We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for business” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC to your Saves list
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, MD 20745   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15% This Summer!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Nice for business”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Great little hotel across just opposite the Gaylord, right next to restaurant district so the location is really good. Clean, comfortable suites and service was fine. Great alternative to Gaylord if you detest walking a mile to your room from the lobby.

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    92
    14
    12
    9
See reviews for
66
38
20
108
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brunswick, Maryland
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Had to find an alternative to the Hampton so spent night 2 of time at National Harbor here. Chose because they did not charge the per person resort fee like the Gaylord. Great location, outstanding staff. Rooms had only partial view of any water (mostly just buildings) so don't pay the extra like me for an end room, not really worth it. Clean and restful sleep. Overall a great time!

Room Tip: If you do book a suite on the water side go 5th floor or higher. 4th floor and below blocked by buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

We stayed at the Residence Inn National Harbor in February for a convention. It was wonderful. We had a one king bed room that was large and well laid out. Even the sofa bed was really comfortable (which was a nice surprise because many times they aren't). The wonderful staff was able to check us in early and made sure that we had extra bedding and even gave us an extra comforter to make the sofa bed even more comfy. Having the refrigerator for leftovers and snacks was very handy.

The breakfast was a hot breakfast (eggs, biscuits and gravy, potatoes, etc.) and it was a nice surprise and delicious. Perfect way to start the day!

This is a wonderful property and I will definitely stay there again when I am in National Harbor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
College Park, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

This is a wonderful hotel. We checked-in for a "staycation" and it was such a awesome experience.The staff was very nice and the room was very spacious. We eally had a good time and we are looking forward to booking more "staycations"at this property.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
155 reviews 155 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Althought the overall stay at this property was excellent including the room, which as is the case with every Residence Inn is a mini suite configuration, and the included hot breakfast buffet, we chose the hotel based on the presence of a hot tub at the facility. However, after we checked in and visited the hot tub/pool area we were informed the hot tub was malfunctioning and was not available for use. We understand this is an unforeseen problem but it did put a damper on an otherwise pleasant stay. I've had recent back surgery and use hot tubs as part of my continuing recovery therapy, so needless to say I did miss, although just one day of it, a day of therapy. Outside of that issue, the hotel itself is clean, comfortable and quiet. It's also a good opportunity to try out a memory foam mattress for those of us who might be in the market for a new mattress at some point. Probably the best part of the stay is the hot breakfast buffet. It was by far the tastiest, hottest, freshest meal we had anywhere at National Harbor, and we didn't even have to pay extra for it. But finally, as is the case with every business at National Harbor, it is quite obvious that they are being "subsidized" by the National Harbor community management orgainization, and ultimately the government, to assure the area's survival. The end result is that service is just ok as they know that it frankly doesn't matter whether or not good service is provided because the money will still keep coming in regardless.

Room Tip: Get a room facing the Gaylord and you'll have a view of the river as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

I always try to stay at Marriott properties because I like their beds, plus they are consistently good. I stayed two nights here recently. There were four of us: two parents and two children. The hotel is conveniently located at National Harbor. It was pretty cold, so I didn't really get a chance to go around to the various places.

The room was fairly roomy. It was extremely clean. When checking in, I had to sign a "no party" agreement. Apparently, there's been trouble with large groups in rooms. I have no problem with this type of agreement.

The only trouble during the visit was the first night. There were only king-sized beds with pullout coaches. My son and I were going to sleep on the coach, while my wife and daughter got the bed. The problem was the mattress on the coach was very thin, plus when it was pulled out, the head of the bed was a good six inches higher that the foot. It made sleeping very uncomfortable. We called the manager, and he made arrangements for us to go to another room. In fact, because of the inconvenience, we were given an upgrade.

We had another problem in checking out. Again, the same manager took charge of the problem.

The food was good. It was better than the usual Residence Inn.

Again, we enjoyed everything about our stay. It's a classy place with a great staff and a great location. We have all ready made plans to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Spent a few days at National Harbor for a pleasant family get away before the influx of Inauguaral attendees arrived.

It was great to find that the National Harbor hotels had rooms available so close to the MLK weekend. We decided to stay at the Residence Inn which a 5 minute walk from the Gaylord at half the cost : -) - Big Plus!

As a Marriott member I was pleased with the hotel. Traveling with family, we were in a corner 2 room suite which was just perfect for us.

At check in it did seem a little weird that you have to sign a room/person "No Party" waiver. It leads me to think that since the summer an event took place and a group got out of control. AnyWay...it was a good time, close distance to good food choices, shoppes and a view of the harbor.

A very good option for families and other groups who like nice things, enjoy breakfast and if there during the week days will be treated to a Manager's social.

Thanks to Joseph with his aid with the TV...

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC

Address: 192 Waterfront St., National Harbor, MD 20745
Location: United States > Maryland > National Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in National Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, EasyToBook and TripOnline SA so you can book your Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, Dc Hotel Oxon Hill

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn National Harbor Washington, DC, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.