We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NIce Hotel and Conference Center” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Provo
Top Contributor
354 reviews 354 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 99 cities Reviews in 99 cities
139 helpful votes 139 helpful votes
“NIce Hotel and Conference Center”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Stayed here for a conference and was impressed with the size of the hotel and the incredible views. Overall, I thought it was a nice hotel and conference center. It was convenient to be able go downstairs to the conference center and have everything right there. I ordered room service one evening and the food was expensive but good. My only complaint was that the hotel was so big that my room was far away from elevators.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    919
    936
    523
    278
    197
See reviews for
484
307
116
1,728
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (905)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blaine, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We had a national conference held at the Gaylord National Resort in March. I must say it was a lovely hotel with breathtaking views of the National Harbor. The only small complaint I must air is that my resort fee was $18.00 a night while other guests were $15.00. My friends and I booked the rooms at the exact same time. The only answer I was given was it was a price hike. Still a beautiful room and nice location.

Room Tip: high floor very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missoula, Montana
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
75 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The facility is more like a beautiful castle, sprawling and so clean. Guest rooms are comfortable and spacious. Whether for business or pleasure, there is lots to do. I enjoyed the environment for a business meeting, but shopping is a quick walk from the hotel and access to National Airport (DCA) is easy and fast. Maintenance is spot on at the Gaylord. Nothing is out-of-place or needs repair. Everything is lovely to look at and reside in. The hotel is a pleasure to stay at and the harbor beauty adds a sense of rest and relaxation. The indoor pool is huge and offers life guard services. Spa services are also available at the complex. Guest services staff are exemplary - so friendly, positive and professional. The Gaylord at National Harbor is simply the best!

Room Tip: I liked the 9th floor to be close to the Pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, South Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
67 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I would easily consider this a 5-star property. It has everything. And why not? It's a massive, stupendous, complex!

I have been interested in overnighting here for several years, and my schedule and their good rate permitted me to do it this weekend. One night in Room 8-034.

Let me do the "bottom line" early on: A great place if you are on an expense account!

My excellent room rate was quickly offset by expensive restaurant tabs. You do have the option of going to the adjoinging complex of other restaurants and shops, but they all seem quite high. Let's face it, you are a "captive" here in this area. Wonderful, beautiful, but are you really going to get in your car and drive elsewhere?

I would NOT suggest this property for a "tourist family" trying to see Washington DC and environs.

The ideal, again, is a single traveler attending a convention on an expense account.

More comments? Big-ness! It is a long walk to the beautiful indoor pool. And apparently there are no locker-rooms for that pool or the fitness center. Who would design something that way?

The swimming pool is beautiful and inviting, and the hot tub is large. The fitness center seems well-equipped, but please, why not a good locker room with steam or saunas?

Oh well, it is a great place, and I have no problem in giving a 5-star rating. Just be sure you are on expense account! :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, PA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

I visited this hotel for a cheerleading competition with my daughter. I think it takes a lot of nerve for them to charge the "resort fee" on top of their already expensive room rates. When questioned, they said it was for the "free wifi" and 2 bottles of water in the room. So their explanation is that we're paying for free wifi. Which didn't even work down in the competition area. On what planet does this make sense?

While the venue for the competition was decent, and the rooms were clean and well maintained, I've never felt less welcome in a hotel. We called down soon after checking in and inquired about a late checkout. We were told no. Ok fine, at least we asked. A couple of hours later, we got an automated voicemail reminding us to check out by 11, no late checkouts. OK, message received. I woke up at o'dark-thirty to use the bathroom, and saw our final invoice slipped under the door. Man, they might as well have written get the heck out across the top.

Also, for a large event, this facility seemed woefully ill prepared to feed the masses of people. There were "grab and go" stations set up with kid friendly pizzas, chicken finger platters, salads, etc., but they kept running out of food. There was an overpriced buffet for breakfast which claimed to be open for dinner, but upon returning at 5:30 (sign said they would reopen at 5), the place was closed up. Why? Shoot, this property nickel and dimed for everything else, you'd think they'd grab the opportunity to feed thousands of people onsite. Poor planning? Completely ran out of food? Who knows. There were conference rooms reserved for the cheerleading teams to meet up before and after competing. A nice touch, but you know what would have been nicer? Those water dispensers every other room being refilled! You can't even provide kids with water when you have the dispensers right there? Especially when you kicked us out of our rooms at 11am, yet the event you're hosting is still going on at 8pm.

Next time our team attends this event, I won't be staying at the Gaylord. I'd rather drive over to Alexandria and find a nice room at half the price.

Room Tip: If you're attending a large event, you may want to request a room on one of the lower floors. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I was here for a conference. The surrounding area was nice; the hotel it self was nice. It was huge! My walk to the elevator every morning was a little long. The only negative aspect for me was the noise. I had a room facing the atrium, it was very pretty but a little noisy!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

The Gaylord National is the Nicest and cleanest of the Gaylord properties that have stayed. There is a great view of the Potomac River. It is bright inside. The marble floors are clean. The rooms are very nice. I attended a conference there. I did not give a 5 because they tried to charge me for extra resort fees for day before that I checked. So watch your bill. They did fix the bill immediately when I pointed this mistake out. The concerierge and doormen are extremely professional.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > National Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.