We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual but Pleasant Experience - Recommended” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Last Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Last Resort to your Saves list
The Last Resort
27.877186, 85.892352 | Bhote Kosi River Gorge, Tatopani, Nepal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tatopani
malta
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Unusual but Pleasant Experience - Recommended”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were booked in this hotel just before crossing the border from Nepal To Tibet. Close to the border, access is across a bridge, high over the river. It was a pleasant surprise that the room was .... a tent. Beds were comfortable, clean and ok, and so were the showers and toilets (common). Tent closes well so there was no problem. The reception area includes a bar, and is a normal building (not tent).
The complex includes lots of adventure facilities/sports, including bungy, high ropes etc - even a sauna.
The buffet dinner was nothing special, but all in all, it is a good place to stay in, and I would definitely recommend the place for a peaceful, adventurous stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Last Resort N, Manager at The Last Resort, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Malta,

Warm greetings from The Last Resort.

Thank you for your nice review. Now the bar doesn't includes a reception any more. Sorry for not finding meals special. We will try out best to make it better. Of course, thank you very much for recommending us. Hope to see you again. :)

Kind Regards,
The Last Resort team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    43
    9
    6
    1
See reviews for
14
23
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I definitely recommend staying at The Last Resort, if you've got a couple more days in Nepal. I did the bungy jump and the swing, which were both amazing. Some had to wait for long, but with the views around, it's not too bad. We stayed for a night, the tents are comfortable, and the bar is a great place to hang out to meet other travelers. The food is okay. The pool is pretty disappointing as it is not really a pool, and I doubt if anyone uses it, but the massage place next to it is pretty good, and so is the massage. All in all, especially considering the price, I would definitely want to be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

Have been wanting to write about this place from long. We went to Last Resort this May for bungy, swinging and white-water river rafting.
From the onset, the people were cooperative. We managed all our bookings including accommodation at the resort through e-mails. They are quick and responsive.
We paid and collected our receipts from their booking office in Kathmandu. There is a pick-up from Kathmandu to the resort daily.
The resort is located in a beautiful place ! Its connected to the roads by a suspension bridge from where bungy and swing happens. We did bungy and swing back to back. The hike back is the difficult part. The jumps were well organized with instructions given.
Rooms are tents. They are comfortable and clean. Washrooms/toilets are common. Initially there was no water which created problems. However later on they arranged for it. They were decently maintained.
The only problem is very frequent power cuts which I guess is a problem across Nepal. But we were provided with solar powered torch lights.
Food was basic and could be better. It was not served very hot.
We went for white-water river rafting for 16+kms the next day. Its done with a tie-up with Ultimate Rivers. A pick-up was arranged from Last Resort. However that was terribly delayed resulting in us rafting during noon which was very hot.

Overall its a great place for adventure sports ! However be aware that they charge you as much the cost of bungy/swing for the picture and videos which is EXORBITANT ! U can do another round of jump for that money. But I guess for first timers like me, pictures/videos were important. If you are ok to not have them, avoid.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Last Resort N, Manager at The Last Resort, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you soo much for your review. We hoped we met your expectation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

Was planning to visit this place for long and finally made it there couple of days back.... The entry to the resort is through a bridge from where one jumps...its quite in your face and intimidating that u r to jump from there and it is quite high.... Anyhow after a briefing for bungy they divide people in different weight categories/groups and then the jumps start.... It's quite funny to see others waiting to jump all scared and sOme people do return back cos of fear of heights... The jump is really something that everyone needs to do.... But the swing looked more fun.. These guys do your video ad well bit one has to shell out 2000 NPR for tshirt and video .... There are lots of Other sports one could do.. So spending more time here is recommended.. Food, service, people, location, air, water...etc.. All jus brilliant an pure... Yes and remember to carry cash there as cards are not encouraged much.... Seriously thinking to visit again and stay longer...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ujjain, India
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

when i think abt this place, i can still feel that adrenaline rush of Bungy.... it was an amazing n life-time experience. i even luv the early morning trip to the resort, the bungy was amazing and so the scenary from the resort.

the staff was kind and the food served was tasty and hyegenic.

Room Tip: if you are a cleanliness freak like me then visit the place during non-rainy days and the place is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kathmandu, Nepal
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

I wrapped up a two month stay in Nepal with an overnight at The Last Resort. I traveled solo and was grateful to the kind staff who did their best to make me feel welcome and included during my stay there.

I always swore I'd never bungy but couldn't pass up the opportunity at The Last Resort. I loved it so much I went ahead and did the canyon swing as well! The jump master is well trained and helped talk me (and several others) through the terror that strikes just before the jump. I'd not have been able to do it without his encouragement.

The tents are awesome--and the walk to the toilets and showers is short.

Overall, I was incredibly impressed with everything about this little adventure getaway in Nepal.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We had been excited for several weeks about our trip to the last resort. The scenery is incredible although the hotel management is rather disorganised and expensive. We spent several hours waiting in the rain for the canyon swing (which was fantastic). On the second day we went canyoning although this only lasted 1.5 hours. Given that we had paid $150, I expected a bit more. Aside from the two activities that we did, there was a lot of sitting around and waiting. The infrastructure is great but I think organisation could be much better.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Last Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Last Resort

Address: 27.877186, 85.892352 | Bhote Kosi River Gorge, Tatopani, Nepal
Location: Nepal > Central Region > Bagmati Zone > Tatopani
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Tatopani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Last Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Last Hotel Dhulikhel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Last Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.