We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

After a weeks safari the week stay we had at the Neptune Pwani Beach Resort was pure bliss ! I can't say the same for the flight from Nairobi to Zanzibar airport with "Precision Air" !!! Other people have commented on Trip Advisor about this airline and I can only concur the same - 2 hours late getting to Zanzibar and 3 hours late returning to Nairobi, on both occasions it was down to "technical problems" - they are anything but precise ! BUT that didn't deter in anyway from the holiday we had.
The accommodation we had was roomy, clean with a mahossive bathroom stocked daily with the usual toiletries, the maids came twice every day, once to clean and make up the beds and the other to turn the beds down, draw the mosquito net and turn the lamps on - nice touch !
The gardens around the accommodation were beautiful and excellently maintained, the staff in the restaurants and bars kept them immaculate.
The staff themselves were some of the most friendly, helpful and smiley people I have ever met, they couldn't do enough for you. The kettle in our room had broken and was replaced almost immediately.
The beach was idyllic ! beautiful white sand and the bluest sea. When the tide goes out it can take the best part of an hour to walk to the waters edge and an hour back again, a definite recommendation is to TAKE PULL ON BEACH SHOES when the tide goes out there are hundreds of sea urchins (not pleasant to stand on).
There are loads of "BEACH BOYS" that stand on the beach, they can appear to be quite intimidating if your not used to seeing them, the reps will tell you not to have anything to do with them, especially the ones in yellow t shirts offering trips. DO NOT LISTEN TO THE REPS they call themselves "EDDIE MURPHY TOURS" - as we were only there for a week we just decided to do a 1/2 day trip to Stonetown. With the reps this would have cost 50USD each, with the beach boys it cost 30USD. You only have to pay a deposit and you pay the rest after the trip when they return you to the hotel. The only difference being that they pick you up outside the Hotel grounds instead of outside the reception area. The vehicle was air conditioned and clean, a perfectly english speaking guide met us at Stonetown and we did everything that was on the itinerary the rep had given us - do not be put off, barter with them, and put the money in the locals pocket instead of the hotels ! As for the other beach boys on the beach if you don't want what they are selling or don't want them to come with you on a beach walk you only have to be firm and tell them so, they do not carry on bothering you.
The food at the Pwani Beach was buffet style for all meals, of a high standard and good variety, I can recommend the salads, the pasta bar on an evening, and the omlettes made to order for breakfast. The cocktail bar list is extensive and they are in decent size glasses (for a change) I managed to get through quite a few !
I have no complaints at all and don't forget :-
TAKE BEACH SHOES
GO WITH EDDIE MURPHY TOURS

Room Tip: Most rooms appear to have a view of some sort of the sea, the ones higher up on the complex obviousl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    300
    163
    24
    10
    4
See reviews for
90
309
11
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012 via mobile

We spent four nights on an all-inclusive basis. In general, the room was nice and comfortable. The bathroom was excellent. The food was decent although not very much varied (especially for non-fish lovers). The staff was very nice especially the bartenders & waiters. The resort itself is quite big and nicely landscaped. The beach is awesome although the tide variation makes it difficult for you to swim whenever you please. The two pools and the bars were really nice too. 

I think management should  invest a bit more in entertaining the guests. The show during dinner time is too short and the activities during the day are not very exciting. 

I would like to complain on three things: (1) non availability of free wifi - I think this is unacceptable in such a resort in today's world (2) the all-inclusive spirits are of low quality ruining the hard work of the bartenders (3) anything which does not fall within the all-inclusive package is super expensive (especially the souvenir/convenience shop and the Spa).

Overall it was a nice and relaxing experience but hope management takes note of the complaints to improve their package. 

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

I stayed in this hotel from June 24 till June 30, 2012. My impressions are very good. Hotel is well-located in the beach. I stayed in deluxe sea side room, which was 50 meters far from the coastal line. Rooms are very spacious. Cleaned every day. Personnel is very friendly, polite and suave. Food quality and assprtment is good, but breakfasts are the same every day (would like them to be more diverse). If you need coconut juice, no problem - just tell gardener and he will take coconut from palm and it is free. Do not buy anything offered by beach boys (local people). They offer poor-quality products and services. Try to contact them as less as possible. Beaches are good, but water level varies depending on moon phase (needs to be taken into account). I recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Deluxe sea side rooms are good, but try to book a room as far as possible from the restaurant. I you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012 via mobile

All you. could want in an all inclusive holiday. The vendors on the beach are persistent, but harmless. One needs to be firm with your communication. The Beach Boys tour operators are much cheaper and although the hotel operators warn you against using them, they do a great job at good prices. Majeba, one of the basemen made our stay especially memorable.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We went there for 7 days, after a safari in Kenya.

Positive points:
- wonderful location: withe sand, blue ocean, amazing
- beautiful room: spacious, african style, very clean, free mini bar, sea view
- big pools
- a large choice of beverages in the all-in

Points of improvements:
- white wine is not good at all, not normal for that level of hotel
- food is very good BUT we could have expected:
- home made jam at the breakfast
- breakfast could be better
- more local food. The chef looks like to be Indian, and we had a lot of Indian food.
- beach boys are SO annoying: if you are polite but strict, they give up, but they come to you EACH day, several times a day, while you are resting or on the beach, they never stop!!
- animation team is inexistent
- no fitness center
- the service of the staff is not consistent and sometimes very basic. Some were not very polite and unexperienced.

In conclusion: the location is wonderful, the landscape as well, the rooms are beautiful, food is good but the service in general could be better and buy a lot of patience for the beach boys :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2012

My wife does not enjoy sitting on a beach, so convincing her to go on this holiday was difficult. But 7 days on the beach in your hotel was easy! The activities, the food, the beach itself all made for a fantastic holiday!!! We would recommend this hotel to anyone, we even found the beach boys to be more entertaining than annoying!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was our first trip to Zanzibar. Sandies Neptune is impressive with all the beautifully maintained thatch units. The standard of the rooms was exceptional and spacious. My favourite aspect of this hotel is the pool and pool bars! Have a look at the photos! The main swimming pool is truly fantastic - and huge! Beautifully designed. The buffet breakfasts, lunches and dinners were well done and the service of the staff was good. There is a large and impressive beach-front right in front of the hotel. I would especially recommend this hotel to families given the beautiful pool and large beach space! And for the more energetic there was a football and volleyball game organised every day! The sand volleyball court is right next to the pool! Couldn't ask for more! The only slight problem we had with the hotel was the almost continual presence of the vendors once you leave the hotel to walk on the beach. But it was not too much of a problem as they were all friendly and just trying to sell you a trinket, item of clothing or a tour. Sandies Neptune comes highly recommended by us! Asante sana for a lovely holiday!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jovago.com, Agoda, Tingo, Venere, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.