We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel and Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
North Canton, Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel and Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

We stayed at the Gaylord for one night as a last minute add-on to our DC Spring Break trip. We managed to score a great rate on the Marriott website and was upgraded to a beautiful King room, Atrium view and balcony upon check-in. The view was phenomenal. The atrium was very noisy and this hotel is BIG so understand that this is not a cozy place. The atrium was even noisy late into the evening as there was a volleyball tournament in town and there were 100's of kids everywhere. But we closed the doors and curtains and had no problem falling asleep.


You can self-park here which means you do have access to your car if you need it - which we didn't for our short stay ... but at least you could run out to your car for something left behind, if needed.

Oh very important! The elevator banks are SLOW. With our Atrium upgrade we were put on the 2nd floor which I was initially upset about - but then quickly realized that all we had to do was use the escalator to get around - any unlucky person on the higher floors would have to wait an eternity to get anywhere. Ask for a low floor (on 2 if possible)

I thought the service at the Gaylord was awesome, the upgrade was nice and when I couldn't get directions off my IPad (the "complimentary WIFI is a joke).... they were nice enough to print directions for me.

The room was clean and well appointed - large enough for us - and really luxurious bathroom.


We had dinner at the sports bar, prices were average and service was good considering how big the place is and how many people were dining.

My daughter used the pool for about 45 minutes and there was some " health issue" that closed the pool down - which was sad but the staff said their only concern was the safety of the guests.

The Atrium and its shops are beautiful and fun to walk through.

The real gem is the National Harbor area where the hotel is located. There are great shops, restaurants and fun stuff to see. The views were stunning. I wish I lived there!

We hope to go back and will consider this hotel again if we can get that rate again.

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room on the lowest floor possible to avoid the elevators - and if you can get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    936
    523
    278
    197
See reviews for
484
307
116
1,728
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Spent the Easter Weekend at the Gaylord

From checking in and out the process was great. The rooms are clean and fresh.

Easter Brunch was to die for. If you visit or live in the DC area. Stay for a few days to experience class

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

What a nice hotel to spend a day at with points saver. Since this hotel just became a Marriott property, they are still working on what they can do extra for their platinum rewards members.

They did upgrade my room to an atrium view. The resort fee is lowered for platinum members but you have to ask.

Should at least give breakfast since there is no lounge.

But I do have to say that the management at this property was great. I mentioned my daughter's birthday and they sent up a surprise.

THANK YOU GAYLORD!!

Will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I stayed there 3/13 for a 3 nights for a conference. The hotel was fabulous and the staff was exceptional,, The room very clean, with a few minor issues. Light bulb burned out an not replaced,, very strange squeaky beds.
I had an atrium room with balcony and loved it,
The fountain was wonderful to watch as it put on a light and music show, and the live quartet below (with a fabulous female singer) in the atrium was lovely to listen to in evening.

Room Tip: the atrium is a $50 nightly upcharge, but I do believe was worth it,, I was on the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansdale, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Beautiful location and nice hotel for a conference but I would not choose it to stay at otherwise.My room looked out over a car park and so did those of every other conference attendee; I suppose they save the ones with a view for business or vacation travelers....Distance to my room from the lobby was an exercise event in itself and at checkout I waited more than 10 minutes for an elevator- it was 11am which is checkout time but this seemed ridiculous. Room itself was OK, very comfortable bed, clean, well decorated and well stocked (coffee maker, hairdryer etc) but the TV was temperamental . Also dont like hotel rooms without a tub though the shower was nice. Common space in the glass atrium was warm and inviting but the things in the gift shop are outrageously overpriced...think $5.99 for a magnum icecream on a stick. Easy to walk in the shop/restaurant area but not that many shops and again very pricey.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hockessin, Delaware
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

A short drive from DE for a quick get away to start our Spring Break... originally we were going to NYC but illness hit one of our children and we thought something more relaxing and less of a hectic pace was a better choice, so we landed here. All five of us (our three children 11, 15, 18) had a perfect time. Everyone was very nice, the hotel is exquisite and as relaxing as you want it to be. After checking in, we walked around National Harbor. It added to the trip! Great shops meeting everyones tastes. After we went to the pool and then ate at National Pastime. The meal was great and our waitress couldn't have been nicer! We also had breakfast in the hotel and enjoyed the buffet as well. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

From walking into this venue, you know you're at a convention hotel. It is very beautiful and service and staff are extremely helpful. The rooms are incredibly spacious and comfortable. The bathroom, although simple, felt luxurious - standup shower, but had a convenient bench. Double sink and granite countertop were nice touches. The property is HUGE though, and it was a 10 minute walk from the lobby to my room, including elevator waiting time.

I wouldn't stay here for leisure, simply because the location is a bit off the beaten path, but not a bad spot for a convention!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > National Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.