We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for conferences” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Level Contributor
236 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great for conferences”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

This resort is very nice, but please don't get it confused with the Gaylord Opryland in Nashville. You will be very disappointed if you expect the same ambiance and beauty. You can definitely expect the high prices though. All in all it is a wonderful place for going to conferences, not family vacations.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,083 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,000
    1,035
    554
    286
    208
See reviews for
518
330
116
1,881
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (975)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yakima, Washington
Level Contributor
126 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

I stayed here for a conference and was very impressed. The facility is gigantic and that can be a little intimidating. However the staff is fantastic and very helpful. The facility is extremely well maintained and very impressive. The view from the atrium out to the Potomac is amazing

My wife used the pool and she was very impressed with that area. The only place we ate in the resort was the National Pastime which is a sports bar with good sports bar food. Prices are a little high but that was pretty much the case every where we went in that area. The coffee house on site was also acceptable..

We took the shuttle boat service to Alexandria and Mount Vernon. The trips are a little pricey and the staff on the trip to Alexandria a little unpleasant. Mount Vernon was well worth the price-a must see.

It's a little ways to DC so I wouldn't stay here if you plan to spend all your time there. However for the conference the resort was truly excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013 via mobile

Second trip here for a convention.
You could not ask for more friendly accommodating people working at this hotel.
Tons of choices for non hotel eating and wandering. Close to all the sights you want to see in Washington.
Gym is open 24/7
Lovely location on the river.
Rooms are well kept, I have never had a room with a decent view here but you certainly could if it was important to you, lots of rooms face the river and overlook the glassed in hotel ameneties.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oceanside, California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

This hotel had everything! Bars, restaurants, Pastry shop, Convenience store. Checking in was easy even though it was a very busy time. Room was good. I got what I asked for. I had an amazing seventh floor room!! It was beautiful. My balcony overlooked the inside of the resort and I could look out the glass windows to the water. y favorite part was that we could walk across from the hotel and dine at some very good restaurants. Pricey but good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleburne, Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Pros--convention setting so lots of choices for dining/shopping on site or just across the street(that's the best choice). Loved the rooms, comfortable in every way and plenty spacious. Set on the harbor the gardens around offer a great place to relax and enjoy the view.
For seeing DC I suggest you use their shuttle. Frequent departure/returns with drop off/pick up at Union Station(near the Capitol or the old post office midway down the Mall. Parking in DC is a mess and the police are very willing to get you for ANY little thing, they don't give warnings to lost tourists.
Cons--nothing substantial. Check in/out may take some time as it is a convention destination.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coppell, Texas
Level Contributor
216 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I stayed at the Gaylord at National Harbor in late May for work conference. The hotel is part of the National Harbor that includes multiple restaurants, hotels and shops. The location is south of Washington DC and across the river from Alexandria, VA. The hotel is very clean and is similar to other Gaylord properties in Dallas and Orlando. It is great for conferences due to having everything in one place. The room is very expensive for what you get. Plus, there is $15/day resort fee tacked onto the bill which I did not get what you paid for. Things are very expensive at the property primarily food and drink. You are paying for convenience. The location is about 15-20 minute cab ride from downtown DC. That is big negative.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
143 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

This is a review from the last two times I have been here combined because I was not on Trip Advisor two years ago... This place is pricey and if my conference was not here I definately couldn't go on my own dime.. I love the views and the Atrium. It was nice to feel like I was outside but not (and thank goodness because it was 100 degrees outside!) I love fountains and flowers so I could sit in the Atrium all day. The outside grounds were nice too. Our room was fine. Clean and cozy and quiet. The shower had great pressure- always a plus. The conference center was good. We ate elsewhere due to high prices inside.
The minuses this trip were: 1)I was told they needed my card for incidentals- that I wouldn't be charged unless I authorized it. I found out when my card was denied later that they had charged it. 8 days later my card was refunded- not cool when you are travelling that $200 was all of a sudden unavailable! 2)It costs alot to head to any DC sites- and they banned taxis from picking up patrons so they would take the Gaylord provided shuttels (which were almost double in cost!) we walked a block to get a taxi. 3) There were leaks and some places in the hotel including my co-worker's room! 4) Called for extra towels because we do not get our room cleaned while we stay and they only brought me one set that did not seem as clean as our original set- stained and scratchy.
The night before we were leaving DC had a huge water main break- fortunately our flight was at 2pm the next day but I was bummed they cancelled the last day of my conference. I guess they had to worry about toilets with the number of people we had but at 10:30am before we checked out I was still able to flush mine... Jus glad I didnt have to deal with looking for another hotel like some people.

Room Tip: If you are attending a conference make sure you ask for a room on the conference side. I didnt last...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Harbor
AC Hotel National Harbor Washing...
#5 of 5 in National Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Oxon Hill
3.0 of 5 stars 83 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > National Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.