We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, Solid Dorm Room” 3 of 5 stars
Review of AC Hotel Washington, DC at National Harbor

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added AC Hotel Washington, DC at National Harbor to your Saves list
AC Hotel Washington, DC at National Harbor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   156 Waterfront Street, National Harbor, MD 20745 (Formerly aloft Washington National Harbor)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good, Solid Dorm Room”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This new arrival by the Marriott chain into the National Harbor area is a good solid deal. It is a bit different from our expectations and is far more European than most hotels in our area. That is not a bad thing, only setting expectations. Very minimalistic rooms with amazingly little storage and very strange closet configuration. Still, it was comfortable and affordable, which is what a hotel room needs to be.

We were told that Marriott opened this AC just about a month ago (formerly the Aloft). I found it operated smoothly for the most part. My only criticism other than the lack of storage space in the rooms, is the bar. It was barely stocked except for making its own concoctions. Staff at the bar was hit or miss. The front desk staff was very helpful and friendly.

The breakfast for 15.00 may be the best buy in the area. Very fresh and well stocked although the selection was limited by American standards. No soggy scrambled eggs but lots of cold meats, cheese, quiche and beautiful fresh fruits and pastries. Personally, that is a big plus in my mind.

It is different than a local Holiday Inn, or even the Residence Inn down the street, but it was fun and a fair value. I found it to be a better value than the Marriott Gaylord and likely more enjoyable. One note, they participate in Marriott rewards, but they do not offer special amenities for Platinum members. Enjoy it for what it is and you will like it.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    3
    8
    1
    2
See reviews for
2
7
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Baldwin, New York
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: The hotel is wedged in the heart of the harbour. My room was located across from main entrance to activities. I loved the view. The fitness room is very nice. Modern machines and nice weights. The employees were very friendly and accommodating. The mattress was very comfortable.
Cons: only hotel parking is valet and that is$35 a day. Only self parking is a block away and its$16 a day. If you go in and out you pay,$16 every time. No room service, no vending machines or ice on floors, no hotel restaurant. Just European buffet for breakfast. Not much., check-in desk is on 2nd floor. Another elevator to go to your room all to find a dimly lit hallway with industrial carpet., No kleenex n rooms. Must use toilet tissue. Coffee maker is on a nice shelf with no outlet , so I had to put it on the sink counter. One day they forgot to leave coffee or cups and I was stressed to wake up with no coffee. Floors in room are bare. No carpet. Rooms are very small. I didn't like the room at all. Drab color taupe.
I just expected more from mariott hotels and$400 a night.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is ideally located right in the center of the National Harbor complex, right on Waterfront Drive. The National Harbor complex has lots of restaurants, bars and tourist type shopping.

The AC is a boutique hotel, smaller property and smaller rooms. Our room had no closet and only two small drawers. The size of the room is fine for an overnight, but would be tight for anything more than a couple of days. The view from our room was less than desirable and of the lower roof's physical plant. There is no hotel parking, but they do offer valet parking in one of the many parking garages in the National Harbor complex. All of the garages are within a short walking distance to the hotel.

The décor of the hotel was chic modern. There is a small hotel bar in the second floor lobby and a dining area that serves a breakfast (not complimentary) and hosts an evening reception.

All in all the hotel was OK, but not nearly worth the $300+ per night price tag, regardless of the great location and the summer weekend stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the harbor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not clean - the bathroom shower actually appeared to be old, like it had sat in a storeroom or on the back of a truck for too long. The bathroom floor had not, not, NOT been properly (if at all) cleaned by housekeeping. In the hallway, housekeeping left their supplies directly in the middle, causing you to have to squeeze by filthy mops, etc.

Exercise room - the water didn't work, the TV hookup to the elliptical machine didn't work and it seemed to be uncomfortably hot & humid.

Nothing in the room to familiarize you with the area or hotel. Front desk advised they had nothing in writing...I guess they just rely on you checking things out yourself online.

A trendy hotel, but definitely NOT a hotel for a middle-aged traveler hoping for something that might be, maybe, a bit upscale.

To their credit, I left without staying the night and was not charged...luckily, I lived within driving distance, although I had hoped not to have to drive home that evening after a busy day in the Washington metropolitan area.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I am a platinum Marriott member and have never been so disappointed with a hotel stay. First off the address listed was not found by the GPS and calls to the hotel to get the address went unanswered over and over. Saying the hotel is in Washington DC is false. It is in Maryland and a bear to find even with the GPS because of new roads. Front desk staff at check in were cold and unwelcoming. There is no restaurant in the hotel but you can get small plates at the bar which are either cold or microwaved and are very expensive. One bright spot was the bartender who was very friendly and helpful. The rooms are weird vs. the trendy look that was tried for. The door opens into the bathroom and an open closet. The actual bed part of the room is nice with a couch and a comfortable bed but over looked the rooftop and a parking garage. It was a horrible night trying to sleep with the rooftop equipment grinding all night. In the morning a man was on the roof repairing the equipment. Upon checking out, the desk staff asked how our stay was and when I told him about the sleepless night he just moved on to something else like I wasn't even there. Also calls to the valet to get our car went unanswered many times and parking was high at $35.. Will never stay here again due to the service and also that it is NOT a DC hotel - not convenient at all.

Room Tip: Highest floor possible to be removed from the 2nd floor AC equipment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesapeake, VA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is nice and the staff was professional. Nothing really stood out as outstanding...To get to the front desk of the hotel, you have to walk into the main lobby and go upstairs. In my party, I had someone who was handicapped and the elevator was down most of the weekend. It was a bit of an inconvenience to get in and out of the hotel each time. If you have a wheelchair, forget it! The garage parking was a hassle...it's not connected to the hotel. But I must say that there's a lot to do in the National Harbor (concerts, shows, movies, shopping, eateries, Ferris wheel, casino coming soon). Beautiful views.

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowie, Maryland
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We are gold Marriott members and vacation club owners. We saw Marriott's advertisement on Internet to explore their brand new AC Hotel, in National Harbor, MD; so, we did. We were NOT WOWED or IMPRESSED, just IGNORED. Indifferent treatment, no response to our queries and ignored. We determined front desk attendant did not represent Marriott in a friendly manner. We phoned Marriott Rewards Tel. # for gold members, made a reservation at Marriott Tyson's Corners, and gladly left that AC hotel vowing never to return. Gaylord National is 200 times better than this AC property, which by the way isn't NEW. A manager and a security guard appeared and circled us. We repeat, we are gold Marriott reward members and vacation club owners. Caveat to front desk, be kind and friendly to everyone because the next person you are indifferent to just may be BOSS of Marriott.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to AC Hotel Washington, DC at National Harbor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AC Hotel Washington, DC at National Harbor

Address: 156 Waterfront Street, National Harbor, MD 20745 (Formerly aloft Washington National Harbor)
Location: United States > Maryland > National Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — AC Hotel Washington, DC at National Harbor 3*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Brand new hotel which recently opened in April 2015! Feel the urban vibe at the AC Hotel Washington, DC at National Harbor. Experience this design-led hotel that effortlessly blends contemporary style with cosmopolitan sophistication. Unwind in the distinctive waterfront setting of National Harbor. Relax in one of 192 sleek guest rooms. Indulge in our innovative beverage and food offerings served in the center of the hotel experience - the AC Lounge. Enjoy a fresh European-influenced breakfast in the morning and a hip bar serving great cocktails and globally inspired small plates in the evening. Keep fit in our 24/7 fitness room or stock up on unique local items from the AC Store. Meeting spaces provide 3,700 square feet of space, integrated technologies, collaborative layouts and ergonomic seating. Plus, we offer unique outdoor event venues, some overlooking the Potomac River. The AC Hotel Washington, DC at National Harbor is situated on the Potomac River, just minutes from Washington, DC and Alexandria, VA. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your AC Hotel Washington, DC at National Harbor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aloft Washington National Harbor Hotel Oxon Hill
Aloft Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage AC Hotel Washington, DC at National Harbor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.