We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at Sandies Neptune” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Great stay at Sandies Neptune”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Clean resort, great food, great service, really nice rooms, really nice pool, really nice beach, all-inclusive convenience, on-site spa, security team to keep pesky beach boys off the property... We loved it at Sandie's Neptune! Great spot to just hang out and relax after a dusty safari.

I'd especially like to put in a good word for Nelson at reception. We had problems with our return flight, and he went out of his way to resolve everything for us. He really went above and beyond. Thanks Nelson!

Here are the cons:

1. It's far from anything, so you'll have to take an expensive cab ride to get around. Not a problem if you just want to hang at the resort though.

2. Flies - I don't think there's much the resort can do about this, but in the morning there are flies at the breakfast buffet, which is open-air. Hey, it's the tropics - there's only so much you can do to keep bugs away. There are far fewer flies in the smoking section, where almost nobody actually smokes.

All in all, a great, relaxing stay! We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

525 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    173
    27
    10
    4
See reviews for
96
322
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
sheffield
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I would find it hard to find anything we didn't like about this hotel. It had everything that you could possibly want for a relaxing beach side holiday. I won't repeat all the good things that other people have already said about the hotel. Just a positive note though for any vegetarians looking for this type of holiday in Zanzibar. Both my wife and daughter are vegetarian and we thought the veggie options from the buffet were excellent for all the meals, and very nicely spiced, some probably with an Indian influence (the hotel has Indian management) - if you want things a little spicier then ask for some Pilipili (chilli) on a side plate, and add it to taste. We even asked the restaurant chef for some Cassava prepared like French Fries one evening, and he produced an excellent dish just for the three of us. A very enjoyable stay!

Room Tip: we had a room with a beach view, but I think any of the room locations would be fine. I notice one o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sintra, Portugal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

we are a group of friends who travelled from Portugal to Zanzibar. we stayed there for ten days. Nice beach, clean blue water. the houses-rooms of the resort are confortable and clean. the restaurants serve tasty food, except the fruit , that wasn´t so good. the staff was nice and professional.
The Massahli gave the environment the final touch of tradition and cultural aprouch.
Stonetown deserves one day trip and don´t forget to have lunch at the Rock restaurant! Awsome!!!!!

Room Tip: Fisrt line of the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
russia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A great place to relax and unwind. Food and drinks very varied and absolute eye and the palate. There were daily, both at lunch and dinner table, among many other dishes of fresh fish - just awesome. Super Clean conditioning of room on the well-kept outdoor area, restaurants, pools, beach and freely accessible toilets. Very friendly and dedicated staff - a small smile opens hearts! Desk (Safari Blue boat trip with snorkelling, spice gardens and Stone Town, etc.), we have booked through the Edi-Murphy Group on the beach, good value for money and all recommended. An absolute pampering experience is the one-hour massage with Catherine on the beach next to the kitesurf shack. All in all a great place for relaxation - we will be back!

Room Tip: Better upper rooms have a view from the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I stayed at Neptune Pwani for 3 nights in August 2013 and absolutely loved it.

The food was great and they had a variety of choices also suited for vegetarians. We had an all inclusive booking which was great as it also included soft drinks at any time and they weren't just cheap drinks.

The staff were polite and very helpful. They were willing to go the extra mile to make our stay more comfortable.

The location of the resort is perfect as its on the beautiful white sand beach.

All in all, we had a great time and would definitely return to stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

Eventhough the hotel was clean and nice, the staff was pleasant and the food delicious. The constant begging and harassment by the locals on the public beach made this holiday unpleasant. We could not walk from the resort property to the beach without being hazzled.
We were always approach by locals on the beach, sometimes followed as they were constantly looking for money. We did not feel safe.
The beach was covered with seaweeds that made it uninviting.
We will go back to Cuba, Jamaica and Dominican before coming back here. The beaches are clean and better supervized.
Also after reading about Zanzibar Acid Attact on 2 young female tourists, we cross out Zanzibar as a future destination!!!

Room Tip: The resort was great but the harassment on the beach ruins the trip!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We came to Neptune Pwani following a 4 night safari for a weeks relaxation on our honeymoon.

This is not the boutique hotel that we were originally looking for and it did take a while to adjust when we arrived at large scale resort that provides for the masses. I really wanted to love this place however it just wasn't quite there
The clientele consisted mainly of families with a few couples, if you are a family then this is a good hotel however, I wouldn't recommend it as part of a honeymoon package.
The activities in the day (water polo / volleyball etc) are all geared toward kids rather than adults. There were board games etc however you had to pay to hire.
The entertainment at night varied hugely from very poor to very entertaining, just pot luck on what was on when.

The rooms were comfortable, spacious and clean (we had a sea view room)

The food was to a good standard with a lot of choice at lunch / dinner. However the snack offer outside of key meal times was very limited (only sandwiches and pastries - nothing refreshing like ice cream / fruit)
We did not eat at the a la carte restaurant, it was $100 per couple which I think out most people off as it was always empty despite the nice setting / decor. I wouldn't been nice if one meal here was included as part of the honeymoon package.

The resort is very clean and the pools and the setting on the beach is nice however the public beach directly in front of the hotel is a little intimidating with all the beach boys. I didn't feel comfortable walking along it on my own, however the hotel does have security guards to they are doing what they can to control it and make guests feel more at ease.

I would've expected more from the staff - we found the reception staff and the zan travel rep rude and extremely unhelpful, however most of the other staff in the restaurant, bars and water sports office were professional and pleasant.

Wifi is not included and costs $20 for the week - something that would've expected to be inclusive confiding how much the hotel charges to stay all inclusive.

Overall it was... Ok. It depends what you are after... A family resort where the kids are entertained = perfect! A honeymoon destination where the personal touches make your holiday extra special = no so much. I think the term 'average' sums it up

We booked through Imagine Africa who we would definitely use again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pwani Mchangani
#2 Family Hotel in Pwani Mchangani
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.