to accommodate all your requests and those of your group, even though most of them were not agreed upon when making the reservation for your activities and some of them against hotel’s policy.

Some of your complaints referred to our refusal to allow you and members of your group to carry out activities that were against health and safety regulations. For all these instances, we offered you alternative actions at no cost to you or members of your group. It is regrettable that you perceived them as ill behavior in our part.

Thank you sharing with us your experience. We are actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be invaluable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

My adult daughter, husband, and I had a relaxation 4 days at the Sheraton Bijao in September, 2012. Luis, at the front desk, was always ready to help us with any problems we had, such as wet floors in one room, that just would not dry in the 94% humidity. He was able to move us to an ocean view room with better air conditioning that was the needed improvement. He made dinner reservations and even got coffee made for us to take on our early morning road trip back to our flight from Panama City. Luis was always smiling and eager to make us comfortable.
Contrary to several reviews we had read, we enjoy a varied and tasty buffet for breakfast and lunch each day. We ate dinners at the two reserved restaurants, Japanese and Mediterranean, and found the food and service excellent. Our stay was Sunday through Thursday, which was perfect as the hotel was not crowded, and we were able to find ample lounges both at the beach and at the pool. The pool bar and hotel bar service were also good. The gym was convenient and clean, and we would highly recommend the reasonably- priced massages and pedicures at the spa. The ladies there were wonderful, and having the sauna available was a plus. Overall, we were pleased with the resort and the service.
True, the resort is isolated, but if you enjoy long beach walks and time to relax and unwind, thi is good spot.
M

Room Tip: The ocean view building number 3 is ideal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We deeply value your relationship with Sheraton Bijao and are committed to providing you with the highest level of service simply because our guests deserve the very best. Luis is an exceptional staff member; we will forward your comments to him as we normally do with all our staff members.

We look forward to having you back.

Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hello, i´ve traveled to this resort last year when it was called Breezes, I really enjoyed it then the food was outstanding everything about the resort was good.

This year i decided to go with my girlfriend, what a pity this resort is not very good anymore.

Lets start with the as soon as you arrive you have a person greet you they ask you to follow them that they would like to give you a welcome package from the hotel what A SCAM YOUR LED TO TRYING TO BEING SOLD ON TRAVEL PACKAGES.. I DIDN´T LIKE THE FACT That they told me it was welcome package... if they would of told me that i would of never gone..

The food was not very good anymore.. breakfast was the worse, so bad that i prefered to go elsewhere on checkout.

Need music in the pool or some sort of entertainment, lacking fun in this resort.

Anyways, really you need to ditch that aggresive group you have trying to sell travel packages in this resort i really disliked this, and i think most people do.. if you come to resort your comming to relax not to have people pressure you to buy something.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio S, Gerente at Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time and sharing with us your comments and suggestions. We understand your discontent for the inconveniences you had. Our food and beverage department is aware of your comments and have taken steps to ensure an appropriate solutions to what you have mentioned.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort

Address: Carretera Interamericana, Km 108, Guias de Anton, Santa Clara 0229-00140, Panama
Location: Panama > Panama Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Media 8, Inc., Expedia, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Bijao Beach Hotel Santa Clara
Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort Panama/Santa Clara

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sheraton Bijao Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.