We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property but expensive” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center to your Saves list
Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Bristow, Virginia
Top Contributor
468 reviews 468 reviews
65 hotel reviews
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
“Nice property but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed here on a Saturday night, the end of January, for a work function with my husband's employer. The property is beautiful. The atrium that has a water fountain that goes off set to music (like the Bellagio in Las Vegas). The rooms are nice, the bathrooms very large with two sinks and a huge shower (no tub). The staff was friendly. Was a bit ignored in the valet parking when we checked in and had to get the attention of the bell staff to help us off-load. Decided on check out to do it ourselves. Once in the lobby we were asked by 5 different bellman if we needed help (sorry guys, you were too slow on check-out so you loose now). Front desk was quick on check-in. Some of the rooms have balconies that overlook the atrium. The room was $189 on a Saturday night plus valet. The bed was comfy but had the typical Marriott squishy pillows. They are now part of the Marriott chain (which the valet reminded us of upon checkout) so save your money and use points. Nice sports bar but expensive and service very slow! Went to the nightclub on the 18th floor that advertises great views. Views are so-so and the music was HORRIBLE or maybe we are too old. Left 5 minutes after arriving.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony that overlooks the atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,940 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    954
    969
    533
    281
    203
See reviews for
496
318
116
1,782
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (929)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clinton, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

This hotel is classy, new, and very nice. However, it is not close to much although it is lodged within a shopping center that has some stores. The area is not a tourist attraction but there are some things to do... The restaurants in the hotel are basic but there are other restaurants in the shopping center. They charge too much for there rooms. They would get more guests if they lower the hotel rates. The dance club is very nice but it is always empty because it is restricted to guests only. All rooms are modern as it is only three years old. The hotel is huge. Not much to do here but you can take taxis into DC for about $20 to $$30 per trip or a bus to the metro.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the harbor and rooms with balconies with a view of the skyline inside atrium.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guadalajara, Mexico
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

We were three days at the Gaylord Hotel because of a Bussiness Convention. It is a beautiful hotel, very spacious, well organized but service is not good. People were just doing their jobs, they looked tired, probably because it was a huge convention.
Food was OK, not fantastic. The SPA is really expensive, a hair style is $92 dlls, a massage $170 dlls.
Washington DC is far from the hotel, we did not find a subway station around and taxi charged $37 dlls to the City Mall.
There are good restaurants if you walk beside the Potomac river, it was a nice walk there.
If you are a Marriot Rewards Member, you can earn some points there. Just give your number at the front desk.

Room Tip: Ask for a window to the Potomac river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

I stayed at the Gaylord during the innaugural weekend and had a ball. This hotel is very nice and the staff was very friendly and accomodating. Even after giant mixup about the hold on the room. Turns out they were right and although I was annoyed, the desk person took the time to explain without giving me back the attitude I was giving him. I apologized when I realized my mistake but wanted to mention the professionalism displayed during the entire incident. Kudos to Gaylord for exemplary training.

The rooms were clean and spacious. I took another reviewer's advice about requesting a high room without a balcony because of noise issues, but was a bit jealous when I look up from the atrium and saw people enjoying coffee from their balcony. I think I would have endured a little noise for that pleasure. From the desk staff to the cleaning staff, I found this hotel to be fantastic. As another reviewer mentioned, it is a haul to DC so consider that in your decision to stay here, but that was the only negative aspect of this hotel I could find. Actually, no, I thought the resort fee a bit excessive.

Room Tip: High rooms are great. I would ask for a balcony facing the atrium just for the view of the harbor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Excellent hotel, very spacious and perfect frame for a big event. The National Harbor is very beautiful.
Is a bit far from Wasington DC (about 20 minutes) and a taxi to the Capitolio costs U.S. $ 40.00

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
53 hotel reviews
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We were attending a party at the Gaylord National with friends. Our room reservations were mixed up but they were able to fix it...sorta.
On Saturday we went for breakfast and met the chef... who showed us everything that was offered for the buffet. Told us to select anywhere to sit. Then the wait staff told us to move.
ha ha! Funny!
We did a late afteroon bite at the National Pastime cafe that was good.... before dressing for our big party.
Our maid service was perfect.
We love this place~
There was not a bill under our door for check out...that made me wonder what was happening.
Checked out at the desk. Then received 3 different serveys for the hotel...did I have 3 rooms?
Love the atrium view!
There are Executive suites with atrium view-they go quickly!
$22 a day to have your car sit in parking...or spend more for valet.
Jennifer and Russell went out of their way to help us.

Room Tip: There are Executive suites with atrium views-they go quickly! Ask for them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This hotel is truly grand in scale and beauty. The atrium is fabulous but there's not a lot going on inside the hotel (other than conferences - which is why I was there in the first place.) There are lots of restaurants and a bunch of little shops just outside the main entrance in the National Harbor area which is nice but they are very boutique-ish; just not enough to keep those of us who enjoy shopping for hours busy. The National Harbor area actually seems like a pretty nice (affluent?) part of town albeit quiet.

Rooms are pretty good. They look and feel like a Marriott; clean, comfortable, mini fridge is a plus. Not very resort-feeling. But, all in all a nice room. TV has HBO and about 20 or so other channels so there was a decent selection; plus there were $4.99 on demand movies which was great to help kill some time without breaking the bank.

Distance to the National Mall is 30+ minutes via combined taxi and Metro transit. I enjoyed my stay here but wouldn't stay again if it were on my dime. I'd want to be closer to the downtown action of D.C.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the water are $50+ per night as are rooms facing into the atrium. View of the National...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center

Address: 201 Waterfront St, Prince George’s County, National Harbor, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > National Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center 4*
Number of rooms: 2000
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly opened along the banks of the Potomac, the Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center is the newest monumental addition to the national capital region. With 2,000 luxurious guest rooms, including 110 lavish suites, and 470,000 square feet of meeting, convention and exhibition space, it’s the largest combined hotel and convention center on the Eastern Seaboard. Here, guests will also enjoy four signature restaurants, a 20,000-square-foot spa, the area’s hottest ultra lounge, elegant retail shops and a magnificent waterfront promenade boasting a full-service marina and views of nearby Washington D.C. and Old Town Alexandria, Virginia. Gaylord National will be the cornerstone of the highly anticipated National Harbor project, a 300-acre waterfront destination offering world-class dining, retail and entertainment venues in Prince Georges County, MD. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gaylord National Resort And Convention Center
Gaylord National Hotel Oxon Hill
Gaylord National Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Gaylord National Resort & Convention Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.