We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like a picture postcard!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like a picture postcard!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014 via mobile

This was our second trip to Zanzibar and we decided to stay at Neptune again. Our second encounter was just as awesome as our first. We also met others who were also back at Neptune for a second or third time.
So well kept and lovely people!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

502 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    163
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
90
309
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wetteren, Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

A week in paradise

Some like it hot, some like it cool…. The best way for a cool holiday is at Zanzibar and of course in the utmost and standing full Neptune Hotel. We spent our New Year's holiday here last week.
Hot but nice climate, always sunny…. and a bit windy.
The hotel is one of our best in the range we’ve ever been in Africa.
Personnel is very attending, gardens, pools, restaurants are cleaned the whole day long.
The rooms are very large, all with sea view and in a few meters of beach, pool and resto’s.
Food has a nice variety, although some more international food could be presented.
Don’t miss their professional massage team!

Room Tip: Suites are just 30ft from the beach and even closer to the pool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The room was spotless, well appointed and comfortable. The bathroom was clean and spacious. The room was serviced daily with turn down service. The food was buffet style but excellent with a snack bar and consistent supply of local drinks and soft drinks. The food was good for a vegetarian and I believe with notice they would cater for vegans too. The staff are friendly, attentive and willing - possibly the best service ever received at a resort restaurant. The beach is pristine as are the swimming pools. I cannot recommend this resort more highly.

Room Tip: Sea view will be great but the garden/sea view is honestly fine too. Perhaps try to stay away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durban, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family and I stayed at Neptune Pwani Beach over Xmas 2013, and had a great relaxing stay. we had a problem with our Aircon, which was later replaced as apposed to servicing it, the housekeeping was of a superb standard, the proximity to the sea was awesome, BUT, be careful of the sea urchens. the food is typical of the Club Med resorts, plentyful, but of a bulk nature. the pools were wonderfully refreshing, and always clean!!!!!!!! the one downside is the harrasment from the vendors on the beach who battle to accept no for an answer, and we landed up having some stern words with a few. the service from all the staff was great and attentive. a good stay all round

Room Tip: All are sea facing, however, some are up the hill, which is a grind to get back to. ask for ones on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We spent a week here early in December. Very relaxing, very well maintained resort, security was excellent, the staff extremely helpful.

Food was fine, everything "buffet style" except the lunch (snack) menu - which I would rotate - it was the same small menu every day, it would be better to change the type of sandwiches / burgers / salad daily (have a different menu for each day of the week)?
Only two problems - the bed was extremely hard, as were the pillows - next time I'm going to take my own pillows, and the guys who came to spray the room (against mosquitos) at about 9:00 pm, just walked straight in, a little embarrassing if you were already in bed - they need to learn to knock! (We learnt to put the "do not disturb" sign up...).

I would recommend this resort for anyone looking for a relaxing holiday, your drinks literally get delivered to you whilst you are reclining on the sand!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

What a pleasure to be back and to be welcome as friends. We spent 2 weeks there and had a great time with all the staff, Sabri, Anna, Rajab, Raphael, Mary, Majeba, David; The grounds are still looked after so well. Eva and her colleagues at the front desk are just great; as we are coming every year, they even gave us the same rooms as usual, thank you dear friends.

What else to say ? apart repeating my previous reviews on the Neptune.

The boutique has gone crazy again with its prices (last year 2 Australian women were running it and the prices were realistic and affordable). This year with the change of management, the prices are out of order, this is a shame.

As for the German Chef who spent 15 years in South Africa, the food is not as good as it used to be, but still fine (he has been at the Neptune for the past 2 years). Previously it was an Austrian Chef and I must admit the food was better.

This year, we flew from Dar to Zanzibar with Zanair. They are a lot more reliable than Precision and very friendly.

We love this place so much than we cannot wait to go back next year to this paradise.

Thank you to all our friends there making our stay unforgettable.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

A wonderul resort with all the facilities in the room and common areas well maintained and clean. The gardens are beautiful, especially in the cooler evenings.
We enjoyed a spa treatment which was very professional. The highlight was sitting in the jacuzzi overlooking the resort with the trees and beaches in view, but still private.
The beach can become overrun with hawkers but they are not allowed on the hotel property and this is well controlled. You can enjoy the beach all to yourself if you get down there early.
All in all a fantastic getaway.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.