We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful resort...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor to your Saves list
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor
3.5 of 5 Condominium   |   250 Mariner Passage, National Harbor, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
bucks co., pa
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“What a beautiful resort...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2010

Beat the snow down from PA on our way to the National Harbor. I want to commend Nelson with whom I spoke the night before the storm and on the morning of our departure. Excellent directions to the place. We reserved the 2-bedroom Presidential suite on the top floor: enjoyed the beautiful view. The suite contained a king sized bed in the master bedroom, flat screen TV, enough closet and drawer space, huge walk-in shower, private toilet area and sink, along with plenty of towels and all the SPA products. The 2nd bedroom contained two double beds, its own bathroom o/s the room. In the living room were a sofa, loveseat, wing chair, flat screen TV, DVD player, radio/CD player. Spacious kitchen with all utensils for cooking and eating, beautiful granite countertops as well. We were in the indoor pool and hot tub each day of our stay and enjoyed it tremendously. Unfortunately, it was bitter cold so we did not venture far away from the property for meals: ate dinner at McCormick & Schmick, the Pier House and had a late lunch at Potbelly's. On Monday night, DC Trails motorcoach picked us up for the Washington Evening Lights Tour where we had ample time to see the Christmas Tree, the Christmas Trees of the 50 States, Santa's Workshop, and the Nativity Scene. Next we went to the Washington Monument, WWII monument, Jefferson Memorial, Lincoln Memorial, Korean Memorial, Vietnam Vets Memorial, and finally to Iwo Jimo. At each location we were given plenty of time to view the Memorials and take pictures. Again, due to the bitter cold, we did not stay too long at any place.
I would recommend this resort to couples and to families because of the beauty of the location, the friendliness of the staff and the great number of activities available. We are planning to go in the late Spring when things warm up a bit.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

390 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    155
    52
    22
    13
See reviews for
201
87
8
20
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reno, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2010

We stayed in a 2 BR suite for 4 nights w/another couple. Room was at far end of hall, which required a walk of several minutes. Suite was clean & comfortable, stocked as you'd expect. Staff? We asked for no service, received none. Location was the sole problem. Nothing happening in the surrounding National Harbor neighborhood. $50 + tip to take a limo into DC (30 mins by car) or you could take a bus/shuttle to subway station for the cost of over $10 per adult to get into DC at non-peak travel times. (That's why we chose the limo--$44+ plus hassle plus 40 minutes time for 4 subway fares or a door-to-door car ride.) Few restaurant choices, but what was open at National Harbor stopped serving food by 10pm on weeknights. Mostly chain restaurants--a dueling piano place, a fancy Asian place, hotel coffee shops & like that. No restaurant at The Wyndham. Shopping in Natl Harbor was exceedingly limited. We went mostly to see DC museums & friends didn't want us to rent a car because Wyndham parking cost $17/day. I'd have paid twice that to have access to a car if forced to stay that far away from DC ever again. Maybe in 5 years this will be developed & leased, but for now? Too far out, too quiet & too dull for those with a pulse. If you're going to DC to sightsee & tour museums, get a room in DC or don't bother going unless you want to spend a silly amount of time & money for local transportation.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

Very nice, clean hotel. Staff was awsome. Rooms were very nice. We had a two bedroom condo and it made traveling with parents easy.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

I'm an owner at Wyndham National Harbor and decided to celebrate by b-day weekend there. I got a 3 bedrm Presidential Suite which was so beautiful. The floor plan was so open and furniture was immaculate. I also had a good view from the 5th floor. (507) Other restaurants, bars, and retail are on the grounds as well as Disney and Children's Nat Musuem opening in the future.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toms River, NJ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2010

The newest Wyndham timeshare property in National Harbor Maryland is absolutely gorgeous. While I would have liked an easier way to get into DC, the close proximity of the bus to the metro was fine. I traveled with my 12 year old grandchildren so had a two bedroom unit. Nicely appointed with a flat screen tv in each bedroom and the living room. Kitchen lovely with a smooth cooktop stove and built in microwave. Appliances are black and the countertops are beautiful. Dining table will easily seat 6-8 people and a breakfast bar/counter with two high stools. There isn't a washer/driver in the unit, but each floor has a free laundry room. Staff is very professional and helpful. Nice pool and hot tub. There is an arcade room and a room to play Wii, as well as a computer room. The surrounding area has shopping/restaurants galore. There is also a harbor (hence the name) within a short walk. The only 'complaint' I have is that there is no on site free parking. I self-parked across the street at $11/day. Valet is available for $20/day. Didn't use it since I was not going to drive into DC. Would like to see Wyndham change this especially for VIP Gold members and above.

  • Stayed November 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2010

I used valet parking and my keys and car ended up missing along with two other owners. We all trusted Wyndham valet service with our cars and somehow our keys were taken from a keybox that was not broken into. So how did they end of missing with no one having any idea of what happened or when. It also seems as though there is not a camera on the lock box and the camera's in the garage are not clear enough to have seen who took the vehicles either.

Other than that I was having a great time at the resort. The room was nice and clean. There was plenty of room and a great view. If the issue of my car had not come up I would not have had any issue in coming back. Now I will have to consider if I want to dry or take Amtrak into town. The parking should be included if you are an honor though. $17 for valet and $11 for self-parking but it changes and adds up each time you leave on your own and come back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rexford, New York
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2010

We arrived late evening and after check-in we just wanted to go to our room. Walked by the customer service desk for timeshare owners on the way to the elevator and was stopped by a salesperson. He proceeded to go on and on about a timeshare owner's meeting they wanted us to attend. We politely listened and responded that we would get back to them since we didn't know our schedule yet. Guess that wasn't the answer he wanted. Another 10-15 minutes of going on and on just for us to give him the same answer. It was inconsiderate seeing as it was late in the evening and we just arrived. We get to our room and we had a view of the AC units (not the best but we can deal with it). I noticed ants in the kitchen right away (our room was on the third floor), gum stuck to the living room chair and baby spit up on the other chair. I went to the front desk and explained the issues and asked for another room. After going to a back office, she came back explaining they were at full capacity and they would send up a housekeeper to address the issues. I asked if a room was available the next day, she looked at the manager and said no. The housekeeper did come shortly after to clean up the gum and removed the back cushion with the baby spit up.

The next morning beginning at 8am we received 3 sales calls over the next 2 hours asking if we would be attending the owner's meeting. We gave them the same answer as the night before - we would let them know! They offered an American Express gift card if we chose to attend. However the dollar value kept changing. First, it was $100, the next call it was $50 and the third call was $75. Not only we the phone calls annoying they didn't have their facts straight!

Needless to say, each time we left the resort and returned we used a side door to avoid the sales people. It left a very bad impression and we never attended the meeting.

The off-site parking and related fees were ridiculous. For the amount of money paid to stay there, parking should be included.

We did enjoy the area - lots of restaurants and shops in walking distance. For a great lunch, try Potbellies Sandwich! There is a long wait for dinner at several restaurants, advise making reservations.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor

Address: 250 Mariner Passage, National Harbor, MD 20745
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Maryland > National Harbor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in National Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor 3.5*
Number of rooms: 250
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FIVE-TIME WINNER OF THE CERTIFICATE OF EXCELLENCE! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com and Priceline so you can book your Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wyndham Vacation Resorts At National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.