We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Holiday Ever, Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Nelspruit
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Holiday Ever, Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Well Mauritius can and will never be as good and nice as Zanzibar and Sardies Neptune Pwani Hotel.

What a awesome place, excellent food, very clean hotel and fantastic beach. Night intertainment
good, daily activities good.

All inclusive at Pwani means all inclusive - NO hidden cost(like at La Plantation Mauritius)

Will take the whole family of 28 next time. Awesome Place

Room Tip: Sea or Pool Side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

498 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    162
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
90
308
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bursa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

It was one of the best hotel which we stayed in our life! Amazing atmosphere, great decoration of the hotel, so big but very relaxing!!! Beach and the sea was amazing, lovely local Masai people, very friendly!!! The only problem which we had was, our mobile phone has been stolen from the room, the hotel manager called the Zanzibar police and they searched for it, at last could not found, but they paid the amount which we mentioned!!!! It was a bad experience but the hotel staff and the police was very sorry and helpful... So we forget that bad experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room near the beach and the room was very big and amazing view! The biggest bed that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel was absolutely perfect, there is not one thing I would change. The room was lovely, a very good size when we arrived the had flowers everywhere and a fresh bowl of fruit (which is so much tastier than fruit I've had in England). The sea view was lovely and sitting on the balcony on a evening was just so relaxing. The minibar was always well stocked and they kept topping up the free toletries. The bathroom was a good size and the shower was lovely, especially after a hard day swimming and lying in the sun to get all the clorene, salt and sand off you. The airconditioning kept the room at a prefect temperaturem and the staff were excellent with changing linen and towels, closing curtains and the mosquito nets.

The pools were great, not brilliant if you want to do some real swimmimng but good for splashing around or going over to the pool bar for a refreshing bottle of Kilamanjaro. The hotel beach was fantastic and they are plenty of loungers and parasols to stay out of the sun. Some people have complained about the 'beach boys' but I found them friendly enough and if you tell them you don't want anything they will leave you alone. The sea sports centre was good, we only used a kayak (which is included in the stay) it was really good quality and the lads carried it down to the sea for us. There are other activities available, some of which come with a small charge, but we did not try them.

The food was excellent, the was always a good range of foods and lunch and dinner were different every day, breakfast was more or less the same every day but there still was a good selection of hot food, cold meats and salads, cereals etc. If you aren't that hungry you can have a snack at lunch time in the bar, burger, soup, stew etc. If you are peckage throughout they day they have sandwiches, cakes and waffles as well. All three of the bars are excellent, all with a good range of drinks (soft drinks, cocktails, wine, beer, spirits) you have to pay for branded spirits but who wants them when you have all the local drinks! All of the staff were great from the waiters, to the ground staff, the the kids club, bar staff, literally everyone was great already with a Jambo! and a smile.

The only member of staff we weren't happy with was the lady who organised the excursions, she was so unhelpful it just seemed a little odd. We wanted an outing to go snorkeling but the trip we wanted to do you had to pay in cash, we didn't have any cash as it is an all inclusive hotel and she just looked at us like we were from another planet. After we found out we couldn't do this we tried to find out what to do but she just pointed at a list of excursions but didn't offer us any advice. After a painful long silence my wife and I decided to to do a trip to stone town and prison island. The guide was great and sorted out lunch and a trip to the spice farm on the way home for a lot better price than the office at the hotel. I'd advice not to bother with the hotel excursion desk and book direct with a tour company or just one of the beach boys.

I don't like to finish the review on that bad note as we had such an amazing time, one of the best things about the hotel is that there are virtually no British people there. I hate going away and being stuck with a load of British people it's like being at home, all the Germans, Belgians, French, Dutch and South Africans were great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

I really lovely hotel, beautifully kept, wonderful staff, great location - really cant imagine what anyone could find fault with.

My girlfriend and i were the ONLY British guests at the hotel from what we could tell. Its mostly German, south african and a few French guests. (we all got on well though) I really cant understand why Zanzibar in general isnt more popular with the Brits. Its a wonderful place!

10 years ago i used to work in Tanzania and spent a lot of time in Zanzibar - this trip was a wonderful present from my family to send me back to a place i loved so much . I was really worried that i would be disappointed, that the place would have changed and would be over commercialised with huge hotels etc - but this was a near perfect holiday.

The complex is set right on the flour white sands of pwani mchangani beach, with gorgeous gardens full of coconut palms, and other beautiful flowers, weaver birds, lizards etc. its looks STUNNING. Its just 10 mins walk down the beach to the local village where you can visit the school and donate books etc to the teachers.

Our room was lovely, and cleaned immaculately - in fact i think the maids came in 3 or 4 times per day to remake beds, arrange flowers, close mosquito nets and generally make sure the room is perfect. ours was the closest to the hotel entertainment, so was probably the noisiest room in the whole complex- that said, we didnt feel the need to ask to move.

The Mvua spa is lovely. My girlfriend had quite a few treatments during our trip. Its not cheap (at least i didnt think so) but my girlfriend said she had the best massage (hot stone) shes ever had in her life (and shes had a lot trust me!) - i had a massage too, and have to say it was wonderful. The steam room wasnt working when we went but thats a minor.

I dont know why there are some complaints about the food. I thought it was great - particularly the local fish and rice dishes which were delicious. its africa after all so maybe the deserts arent up to european standard... i dont know... im just trying to think about what people might find fault with!? Oh and Tanzanian beers are as good as ever - safari lager in particular!

The hotel is on the east coast of the island. this means you wont get incredible sunsets (stay on the north of the island for those) but you will get incredible tidal changes. high tide the sea is lapping right up to the hotel wall - low tide you can walk for miles (literally!) in just a few inches of crystal clear warm water - with the odd exposed sand bar to lounge on like your own private island. really really stunning. You will find seaweed washed up on the beach at low tide - some people seemed surprised by this!?!? again if you dont like the idea of seaweed - head north! in fact each day you can see the local women collecting seaweed - carrying their baskets on their heads in the true african style.
You will get 'beach boys' who will want to talk to you/sell to you at any opportunity. they arent allowed in the complex but will work very hard to get to know you and make sure you buy something. they may seem a little OTT at times and some guests were intimidated, but they are good guys just trying to make a living. none of them go too far or ever get aggressive so dont be put off. some of them are hysterical. I also thoroughly recommend hiring a traditional dhow for an hour or two (we went with Jack aka - captain jack sparrow) so peaceful, great views and totally safe.

Evening entertainment is 'eclectic' but always a laugh. its not what i go on holiday for, but i did find myself asking what they had planned for each evening.

We organised one excursion through the 'Eddie Murphy Group' of beach boys - which was a snorkelling trip to Mneba island. the snorkelling was great, the drive to the boat was VERY offroad but good fun.

We also booked a guided tour of Stone Town which is a must - we booked this through the hotel and it was actually pretty good value. Our guide was Zamir - and he was absolutely brilliant. so knowledgable, and taught us so much about the facinating history of Zanzibar - particularly about its famous slave trade. If anyones interested i have Zamirs details so you can contact him and pre arrange guided tours. i really recommend him.

Ive written a lot... i liked this holiday you can tell.

In short - go to Zanzibar! you couldnt go far wrong with the Neptune resort in Pwani Beach!

And especially go if you are British and are tempted!

Room Tip: rooms to the north or the resort (away from main restaurant) are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

As a result of Air Kenya not informing us of changes to our flights to Zanzibar, we unexpectedly had to fly from Mombasa to Nairobi then to Zanzibar. As a result we were 7 hours late for our transfer to the hotel but when we arrived a driver was still there waiting for us which was a very nice surprise.

Upon arrival to the resort at 22:30, after an hour’s drive, we were given a free upgrade to one of the four suites as it was our honeymoon. The room was perfect, huge, with a separate living rooms rooms and even a Jacuzzi! The restaurant closes at 21:30 but they kept back a dinner for us which was very good of them.

The pool area was fantastic, although you have to go to the bar for a drink yourself, there’s no service to you. Be prepared for a bit of hassle when you venture onto the beach from the beach boys – but they’ll leave you alone if you’re firm with them. It’s a very sleepy resort but that’s what we wanted.

The staff were fantastic, especially the friendly workers behind the bars. The food was ok, but nothing spectacular – we did enjoy the variety (from Fried Chicken to Banana Curry, Pizza to Octopus).

The downside – some of the rooms are a very long way from the restaurant, pool and beach and up steep incline.

Value for money - 5* as we got the free upgrade. Without it though it would only be a 3*

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vaalwater, Limpopo
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We stayed at Neptune Pwani November 2011 for a week. Both my husband and I had such an amazing time! The resort was so much fun, and I would recommend it to anyone, would love to go back ourselves. We only left the resort once for a day trip to Stone Town. We booked through the hotel which was much cheaper than the guys on the beach offer. We had a room at the very top and even though there was allot of stairs, it wasn't unbearable.We had fun walking back late at night. The room was so beautiful and it was so nice that they come to open your bed and loosen the mosquito nets at night. Food was always good. Service cannot be faulted.

This is such a great resort!!

Room Tip: The top rooms have great views if you don't mind all the steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We just got back a 7 day stay after a safari trip.
The beach is beautiful,best place to see the amazing Low\high tide.

We stayed at the Sea side and did a good choice,the sea view are quite a walk upwards from the beach\pool\restaurant.
Rooms are wide and clean.
Food wasnt the best,we mainly ate pasta.
Very good bar selection !
entertaiment was poor.
Service is great,the stuff was very nice and friendly and efficient (we got a room next to the restaurant where the evening entartaiment took place, and you could here averuthing (including people laughing at the bar) in our room, the guy at the reception managed to change our room althoughthe hotel was almost fully booked,or so they said).
you can buy all sorts of souviners from the beach boys and their shops on the beach next to the hotel,nost of them are really nice and if you will politly but assertively tell them you are not intrested (in the tour\shopping\massage etc) most of them will leave you alone.

we picked this hotel after reading lots of reviews about this resort and others on the Island so I guess that's the highest level you can get in Zanzibar for this budget, we are just comparing it to our vacation in Cancun,Mexico last year where the amanaties\entertaiment\food and everything was much much higher.
over all it was a very relaxing stay,with great service,amazing beach and we had a good time.

Room Tip: Sea side rooms numbered 4XX are quiter then the 3XX that are closer to the main restaurant and entar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Jovago.com, Agoda, Tingo, Despegar.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.