We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon Bliss” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Save Saved
You added Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Milton Keynes
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Honeymoon Bliss”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon after months of deliberation and overall were not

dissapointed.

We had a Deluxe Sea View Room with wetroom shower room (no bath). Room was spacious, clean and well maintained throughout our stay. We also had a veranda area with seating that looked out throught the gardens to the ocean. Fully controllable aircon with remote meant we were comfortable at all times.

The grounds of the hotel were stunning. Very well maintained and a beautifully planned garden, with an amazing set of terraced gardens separating the Spa from the main hotel area.

The prviate beach area was kept clean, had plenty of wooden loungers and trees for shade if you wanted it. Staff were also readily available to provide refreshments. Security patrolled the boundary between this and the public beach, but were not in anyway in your face constantly.

Once on the public beach, the beach boys would pounce as any seasoned traveller expects, but we found if you were firm but polite you could walk, swim etc relatively unbothered.

Food was of a good standard and offered varied options throughout our stay. The usual range of all inclusive drinks were available and bar staff were friendly. If it's your birthday while you are there you will be in for a treat...

Enterainment varied from traditional Kenyan tribesman, live band to DJ's etc. The entertainment was sometimes followed by the chance to purchase souvenirs,artwork etc from the performers.

We only attended the Spa once and would rate this as average, although in it's elevated position does offer an amazing view at sunset.

The pools were a good size and flowed nicely around the restaurant and bar area's.

If travelling to Stonetown we'd advise being prepared for the usual street sellers pestering you at every turn and you wouldn't miss anything if you didn't go to the Freddie Mercury bar.

We would recommend a trip to prison Island - a horrible history behind it as the name implies, but now the home of giant turtles, which roam around there - you have the opportunity to feed them and donations here will help the conservation effort.

The trip to the rainforest monkey reserve was also well worth it, you can get right up close to them. Although, we didn't get to see the mangrove swamps at their best due to when we visited.

The nearest we can get to a negative comment is that there were frequent power cuts at the hotel, but power usually came back up within seconds. But, again the seasoned traveller should be used to this.

Having been to the Maldives, Seychelles, Thailand etc we'd happily stay here again, if there weren't so many other countries to visit still.

Room Tip: Deluxe Sea View Room worked well for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

450 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    269
    146
    22
    10
    3
See reviews for
79
274
11
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for 4 nights whilst on honeymoon. The resort is well maintained. The all inclusive nature makes it a very attractive option. If you looking to visit Stone Town ask at reception for Ronaldo

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hullbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Neptune Pwani as part of my 50th birthday celebrations. We had taken a while to choose our hotel and were very pleased that we had decided on this one. The location is stunning and because we had booked a seaside room, we had an excellent view of the sea and beach. The room was spacious and was kept really clean by cleaning staff. The balcony was also large and it was nice to sit out early morning/late afternoon.
The staff were fantastic especially the bar and restaurant staff - very well trained and polite and friendly. Food delicious and plenty of variety. Swimming pool great and sand soft and white. Sea warm like a bath - fascinating to watch local ladies harvesting seaweed and hanging it out to dry. Beach boys amusing and I enjoyed haggling with them. Mosquitos not a problem - virtually non existent during our stay. Went on a boat ride, to spice plantation, Stone Town and walked to local village and school. Comes highly recommended and would definitely go back.

Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a seaside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2011

the staff were fantastic, hotel very clean. I would recommend using the tours from the hotel. We found the guides to be knowledgeable. We had friends who used the less formal tours and had a terrible experience. I would recommend this resort to anybody looking for a relaxing family holiday. Food was good and very tasty.

Room Tip: all rooms have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2011 via mobile

Lovely beach and location. Visited other hotels and this one the best. Beach boys not a problem at all. More than enough beach chairs and shade. Huge swimming poole. We also enjoyed the ocean, especially high tide. Rooms are comfortable and well decorated. Seaside rooms the best. All meals enjoyable. Plenty of variety on all inclusive beverage menu. Spa nice but no excellent. Gardens lovely an kept to the perfection. Beach swept every day. Didn't like stone town, rather enjoy every minute at resort. Staff friendly. Check in didn't even take 5 minutes. Overall LOVELY!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is in every way superbe, very friendly personel. Very clean rooms, and surroundings.
Especially Flora was very polite and helpful. Also the men who gave us the beachchairs and things, where very helpful.
We recommend this hotel to all the travellers who are going to Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Rooms that are on the high side of the hotel, are too far away from the beach.... ofcourse .. when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We went for our honeymoon, only had 4 days due to business related constraints, but it was well worth it! I will start with warning you to take your mosquito repellent; it is not a requirement, but an absolute necessity.

From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave, you are greeted with a friendly face and eager "Jambo!" The staff are entirely geared towards keeping guests happy and providing them with whatever they require. They will go the proverbial "country mile" to ensure you are happy!

The resort is kept in impeccable condition, you will often awake to see the gardens being manicured to perfection, the beach sand raked in patterns and the lounging chairs on the beach being wiped and the pillows prepared to precision. Whether you are going to spend the day in the sun, by the pool or in your room, a friendly assistant is always close at hand.

Full board option allows you all the amenities and luxuries of the resort, definitely an option to consider. Treat yourself to at least one “Jambo-Jambo” (a local cocktail), it is just what the doctor ordered for the sun!

If any, the “beach boys” do get a bit annoying at the best of times; word of advice, buy whatever they are selling from one (but barter to at least 50% of the original price), something like the carved name boards or key holders, and the rest leave you as soon as they see you have already supported their fellow entrepreneurs.

The water in the lagoon is warm, rather cool off in the pool as you will be closer to the bar, but do explore the lagoon and treat yourself by bringing a pair of flippers and goggles. The lagoon isn’t very deep, I’d say 4-5 feet when the tide is out, but the visibility is in excess of 30 feet! A pair of booties for the coral is a definite!

We did the spice tour and the Stone Town tour in one day. The friendly Zantour representative at the hotel (Asia) arranged it for us. Our tour guide Atom was everything you could wish for. We are both avid photographers and he prepared us before we went anywhere by explaining where and when we could take photo’s as this is a tender matter for the locals. Some even require an upfront $2 fee for a photograph!

Prepare yourself with lots of mosquito repellent before you go to the spice tours and do not expect to see any form of mechanisation in the spice tour. You will be taken on a walk-about through the forest where the various spices are grown and be given the opportunity to taste and smell all of the spices. The butterfly-man and fruit tasting after the spice tour is a welcome surprise and really amazing! I will discuss Stone Town in another review.

Creature comforts at the resort are anything and everything you need, for a resting and relaxing stay. Take all your usual toys (camera, Nook, Kindle, Laptop) with as you will use them at some time or the other. You can simply leave the equipment at your lounger on the beach while taking a walk through the lagoon, it’s pretty much as safe as houses as there are always waiters taking drinks to other sunbathers and there are security guards ensuring that the beach boys do not enter the resorts’ property.

Will we go back? It’s a question of when, not if!

Room Tip: Insist on the seaside rooms, save yourself a good amount of stairs; all the rooms have seaviews, bew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com and Venere so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.