We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Huge hotel across river from DC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Indialantic, Florida
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Huge hotel across river from DC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Second time here with a convention, three years apart. This place is beautiful. The only reason it does't get all top ratings is that, for me, it is too big. You have to walk a lot, and quite far, to get anywhere. There is a dock to a water taxi that goes to DC, fun, but a very long walk with lots of stairs to get to it. The fit people will enjoy this gorgeous property, others not so much.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,823 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    912
    927
    513
    275
    196
See reviews for
481
302
116
1,707
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (893)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed at a very nice place and we really enjoyed it. The place was so big it made us forget about everything at home. The pier was beautiful and the shops were very nice. Our stay was around the July 4th holiday. We went to D.C. on the 4th of July stayed the entire day and traveled back around 10:30 pm and if was very easy to get to and park. Parking was free in D.C. and GAYLORD. The breakfast buffet was very nice. July 5th there were fireworks better than in D.C. We definitely will travel back to this resort. The bed was so comfortable.

Room Tip: Get a balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

We enjoyed our stay here. Overall the place is very large - but despite other reviewer comments - we did not think it was that hard to move around and find where we wanted to be. In fact, the "grandiosity" made a nice adventure. Yes, the prices are crazy overpriced - but we expected that. The rooms are clean and very nice - not huge - but very comfortable. There are lots of dinner choices nearby, any of which were all very good. It's a great location for a convention - but not so much if you want to go somewhere off the property.

My only suggested improvement would be to have an outdoor pool - the indoor pool is nice for winter - but we would have enjoyed a nice outdoor pool better.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Indiana
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

I have stayed here several times for work and always enjoy it. The rooms are clean, comfortable, and beautiful. There are nice restaurants and shopping nearby. You can walk along the river or relax in the atrium. Prices in the hotel are expensive so we usually eat outside the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

This hotel is popular for the mega conference, as I stayed here with 5,000 others. The facility is well-equipped to handle the ebb and flow of participants, but that is one of the few positive highlights.

When I read that a conference is in Washington DC, I expected it to be in DC or at least close to a Metro stop. This is nowhere close to DC. From any airport, it is not possible to take public transportation, and you have to pay to take a shuttle, which ranges from $20-$60 each way, or over $80 for a taxi.

Once you arrive at the hotel, you are trapped in the National Harbor, which is basically a cluster of restaurants and shops all highly overpriced with terrible service. If you want to get into DC, you either take a taxi into Alexandria and take the metro in, or take the bus from the National Harbor to the Branch Street metro stop. Either way, it is a huge time suck, and will take about 2 hours. The Gaylord offered a shuttle that drops you off by the White House for $20, but it books up way in advance, especially at a conference of 5,000.

My organization had pre-paid the bill, yet the hotel kept trying to charge me for my room, and it took more than two days for the front desk to sort it out. The restaurants at the hotel are ridiculously over-priced; I paid $11 for a glass of wine that costs $12 by the bottle.

If you are stuck attending a conference here, the best thing you can do is take a water taxi or regular taxi to Old Town Alexandria. King Street is full of shops, restaurants, and museums. Since there is no character at the National Harbor, you will love being in Alexandria which is brimming with local flavor.

The only great thing about the Gaylord was the spa. Once you receive any service there, you get a day pass to use the hot tub, sauna, etc. It's a beautiful spa, and they often offer discounts to conference attendees. I was so happy with one of my services, I booked another.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia PA
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I travel to resorts/spas about 3 times a year. This was one of our least favorite visits ever! The room service menu is small and overpriced. Breakfast for 3 of us was $80.00!

The pool was only 3 and a half feet deep and 4 people in our group got immediately sick after swimming in the pool.

The running trail was blocked so you could only go about half a mile.
The people registering is were very nice but the place is too big and priced too high.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is our 2nd stay here. We enjoyed it. I was able to get a special rate via an email from the Gaylord. Even paying for one of their least expensive rooms with a view of the town, instead of the atrium, we felt pampered and special. The bed was super comfortable, the whole hotel super clean, and it's proximity to the harbor perfect. We took a water taxi to Alexandria for dinner one night, we walked around the town each evening, and enjoyed lunch there one day, too. The hotel is a city itself, really. We were on a working vacation, so took our computers to the atrium and had coffee while enjoying the sights and sounds. As you walk through the hotel, all the employees smile and say hello, the cleaning staff was especially nice.
We didn't eat in any of the restaurants inside the hotel during this stay, but did get breakfast fare at the little cafe downstairs.
FYI,there is a resort fee ($18 per night) and an overnight parking fee ($24 per night), so be prepared to pay more than just the standard room rate plus taxes that you get in most hotels. Even with the prices being a bit higher, I feel it's worth it for a special occasion. We will be back!

Room Tip: I prefer the atrium rooms with a balcony. I enjoy sitting on the balcony having my coffee/tea and r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > National Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Priceline so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.