We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing. Amazing!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
England
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Amazing. Amazing!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My daughter, husband and I have just returned from our 12 day stay. I have no complaints whatsoever. We had a amazing stay! The hotel is the cleanest hotel i have ever stayed in, the rooms are spacious and the decor is inkeeping with the African theme. The food is brilliant, varied and always tasty. The previous reviews must have been acted upon as the desserts were really nice, in fact i thing i probably put on a few pounds as a resul of too much tastingt! The staff at the hotel were all friendly, polite and seemed to be happy in their work which added to the relaxed feel. The grounds are kept in stunning condition. There is a decent show in the evening on a few of the nights and a must is the village walk which happens twice a week with the animation guys. It is free of charge but you do end up giving a bit out in donations when you visit the schools and 'hospital' but is definatley worth a look. Also may be wor taking some sweets/pens for the children. Dont be put off by the Massai men on the beach, they are really nice guys. At first their dress seemed to intimidte but after speaking to them they are really friendly guys and often just want a chat. They are not after selling you trips (there are other guys there who you can get trips with if that is what you want) they might ask you to have a look in their shop. They are not pushy at all and we were pleasantly surprised. We had lovely time and it was the perfect hotel to relax in after a Safari on Mainland Tanzania. Thanks to everyone there, far too many people to name individually but you were all fab!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    160
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
90
308
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
130 helpful votes 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We spent 7 nights at the Neptune Pwani Beach Resort in March 2013. Overall, great experience.

The resort was opened in 2007: it's is therefore fairly new; the architectural African style is nice. It is located approximately 40 miles from the Airport and Stone Town. The ride from the airport to the hotel takes about 1h to 1h15 minutes.

The reception area is lovely. Checking-in was rather simple, even if requesting a room with twin beds was a bit of a hassle for them to deal with.

We had a Seaview room located on the top of the stairs, overlooking the Ocean. Yes, the staircase is a bit steep but we were delighted to have a room that was located in such a calm and quiet area of the resort. The room is big enough. Nothing fancy but quite nice with a terrace, two beds, a night table, a desk, a small sofa and its coffee table, closets and a big bathroom (with a shower and no tub). It was very clean and the housekeeping staff took excellent care at maintining our room nice and clean.

The grounds of the hotel are simply lovely and maintained with a high attention to details. Everything is smooth on the eyes.

The resort has two pools (it would be nice to have a standard pool too), one with a bar so that you can sip a drink while being in the water. There are plenty of lounge chairs around the pool so that you can enjoy the sun, read a book etc. A waiter will come to take your order for a cocktail or water when you use the lounge chairs. There is a towel service: you get a fresh towel every day, which is very nice.

The beach is really nice. Plenty of beach chairs too. Trees to get a bit of shade. Beach boys did not bother us. The view of the Indian Ocean is magic with its different shades of blue.

We enjoyed the all-inclusive system: the food was simply excellent. Food is served through buffets for breakfast, lunch and dinner. The choice is very good and there are a lot of vegetarian options. Fresh fruits and vegetables were superb. Curries as well. I simply loved our meals. The staff is efficient, courteous and friendly. They will look after you. Individual bottle of waters are available so that you do not have to worry about drinking water over there.

Throughout the day, you can enjoy unlimited soft drinks (and local alcohol - drink in moderation, especially under the sun) and snacks. But the food was so good during the main meals than we did not need any extra oustide of meal times. Local cocktails were nice (the "fruit punch" without alcohol is my favorite).

I did not try the activities but my friend played volley-ball and enjoyed it.

We used the Spa. Disappointing experience. I had a body scrub which was barely ok. For $70, I found the Spa experience to be something that could be avoided. So did my friend who had a Zen Chi massage.

The resort could do with a gym; that would be very nice.

The staff at the hotel is really nice and efficient.

We did the "Safari Blue" excursion which was enjoyable but nothing to rave about (and it was a bit long and dull at the end). We also visited Stone Town, which was a must-do experience.

I love this resort: it's lovely, calm, relaxing, unpretentious and reliable. I would certainly recommend it. And I would love to return to Zanzibar, a truly lovely island.

Did not see that many mosquitoes but I had taken my anti-malaria pills and my mosquitoes sprays to be safe. Also, we bothered to get our visa from the Consulate before leaving our home country and that allowed us to bypass the long line of people getting a visa on arrival (it's hot and humid at the airport).

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kampala, Uganda
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Stayed here in March 2013 and arrived after a harrowing flight with the so-not 'Precision Air'. They kept us stranded in the Dar-es-salaam airport for 6 hours because their pilots could not land in the rain....HORRIFIC.

Read up a lot of reviews on Trip Advisor before we decided to stay at this resort. The property is beautiful, food was decent and rooms were good......BUT the service levels were pathetic!!!!!! For a highly rated property the staff are not well trained. It started at the reception where the cashier made us wait for 15 mins before he figured out our booking. We asked for some tea & biscuits while we waited as the kids were exhausted after our flight ordeal.....he says can u pls walk to the restaurant and get a cup!!!! We had to ask for the manager before we got some tepid, luke warm tea served. The next morning we asked for some extra shampoo and the receptionist says that we have to wait till 10am when the cleaning staff arrive. Shocking service levels.

The kids loved the pool which was immaculate and so was the beach front. Clean towels, unlimited drinks and lounging chairs make this place ideal to chill out! If only they improve the training they give their staff.

The final impression that Neptune gave us was when we had to take an early morning flight out!! We were told a continental breakfast will be packed for ppl who want to leave early.....but when we reached the airport we saw that they had packed 4 thin sandwiches and 2slices of cake for our family of 2 adults and 2 kids!!!!!
Not sure we want to visit or recommend this place to any friends.......those touches that make a resort wonderful are missing!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My sister and I spent 4 nights at Neptune Pwani Beach in March. The room was very spacious and nicely decorated - very romantic, though obviously that wasn't of benefit to us, but would definitely recommend for couples. The bathroom was very big, shower good. We got upgraded to a sea view room. The property was large and nicely kept up. No issues getting beach chairs every day. The nice advantage is that you sit on their actual property instead of the beach where you get constantly harassed by the "beach boys". They have security guards patrolling the perimeter so that the beach boys don't trespass. The buffet was good - lots of selection and variety so I think everyone can find something that they would like. I would definitely recommend this property.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Pretty nice and clean place, one of the best beach I have ever seen. It's much more for older people or people into a beach combing but anyway I enjoed it a lot! If you like to snorkel it's possible to buy a everyday trip to the reef. Must see

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire England
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

First the good points. Spacious rooms and balconies, large and lovely pool, very well maintained grounds, plenty of shade by the beach, pleasant bar and restaurant, nice cocktails, good food, lovely spa, friendly staff.

However, we found the room dark and the lighting inadequate for reading – though they did bring us an extra lamp when asked. The beds are hard, the furniture is impractical, there was nowhere comfortable to sit – in fact we didn’t find a comfortable chair in the whole place except in the spa. The bathroom is divided from the room by louvred panels so privacy is limited. Finding the mosquito nets in place and curtains drawn at 3pm was irritating.

The sea view rooms have superb views but there are 50 steps up to start with and up to 20 more to some rooms. We had paid extra for a sea side room which avoids the steps and is nearer the pool, bar and restaurants. Disappointingly, as the hotel was clearly not full, we were given a ground floor room with a dull view of the next block and a bit of the pool (no ocean view). Unless you are very lucky it isn’t worth the extra for a sea side room unless you have a problem with steps. With hindsight we would not have paid the extra, particularly as we had requested a quiet room but could still hear the music late at night.

The music is an intrusion – loud and pop, it starts about 7.30pm every evening and the stage is just by the main bar and restaurants so there’s no getting away from it. There was no attempt to tailor the music or entertainment to the age group or type of clientele. People appeared to be ignoring it rather than enjoying it. If you want a really quiet sea side room it needs to be in the upper 400s.

The Pizzeria is disappointing. You get one free visit during your stay and you have to book 24 hours ahead. The pizzas were good but the menu is very limited compared with the main restaurant. There were only 8 people the night we went so there was no atmosphere and the service was slow and formal – a pizzeria should be lively and informal. The rest of the time the place is the Snack Bar. We tried it once for lunch but waited 40 minutes for the food to arrive, so stuck to the main restaurant for a quicker lunch and better choice.

We didn’t try the a la carte restaurant which is above the main restaurant. It wasn’t worth paying $150-170 for two to be assailed by the same music. The only criticisms of the main restaurant are that the nicest and quietest section is the smoking area, and the choice for vegetarians is limited.

All inclusive is brilliant for families with kids but unless you want drinks all day and too much food, a dinner bed and breakfast rate at a 5* hotel might not cost more.

NB Zanzibar is extremely hot and humid in February.

Room Tip: Rooms to the left of the reception area are furthest from the music - probably 450 up. One of suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We spent a week at Neptune after a spur of the moment decision that we needed a breakaway far far away and what a great decision we made to go there!

The resort as a fully inclusive package certainly lives up to its promise. The food at breakfast, lunch and dinner was delicious everyday (my tighter waistbands are evidence of this). The service by all staff was friendly and impeccable all the time. The ambience of the resort is one of relaxation and just generally a tropical paradise.

The rooms were well furnished and spacious with a much needed aircon. The beach was a few meters away so days were literally spent swimming in the warm Indian ocean followed by cocktails in the pool at the pool bar.

We went on excursions but memorably the ocean safari was a great day out with good snorkelling and great hosting and food.

I would def recommend this resort to everyone looking for sublime relaxation in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.