We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location for the Holidays!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harborfront Area

Harborfront Area
National Plaza, National Harbor, MD 20744
+1 301-203-4170
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Perched on the historic Potomac River, National Harbor is a unique, all-in-one destination and all-American tradition, offering unrivaled shopping, dining and attractions and a roster of year-round, family-friendly events. Featuring expansive views from the riverbank-and from 180 feet up on The Capital Wheel, the waterfront's newest iconic draw-National Harbor combines an approachable, resort-like personality with a singular, dynamic experience for local residents and visitors alike. Attractions include: The Capital Wheel The Awakening The Carousel Tanger Outlets Waterfront Dining Boat Cruises & Tours Kayak & Paddleboard Rentals Free Events & Entertainment
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Location for the Holidays!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

Close to Alexandria and DC. Lots of holiday festivities like:

Daily Tree Lighting
Fireworks on Friday and Saturday
Ugly Christmas Sweater Run
ICE at the Gaylord
and much, much, more!

You can walk everywhere and have a variety of restaurants to choose from.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

885 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    376
    306
    127
    52
    24
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sterling, Virginia
1 review
“Gaylord National and ICE! are spectacular..."Ice Skating" isn't”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

Gaylord National has to be one of the nicest hotels I have ever seen! I also really liked the ICE! exhibit. It is only 9 degrees in the building where they have ICE! You can slide down ice slides and see ice sculptures themed to 'twas the night before Christmas, New York, and the Nativity scene.

However, one really bad thing about National Harbor is that the "ice skating" sucks. It isn't really ice you skate on, just plastic, making it impossible to skate on with ice skates. The rink is also very small. They could at least advertise it as a roller skating rink and give you roller skates, but no, they pretend that it is ice skating. It is a complete rip-off. Whatever you do, DO NOT GO TO THE "ICE SKATING" RINK!!!!

Other than the fake ice skating, this is a really nice place to visit though, especially Gaylord National and the ICE! exhibit there.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ellicott City, Maryland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Fun Year Around!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

We love going to National Harbor. It is far enough from DC to have its own personality, yet is close enough to get to the city in 10 minutes. There are wonderful restaurants and shopping available in the area. The Tanger Outlets has just opened and the National Children's Museum just had its first year anniversary. We also always make a point of going down to the water and seeing "The Awakening" sculpture of a bearded giant clawing its way out of the earth-- way cool! The kids love to climb on it. And the shopping... awesome! We love to try all the samples at Stonewall Kitchen and look forward to shopping at Charming Charlies and Artcraft and The Peeps Store. For lunch and dinner, you can't go wrong at Cadillac Ranch (you can ride the mechanical bull!), McLoone's Pier House, or McCormick's and Schmicks. Don't leave the area without sneaking a peak at the first floor of The Gaylord. Pretty spectacular glass atrium and luxury gardens. Lots of parking garages available. Enjoy your day at National Harbor!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great for families and singles alike.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The night we went it was really cold so I didnt get to see everything I wanted too. There were so many placed to eat thet we couldnt not agree on one place so we decided to eat at the first place we came to nest which turned out to be a Portbelly. Service was good. Food was tastey. Topped off the night with a trip to Cake Love. The highlight of our evening was posing for pictures in front of the giant sculpture. The kids were both terrified and fascinated atthe same time. Cant wait to go back now that the outlet has opened.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waldorf, Maryland, United States
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“The Harbor Has it All!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The National Harbor is a city within a city. It's bustling with activity year round! The restaurants are all great! Grace's and Rosa Mexicano are my favorites. There are some restaurants off the main road that are also good quality and good value. Parking can be a bit pricey, but it is well worth the trip. During this holiday season, the Gaylord is a must see. There are choirs that perform, light shows, and just wonderful holiday fun. Tanger has now opened an outlet at the top of the hill. This causes a bit more traffic, but for those who like shopping, National Harbor now has it all!! The outlets offer discount shopping for great items such as Coach and Michael Kors!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harborfront Area also viewed

 
National Harbor, MD
 

Been to Harborfront Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harborfront Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.