We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconsistent service, slow wi-fi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 20% thru 5/3!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Washington, DC
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Inconsistent service, slow wi-fi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I visited the Gaylord National for a business trip in April.

The rooms were nice enough. My atrium-view room was large and so was the bathroom. It was nice to have a balcony that overlooked the atrium area. The bed was mediocre at best. Also, there was only a shower; no bath tub.

While I would give a 4 rating for the physical amenities, the inconsistent service and super slow wi-fi bring it down to a rating of 3. Although I had a good experience with the front desk checking out and one good server in the hotel's sports bar, the other staff were slow or rude, particularly in the lobby bar. In addition, one morning I thought that there were loud kids running outside in the hallway, but they turned out to be housekeeping staff goofing off with each other. Separately, I was disappointed with the very slow wi-fi that reminded me of the days of dial-up.

As a Marriott Rewards Gold member, I did not receive any room upgrade or wi-fi upgrade.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    927
    513
    275
    196
See reviews for
481
302
116
1,707
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Linthicum Heights, Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Very nice hotel, quite large. Staff friendly and room clean and comfortable. There are places to eat and drink inside the hotel , but the area is also full of places to have lunch or dinner. I was there for a convention, but this would be a great place to just visit. Very near Washington DC and Alexandria if you wanted to visit those areas also

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Great hotel, especially when decorated for Christmas. Kind of far from attractions in Washington if that is what you are looking for but location on the river is fantastic and beautiful. We found eating in the hotel prohibitively expensive do do often but there is a store with groceries across the street.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, OH
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

If you want the best of both worlds of staying at a luxury resort that is a city within a city, while being a short distance from a large metropolis, this is the place for you! Exquisite, lush, all-encompassing are some of the best words to describe the Gaylord in National Harbor, MD. This is probably one of the nicest hotels I’ve had the pleasure of staying: you can venture out and explore DC, Virginia or Maryland, then return to dining, shopping or a relaxing room. The hotel is centrally located and is right off of a major expressway.

The rooms are large and comfortable. I had a view of the ferris wheel on the harbor which lit up in technicolor lights at night time to create the impression of a light show. My room was on the 11th floor which allowed for stunning views.

Although the bathroom did not have a tub, the marble shower had built-in seating and a large shower head. The shower and toilet shared a room where double sinks and mirrors occupied the outer room.

I visited the resort for a birthday get away and even though there were business related events ongoing, it did not alter the ambiance of the hotel; elevators or restaurants were never overcrowded.
My boyfriend and I dined at the Pienza Restaurant which we highly recommend. We only dined there during breakfast hours but they offered a phenomenal buffet. On the morning of my birthday, our waitress was Alicia. She provided exceptional service, even surprising me with a special tray of treats. She took her time with us, chatting and providing whatever we needed. She is tops in our book and we hope that you will be fortunate to be seated at one of her tables.

I recommend the hotel for a romantic getaway; it is perfect for an elegant dinner, intimate walks and a plush room.

Room Tip: High floor with views of ferris wheel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paris
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I was pleasantly surprised by the level of the accommodations here. Since we were staying for a volleyball tournament, I really was not expecting such a nice facility. Excellent customer service at every turn. The rooms felt new, clean and roomy. The common grounds were also quite spacious and well maintained. My only complaint would be that they were not equipped to handle the crowds at the basement Starbucks, ditto for some of the other food venues. Hope they can beef up the staff at the next tournament but I would definitely come back!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed here for a conference for a total of four nights. The room was comfortable enough but relatively standard for a "nice" hotel room. Nothing to write home about. I had one lumpy pillow amongst my pile of four and my roommate had a slightly mildewly smelling pillow amongst her pile. Did we complain? Nah -- there were plenty of other pillows to choose from but it did make an impression. We had a window overlooking a "landing pad" type area where they are planting grasses/flowers in the form of the Gaylord "G" - again, nothing to get worked up about but what was a major positive was the quiet. I slept great every night even though our floor was apparently full of other conference go-ers getting up early every morning -- I never heard a door slam or loud talking. Very nicely insulated. The conference area is beautiful and the folks in charge of the "security" at our conference were very nice. The desk people and the people that cleaned our room were super nice. The food service people were a bit surly and cleaned up way too early -- if you were a late straggler to the food line, beware. The conference area could certainly have used some general seating in the hallways and gathering areas - most of us ended up sitting on the floor if we needed to do anything outside the classroom. I didn't eat at any of the restaurants here mainly because my stop at the coffee shop involved standing in line for far too long and the conference provided most of our meals. I was happy with the food selection there though none of it was just crazy awesome stuff. I did not visit the pool as it was always full of kids. The fitness room was rather nice though - with some weights and plenty of dreadmills and elliptical machines. The atrium was beautiful and I loved riding in the glass elevators. The valet men were friendly and helpful as was the tour lady.

Our last day there, we decided to go into downtown DC -- apparently the shuttle driver decided to lose his job that day so he didn't show up for work. The tour lady scrambled to cover our ticket costs so we could get a ride into town with one of the cars that waits outside. This worked out even better for us - just a few dollars more and he dropped us off exactly where we wanted to go and even picked us up when we called. In my opinion, absolutely worth the few extra bucks.

There are plenty of restaurants and shops around the Gaylord within walking distance and after a visit downtown, I was happy to be back in the relatively adult setting of National Harbor without the hubbub of DC.

If you want to get out for a run, there is a bike/run path that starts down at the Harbor and runs over to Alexandria that is really nice and safe.

Would I stay here again? Well, I liked the conference so I suppose I would. Am I dying to stay in another Gaylord? Nope. Given that I spent nearly ALL day for three days inside the hotel, I was grateful that it was pretty, that my room was just a long walk and an elevator ride away, that the television has Netflix built in, that there was a fridge in the room. However, for me, mainly, a hotel is a place to lay my head at night and hopefully not get bed bugs... not a place for me to live and breathe.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bar Harbor
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

My wife had a conference here for three days, and we brought the kids with us. We had a wonderful time. This place is amazing...beautiful atrium with an awesome water fountain and the people are so nice and helpful. Luxury would be the correct word for any all aspect of this convention center.
National Harbor is just as beautiful as the Hotel. The kids loved the Ferris wheel.

Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > National Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Despegar.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.