We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3rd time at the Neptune and still paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Lausanne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“3rd time at the Neptune and still paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

What a pleasure to be back "at home". We stayed there again for 15 nights. It was wonderful as usual. I will not come back on all the positive points as everyone writing a review on the Neptune does it. What I found different was they have a new Chef (German); the food is good, but I think it was better when the Austrian Chef was there especially the seafood platter ($110.-for two people) unfortunately it was dry and not as good as before.

In my last review, I was complaining that they removed the music at the pool bar; when we arrived this time the music wasn't there; we talked to the F&B manager saying it was really sad not to relax while drinking a coktail at the bar and the music center arrived the next day and the bar became the most popular spot in the swiming pool.

What I would like to draw attention to is the staff, nobody mentions them; they are the heart of this place; the Neptune would not be so popular if it wasn't for Steven, Rajab, Raphael, Stella, Sabri, Anna, Djuma, "Little Boss", Agnes from the bar and restaurant and of course little Mary who makes sure that when you go to the restroom at anytime, everything is super clean (at the poolbar).

Dear Guys we really love you and thank you for your friendship.

And for those who like horseriding a club just opened a few month ago (I think this is the only one). They have 9 horses and the owner is Italian. You can find information at the watersport house of the Neptune down by the sea (next to the volleyball pitch).

Here are some pictures of the wonderful staff of the Neptune.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    272
    152
    22
    10
    4
See reviews for
82
286
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We spent the tail end of our Safari honeymoon here in Sandies for 4 nights. Time almost stands still here which makes it perfect for complete relaxation. Hands down, the beach in front of the hotel is the best for miles. During low tide there are beautiful sand bars that allow you to walk out as much a 1km out to sea (bring reef shoes!). But if all you want to do is lay out and get served, you can do that as well and be just as happy. The beach boys can be problematic if you're not firm with them so just say "No thanks" and ignore them. If you're ready to buy some souvenirs, we went into "Marco Polo's" shop and got some pretty great deals but bear in mind you will have to walk past a ton of other shops.

The staff at the hotel was friendly and always ready with a "Jambo!" and a smile. However, the "Hakuna Matata" get's a little old and feels forced after a while.

The rooms were extremely clean and after over a week on safari, the air conditioning was refreshing to have in the room.

The spa facilities were great and well kept. There's a private pool, sauna, jacuzzi and excellent lounging views so I'd opt to go for a massage at least once and take advantage of the facilities for a couple hours. It's beautiful up there...

The food was above average albeit a little westernized so don't come here expected a ton of local food except for the fruits.

Overall, you get what you pay for here and it will not disappoint. I'd recommend this place in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
warwickshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed at the Neptune for 3 weeks in Sept /October . It really is a delightful place to stay . The Hotel has very high standards in every respect but manages to be unpretentiousness warm and relaxing at all times . What a joy to go to the restaurant , at every meal one is presented with a large varied buffet , all delicious . The staff without exception were outstanding , friendly , helpful ,wonderful people .The setting is beautiful with really incredible colours on the beach and ocean and such interest with colourfully dressed ladies collecting seaweed and seafood . The rooms are of a very high standard , if you have walking difficulties be sure to ask for a sea level room as a few rooms are up a number of steps . Have no hesitation in going here , you will enjoy it .
Babu & Bibi

Room Tip: All room are very good just avoid the higher level ones if you have a problem with steps
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelspruit
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well Mauritius can and will never be as good and nice as Zanzibar and Sardies Neptune Pwani Hotel.

What a awesome place, excellent food, very clean hotel and fantastic beach. Night intertainment
good, daily activities good.

All inclusive at Pwani means all inclusive - NO hidden cost(like at La Plantation Mauritius)

Will take the whole family of 28 next time. Awesome Place

Room Tip: Sea or Pool Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bursa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was one of the best hotel which we stayed in our life! Amazing atmosphere, great decoration of the hotel, so big but very relaxing!!! Beach and the sea was amazing, lovely local Masai people, very friendly!!! The only problem which we had was, our mobile phone has been stolen from the room, the hotel manager called the Zanzibar police and they searched for it, at last could not found, but they paid the amount which we mentioned!!!! It was a bad experience but the hotel staff and the police was very sorry and helpful... So we forget that bad experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room near the beach and the room was very big and amazing view! The biggest bed that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was absolutely perfect, there is not one thing I would change. The room was lovely, a very good size when we arrived the had flowers everywhere and a fresh bowl of fruit (which is so much tastier than fruit I've had in England). The sea view was lovely and sitting on the balcony on a evening was just so relaxing. The minibar was always well stocked and they kept topping up the free toletries. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was lovely, especially after a hard day swimming and lying in the sun to get all the clorene, salt and sand off you. The airconditioning kept the room at a prefect temperaturem and the staff were excellent with changing linen and towels, closing curtains and the mosquito nets.

The pools were great, not brilliant if you want to do some real swimmimng but good for splashing around or going over to the pool bar for a refreshing bottle of Kilamanjaro. The hotel beach was fantastic and they are plenty of loungers and parasols to stay out of the sun. Some people have complained about the 'beach boys' but I found them friendly enough and if you tell them you don't want anything they will leave you alone. The sea sports centre was good, we only used a kayak (which is included in the stay) it was really good quality and the lads carried it down to the sea for us. There are other activities available, some of which come with a small charge, but we did not try them.

The food was excellent, the was always a good range of foods and lunch and dinner were different every day, breakfast was more or less the same every day but there still was a good selection of hot food, cold meats and salads, cereals etc. If you aren't that hungry you can have a snack at lunch time in the bar, burger, soup, stew etc. If you are peckage throughout they day they have sandwiches, cakes and waffles as well. All three of the bars are excellent, all with a good range of drinks (soft drinks, cocktails, wine, beer, spirits) you have to pay for branded spirits but who wants them when you have all the local drinks! All of the staff were great from the waiters, to the ground staff, the the kids club, bar staff, literally everyone was great already with a Jambo! and a smile.

The only member of staff we weren't happy with was the lady who organised the excursions, she was so unhelpful it just seemed a little odd. We wanted an outing to go snorkeling but the trip we wanted to do you had to pay in cash, we didn't have any cash as it is an all inclusive hotel and she just looked at us like we were from another planet. After we found out we couldn't do this we tried to find out what to do but she just pointed at a list of excursions but didn't offer us any advice. After a painful long silence my wife and I decided to to do a trip to stone town and prison island. The guide was great and sorted out lunch and a trip to the spice farm on the way home for a lot better price than the office at the hotel. I'd advice not to bother with the hotel excursion desk and book direct with a tour company or just one of the beach boys.

I don't like to finish the review on that bad note as we had such an amazing time, one of the best things about the hotel is that there are virtually no British people there. I hate going away and being stuck with a load of British people it's like being at home, all the Germans, Belgians, French, Dutch and South Africans were great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really lovely hotel, beautifully kept, wonderful staff, great location - really cant imagine what anyone could find fault with.

My girlfriend and i were the ONLY British guests at the hotel from what we could tell. Its mostly German, south african and a few French guests. (we all got on well though) I really cant understand why Zanzibar in general isnt more popular with the Brits. Its a wonderful place!

10 years ago i used to work in Tanzania and spent a lot of time in Zanzibar - this trip was a wonderful present from my family to send me back to a place i loved so much . I was really worried that i would be disappointed, that the place would have changed and would be over commercialised with huge hotels etc - but this was a near perfect holiday.

The complex is set right on the flour white sands of pwani mchangani beach, with gorgeous gardens full of coconut palms, and other beautiful flowers, weaver birds, lizards etc. its looks STUNNING. Its just 10 mins walk down the beach to the local village where you can visit the school and donate books etc to the teachers.

Our room was lovely, and cleaned immaculately - in fact i think the maids came in 3 or 4 times per day to remake beds, arrange flowers, close mosquito nets and generally make sure the room is perfect. ours was the closest to the hotel entertainment, so was probably the noisiest room in the whole complex- that said, we didnt feel the need to ask to move.

The Mvua spa is lovely. My girlfriend had quite a few treatments during our trip. Its not cheap (at least i didnt think so) but my girlfriend said she had the best massage (hot stone) shes ever had in her life (and shes had a lot trust me!) - i had a massage too, and have to say it was wonderful. The steam room wasnt working when we went but thats a minor.

I dont know why there are some complaints about the food. I thought it was great - particularly the local fish and rice dishes which were delicious. its africa after all so maybe the deserts arent up to european standard... i dont know... im just trying to think about what people might find fault with!? Oh and Tanzanian beers are as good as ever - safari lager in particular!

The hotel is on the east coast of the island. this means you wont get incredible sunsets (stay on the north of the island for those) but you will get incredible tidal changes. high tide the sea is lapping right up to the hotel wall - low tide you can walk for miles (literally!) in just a few inches of crystal clear warm water - with the odd exposed sand bar to lounge on like your own private island. really really stunning. You will find seaweed washed up on the beach at low tide - some people seemed surprised by this!?!? again if you dont like the idea of seaweed - head north! in fact each day you can see the local women collecting seaweed - carrying their baskets on their heads in the true african style.
You will get 'beach boys' who will want to talk to you/sell to you at any opportunity. they arent allowed in the complex but will work very hard to get to know you and make sure you buy something. they may seem a little OTT at times and some guests were intimidated, but they are good guys just trying to make a living. none of them go too far or ever get aggressive so dont be put off. some of them are hysterical. I also thoroughly recommend hiring a traditional dhow for an hour or two (we went with Jack aka - captain jack sparrow) so peaceful, great views and totally safe.

Evening entertainment is 'eclectic' but always a laugh. its not what i go on holiday for, but i did find myself asking what they had planned for each evening.

We organised one excursion through the 'Eddie Murphy Group' of beach boys - which was a snorkelling trip to Mneba island. the snorkelling was great, the drive to the boat was VERY offroad but good fun.

We also booked a guided tour of Stone Town which is a must - we booked this through the hotel and it was actually pretty good value. Our guide was Zamir - and he was absolutely brilliant. so knowledgable, and taught us so much about the facinating history of Zanzibar - particularly about its famous slave trade. If anyones interested i have Zamirs details so you can contact him and pre arrange guided tours. i really recommend him.

Ive written a lot... i liked this holiday you can tell.

In short - go to Zanzibar! you couldnt go far wrong with the Neptune resort in Pwani Beach!

And especially go if you are British and are tempted!

Room Tip: rooms to the north or the resort (away from main restaurant) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.