We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book early and save 20%!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We went here on a recommendation from a friend. We loved it. Our group had four adults and five kids ages 3 thru 13 in three rooms. Our rooms were spotless and hospitality was very efficient. Check in was un-eventful, which is great! We went for DC touring and the shuttle service "chariots for hire" was very efficient and friendly. We loved the pool, the dancing fountain, the coffee, the breakfasts and the gorgeous atrium. Dinner at the sports bar was kid friendly and good food. Our stay was a little pricey but for what you get and the close proximity to DC for touring and short walking distance to the stores, restaurants and attractions at national harbor, it is satisfyingly worth it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolynor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Demarest, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed at the Gaylord while attending a business convention. The front desk staff could not have been nicer. They had room suggestions and even called our restaurant for us to advise them that we were running a bit behind schedule. The only thing that was a bit unusual was that, in a hotel of this size, there was not a restaurant opened for the full day. Since the location is Fabulous (right on the Potomac) with stores and restaurants galore within a couple of minutes walk, it did not prove to be much of a problem. Although we did not get to visit Washington, D.C we were told it was less than a 30 minute trip away. We plan on going back this fall just for a quick get-a-way.

Room Tip: Its a larger hotel than we are used to so just be aware the walk from the elevator may be longer tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
296 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This resort is very nice, but please don't get it confused with the Gaylord Opryland in Nashville. You will be very disappointed if you expect the same ambiance and beauty. You can definitely expect the high prices though. All in all it is a wonderful place for going to conferences, not family vacations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Royal5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and was very impressed. The facility is gigantic and that can be a little intimidating. However the staff is fantastic and very helpful. The facility is extremely well maintained and very impressive. The view from the atrium out to the Potomac is amazing

My wife used the pool and she was very impressed with that area. The only place we ate in the resort was the National Pastime which is a sports bar with good sports bar food. Prices are a little high but that was pretty much the case every where we went in that area. The coffee house on site was also acceptable..

We took the shuttle boat service to Alexandria and Mount Vernon. The trips are a little pricey and the staff on the trip to Alexandria a little unpleasant. Mount Vernon was well worth the price-a must see.

It's a little ways to DC so I wouldn't stay here if you plan to spend all your time there. However for the conference the resort was truly excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnysideDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

Second trip here for a convention.
You could not ask for more friendly accommodating people working at this hotel.
Tons of choices for non hotel eating and wandering. Close to all the sights you want to see in Washington.
Gym is open 24/7
Lovely location on the river.
Rooms are well kept, I have never had a room with a decent view here but you certainly could if it was important to you, lots of rooms face the river and overlook the glassed in hotel ameneties.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Gees
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel had everything! Bars, restaurants, Pastry shop, Convenience store. Checking in was easy even though it was a very busy time. Room was good. I got what I asked for. I had an amazing seventh floor room!! It was beautiful. My balcony overlooked the inside of the resort and I could look out the glass windows to the water. y favorite part was that we could walk across from the hotel and dine at some very good restaurants. Pricey but good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dapplelady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pros--convention setting so lots of choices for dining/shopping on site or just across the street(that's the best choice). Loved the rooms, comfortable in every way and plenty spacious. Set on the harbor the gardens around offer a great place to relax and enjoy the view.
For seeing DC I suggest you use their shuttle. Frequent departure/returns with drop off/pick up at Union Station(near the Capitol or the old post office midway down the Mall. Parking in DC is a mess and the police are very willing to get you for ANY little thing, they don't give warnings to lost tourists.
Cons--nothing substantial. Check in/out may take some time as it is a convention destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Harbor
AC Hotel National Harbor Washing...
#5 of 5 in National Harbor
4.0 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Old Town
Lorien Hotel and Spa, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > National Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing