We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great National Harbor Location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn National Harbor Washington

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn National Harbor Washington to your Saves list
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay 2+ Nights & Save 15%
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Inman, South Carolina
Level Contributor
87 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great National Harbor Location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Just spent two days in National Harbor and enjoyed staying at this hotel. The hotel is convenient to all the local shops and restaurants. Checking in was easy and the desk personnel were welcoming. The room was comfortable and we had a nice view of the harbor. Everything was spotless and all the employees we encountered were very helpful. This is a great place to stay while in the DC area.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a harbor view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsTeam, Manager at Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear guest,

We are glad you had an enjoyable time in National Harbor and thank you for the opportunity to provide you with a perfect stay. We look forward to your return!

Warm regards,

The Residence Inn National Harbor Leadership team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    98
    15
    13
    9
See reviews for
68
39
21
116
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore
Level Contributor
57 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

We got to the Residence Inn at about 9pm on a Saturday with my three young children. When I got there, I asked that the crib -- which I clearly put on my reservation -- be brought to my room. But the front desk said they didn't have any cribs. I was furious since it was late, and I had specifically requested a crib... I just needed an email/phone call ahead of time that there weren't any, and I would have brought a pack and play. The only other option was to put my 2-year old on a cot, but the Residence Inn said this was not allowed since it was a fire hazard. I knew if my daughter was in bed with us, no one would sleep so it wasn't worth it.

The staff at the Residence Inn was totally unsympathetic and didn't offer any advice. I had to cancel the reservation and call around to find another place to stay. I called Aloft, but for some reason even putting a crib in a room with two beds was a fire hazard, which seems ridiculous considering most families have two children. Finally, we got a room at the Westin which was more expensive and didn't include breakfast. Very disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsTeam, Manager at Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience regarding your request for a crib. Although we make best attempt to honor all of our guest's requests there are times in which in house guests currently utilizing cribs need to extend additional nights which limits our ability to provide this amenity. Similar to the Aloft hotel, the reason we do not offer and are unable to place roll-away beds in our guests rooms to avoid a potential fire hazard.

Once again our sincere apologies for your experience, and we hope that when your future travels bring you to National Harbor you consider our hotel.

Warm regards,

The Residence Inn National Harbor Leadership team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level Contributor
173 reviews
111 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

The main points: our room (1 bedroom suite) was clean and comfy. The breakfast seemed to be a step up from normal hotel breakfasts, which was nice. And free weights in the workout room is a great touch!

A few things: We asked for a late checkout, and "No, we can't do that." OK... Since our room had a box of tissues with the end-of-box tissues (you know, the off-white ones), and we didn't have the usual extra, we asked and "We don't have any here, but we'll make sure they put some in there today!" (we were checking out). We had phone chargers but many of the outlets were loose enough that they literally would slip out and quit charging. Parking is across the street in a garage - pretty easy unless the elevator is out. "Yeah, we know - someone is supposed to look at it today." Here's a suggestion - put signs on the door? And, "Is there a coffee shop open now?" "Oh yeah, {name}, it's on American Way." "Where is that?" "American Way." Sorry, we're not from here, so you should give directions. We found it and it had closed 2 hours ago. No receipt under the door: do they usually? "Yeah, we didn't have anyone last night who could do it." And finally, the Internet seems to be based in the center of the building as ours was very slow and we heard someone else a the desk with the same complaint, in a corner room.

It was unusual to really feel like you were bothering folks at the desk with your questions. And to be fair, you can't blame them for each of these individual things, and the little things do add up ... but it sure seemed like the staff could step it up a notch.

Would we stay again? Since there are 5 or so pretty nice places right there, I would shop around for prices next time.

Room Tip: Internet seems to work better in some rooms - my guess is rooms toward the center of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OperationsTeam, Manager at Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you so much for your positive feedback in regards to your suite as well as the breakfast!

Please accept our sincere apologies for the service that was provided throughout your stay. Please know this is not the norm for our team and your feedback will be shared with our staff so we can ensure this does not happen in the future.

We certainly hope that if your future travels bring to the National Harbor area, you will consider our hotel.

Warm regards,

The Residence Inn National Harbor team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, NC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here as it had the best rate of the hotels in National Harbor and was convenient to a family event being held at a nearby hotel.

The hotel itself is a clean, new Residence Inn. I was upgraded to a view room (the view was of the Gaylord Hotel across the street). The non-view rooms look out at the parking deck behind the building. The rooms were very clean and comfortable and well set up if you were sticking around for a few days. I wasn't that hungry at breakfast, but it appeared to be a typical Residence Inn breakfast.

As a whole, I'm no fan of National Harbor as a destination. But, if you are going to be there for a few days, this hotel is worth considering. It is clean, convenient and quiet--it has a no partying policy.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Potomac have a decent view (two per floor). The other ones, less so. Also, a high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Busan, South Korea
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

As a hotel, it is a perfectly passable one...that's about it. The service is ok, the access is ok, even the included breakfast is ok...powdered eggs and all.

What really made this hotel stand out in a bad way was the room itself. The furnishings were mediocre at best and the living room chair was even ripped. For the price you pay, you should also get a decent TV. They only provide a 30-odd inch TV and the reception is abysmal. The towels were not always clean and clean-smelling...to me, these are the core of a hotel's business and I wouldn't be surprised to learn that in the near future this hotel lost business, especially when the Gaylord National is just across the street. Overall, just an average hotel made even worse by the substandard accomodations.

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel if at all possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pa
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel is in a great location for visiting DC. There is a free shuttle to the metro train which will take you to all the sites. You can take a water taxi to Alexandria which is very charming. You also get a great free breakfast every morning. The staff was very helpful & the hotel was very clean. Enjoy!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

I have stayed in the DC area many times and this is by far my favorite hotel. We checked in late around midnight, the hotel was not busy so they gave us a complimentary upgrade. You need your hotel room key to get in after a certain time and whenever you use the elevator, even though it's a beautiful area it made me feel even safer. The hotel had a nice clean scent rather than a standard hotel smell so walking off the elevator onto our floor was a pleasure. Breakfast was included which was a nice hot assortmant and everything was delicous (including the cooffe & I'm a bit of a coffee snob). One of the best extras is the fact that parking is $13/day for the garage accross the street, you just need your room key and you can go in and out as many times as you like, although this is a great location so you really don't need to drive anywhere unless you are headed out of the Harbor. Our room was beautiful and so was our view. All the staff was friendly and attentive!! We had our do not disturb hanging on the door so housekeeping hung a bag of fresh towels on the door for us! We didn't use it but, the full kitchen is great along with all of it's amenities (fridge, microwave, dishwasher, plenty of dishes, silverwear and cookwear). I will definately stay here on all my future trips to the area!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near National Harbor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
AC Hotel National Harbor Washing...
#5 of 5 in National Harbor
3.5 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Comfort Inn
#1 of 3 in Oxon Hill
3.0 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Old Town
Monaco Alexandria, a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence Inn National Harbor Washington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn National Harbor Washington

Address: 192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > National Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn National Harbor Washington 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz and Odigeo so you can book your Residence Inn National Harbor Washington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, Dc Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.