We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Their website does not do this wonderful hotel justice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Pwani Mchangani
hongkong
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
“Their website does not do this wonderful hotel justice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days as the end to our honeymoon after a safari. We were a little worried about the hotel because the hotel website isn't that great. We braced for what was to come, but the moment we pulled up to the hotel we were pleasantly surprised. It is an all-inclusive resort (which I normally stray away from) but it was nice not to worry about carrying around money. The rooms are nice, but not the nicest rooms I've every stayed in. I would recommend the spa, set up above the property overlooking the whole resort with another private pool and private treatment rooms. It is a bit overpriced though.

What really makes the Neptune Pwani special is the beach. I do not lie when I say this is the best beach I have ever, ever stayed at. First, the private beach area the hotel has is great because it has enough trees you can find your own shade if you need to. Second, the public beach is soft, soft sand, that leads into the most beautiful clear water, where you can walk out as far as the eye can see at low tide. Every once in a while a huge tour group takes up the sandbar at low tide but they don't stay for long.

The hotels two pools are also quite nice, and one has a swim-up bar.

And the staff is great. My husband accidently left his wedding ring in the bathroom and by the time our driver had turned around and he made it back to the room the cleaners were there, and they had saved his ring to give back to him.

Tip: Be sure you make reservations at the Pizza/Italian restaurant when you check in. It is included but books up and the buffets are just okay.

Also when we were there the gift shop didn't sell sunscreen, so make sure you bring enough.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    266
    146
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
79
272
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2012

I stayed here with my husband and and friends as part of my 50th birthday celebrations. It was such a welcome relief after a fabulous but tiring safari. We were so pleased that Mark at Escape Worldwide had recommended this hotel to us, the location is amazing and the sea and beach are absolutely stunning as are the beautiful grounds of the hotel. The rooms were large and had lovely big balconies for taking in the views. The staff were lovely and friendly and the rooms as well as the rest of the hotel were always kept spotless. Food excellent, always a lot to choose from and hot!. The Spa is wonderful and the view from up there is amazing. Treatments I had were so relaxing and definitely worth the money. Hotel was only around 65% occupied at the time which meant that it was relatively quiet in the evening with most people having retired to bed after 10pm, don't know what it is like when fully occupied. Would eagerly recommend this hotel, everything was perfect for us.

Room Tip: If you like a good view of the sea choose one of the sea view rooms away from the beach up steep ste...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2012

We have been here five times. We live in Dar es Salaam and I tried this place during low season when rates were reduced. I have a four year old daughter and she is happy to play in the pool until she is exhausted. The rooms are clean, and bathrooms huge and modern. There is a spa on site, but I haven't tried it. The pools are lovely and it is worth upgrading to seaside rooms (in my opinion). It is quite a hike up a steep hill to the seaview rooms. The food is quite good for buffet food. The menu stays similar from day to day for breakfast and lunch, but there are always a lot of fresh fruit which we enjoy. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Every evening there is a show of some sort over near the restaurant. The beach is beautiful, and if you are looking for a stress-free vacation - I would recommend Neptune Pwani strongly.

Room Tip: All seaside rooms are equal in my opinion. I have only stayed on the groundfloor rooms, but i would...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katowice, Poland
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

I came back to Poland today from Zanzibar. Start was in Nairobi, then Masai Mara and Safari, then Mombasa and at the end after very active few days I have spent three days on Zanzibar in this hotel and it was one of the best decision in my life concerning trips. Hotel is AMAIZING!!! Rooms, service, pools, beach, surronding area, gardens. Everything is perfect. I can not find anything which was not good. I would reccomend this hotel in 100%!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: Close to the Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon after months of deliberation and overall were not

dissapointed.

We had a Deluxe Sea View Room with wetroom shower room (no bath). Room was spacious, clean and well maintained throughout our stay. We also had a veranda area with seating that looked out throught the gardens to the ocean. Fully controllable aircon with remote meant we were comfortable at all times.

The grounds of the hotel were stunning. Very well maintained and a beautifully planned garden, with an amazing set of terraced gardens separating the Spa from the main hotel area.

The prviate beach area was kept clean, had plenty of wooden loungers and trees for shade if you wanted it. Staff were also readily available to provide refreshments. Security patrolled the boundary between this and the public beach, but were not in anyway in your face constantly.

Once on the public beach, the beach boys would pounce as any seasoned traveller expects, but we found if you were firm but polite you could walk, swim etc relatively unbothered.

Food was of a good standard and offered varied options throughout our stay. The usual range of all inclusive drinks were available and bar staff were friendly. If it's your birthday while you are there you will be in for a treat...

Enterainment varied from traditional Kenyan tribesman, live band to DJ's etc. The entertainment was sometimes followed by the chance to purchase souvenirs,artwork etc from the performers.

We only attended the Spa once and would rate this as average, although in it's elevated position does offer an amazing view at sunset.

The pools were a good size and flowed nicely around the restaurant and bar area's.

If travelling to Stonetown we'd advise being prepared for the usual street sellers pestering you at every turn and you wouldn't miss anything if you didn't go to the Freddie Mercury bar.

We would recommend a trip to prison Island - a horrible history behind it as the name implies, but now the home of giant turtles, which roam around there - you have the opportunity to feed them and donations here will help the conservation effort.

The trip to the rainforest monkey reserve was also well worth it, you can get right up close to them. Although, we didn't get to see the mangrove swamps at their best due to when we visited.

The nearest we can get to a negative comment is that there were frequent power cuts at the hotel, but power usually came back up within seconds. But, again the seasoned traveller should be used to this.

Having been to the Maldives, Seychelles, Thailand etc we'd happily stay here again, if there weren't so many other countries to visit still.

Room Tip: Deluxe Sea View Room worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst on honeymoon. The resort is well maintained. The all inclusive nature makes it a very attractive option. If you looking to visit Stone Town ask at reception for Ronaldo

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Neptune Pwani as part of my 50th birthday celebrations. We had taken a while to choose our hotel and were very pleased that we had decided on this one. The location is stunning and because we had booked a seaside room, we had an excellent view of the sea and beach. The room was spacious and was kept really clean by cleaning staff. The balcony was also large and it was nice to sit out early morning/late afternoon.
The staff were fantastic especially the bar and restaurant staff - very well trained and polite and friendly. Food delicious and plenty of variety. Swimming pool great and sand soft and white. Sea warm like a bath - fascinating to watch local ladies harvesting seaweed and hanging it out to dry. Beach boys amusing and I enjoyed haggling with them. Mosquitos not a problem - virtually non existent during our stay. Went on a boat ride, to spice plantation, Stone Town and walked to local village and school. Comes highly recommended and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a seaside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.