We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Belgium
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wonderfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011

This hotel is in every way superbe, very friendly personel. Very clean rooms, and surroundings.
Especially Flora was very polite and helpful. Also the men who gave us the beachchairs and things, where very helpful.
We recommend this hotel to all the travellers who are going to Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Rooms that are on the high side of the hotel, are too far away from the beach.... ofcourse .. when y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    178
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
97
331
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2011

We went for our honeymoon, only had 4 days due to business related constraints, but it was well worth it! I will start with warning you to take your mosquito repellent; it is not a requirement, but an absolute necessity.

From the moment you arrive until the moment you leave, you are greeted with a friendly face and eager "Jambo!" The staff are entirely geared towards keeping guests happy and providing them with whatever they require. They will go the proverbial "country mile" to ensure you are happy!

The resort is kept in impeccable condition, you will often awake to see the gardens being manicured to perfection, the beach sand raked in patterns and the lounging chairs on the beach being wiped and the pillows prepared to precision. Whether you are going to spend the day in the sun, by the pool or in your room, a friendly assistant is always close at hand.

Full board option allows you all the amenities and luxuries of the resort, definitely an option to consider. Treat yourself to at least one “Jambo-Jambo” (a local cocktail), it is just what the doctor ordered for the sun!

If any, the “beach boys” do get a bit annoying at the best of times; word of advice, buy whatever they are selling from one (but barter to at least 50% of the original price), something like the carved name boards or key holders, and the rest leave you as soon as they see you have already supported their fellow entrepreneurs.

The water in the lagoon is warm, rather cool off in the pool as you will be closer to the bar, but do explore the lagoon and treat yourself by bringing a pair of flippers and goggles. The lagoon isn’t very deep, I’d say 4-5 feet when the tide is out, but the visibility is in excess of 30 feet! A pair of booties for the coral is a definite!

We did the spice tour and the Stone Town tour in one day. The friendly Zantour representative at the hotel (Asia) arranged it for us. Our tour guide Atom was everything you could wish for. We are both avid photographers and he prepared us before we went anywhere by explaining where and when we could take photo’s as this is a tender matter for the locals. Some even require an upfront $2 fee for a photograph!

Prepare yourself with lots of mosquito repellent before you go to the spice tours and do not expect to see any form of mechanisation in the spice tour. You will be taken on a walk-about through the forest where the various spices are grown and be given the opportunity to taste and smell all of the spices. The butterfly-man and fruit tasting after the spice tour is a welcome surprise and really amazing! I will discuss Stone Town in another review.

Creature comforts at the resort are anything and everything you need, for a resting and relaxing stay. Take all your usual toys (camera, Nook, Kindle, Laptop) with as you will use them at some time or the other. You can simply leave the equipment at your lounger on the beach while taking a walk through the lagoon, it’s pretty much as safe as houses as there are always waiters taking drinks to other sunbathers and there are security guards ensuring that the beach boys do not enter the resorts’ property.

Will we go back? It’s a question of when, not if!

Room Tip: Insist on the seaside rooms, save yourself a good amount of stairs; all the rooms have seaviews, bew...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2011

Just returned from a great 10 days here
Had a first floor room with sea view people lovely the grounds are beautiful
Food very good, drinks all included in deal
Mosquitoes are a problem so take plenty of sprays. Zanzibar airport is interesting and an experience. Sellers on the beach are not a problem as the guards are always there
A beautiful place,

Room Tip: Ask for lower level rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This was our honeymoon beach hotel - so after 5 days of Safari in Kenya we flew to Zanzibar for a chill out and relax!

Our journey was a long one from Kenya, we picked up at 7:30am to drive back to Nairobi from Masa Mara, which took about 6 hours - and then we stayed in the Somak Lounge (our tour operators were Somak Travel) for a lunch and waited for the transfer - our transfer was abour 4pm for a 6:30 flight. The Flight was Precision Air and they are apparently known to be delayed!!! We headed to Zanzibar about 7ish, got there at 9pm and then our driver met us at the Airport. Be wary - people are waiting to 'help' with your bags and it can get a bit hectic!!! (also - i was amused that there wasnt a carosel to get your bags from, just a hatch and a man putting the bags on a table.....basic is the best description for the airport!!!)

It was still super hot in the evening so our lovely air con minibus to take us to resort was nice - we arrived about 45 mins later as the hotel is on the east side of the island. Its dark early so we could only make out the townships as we drove through and our driver advised us to not go out after sunset as it wasnt very safe. We had no intention of leaving our complex anyway!

We checked in - very smooth, and our bags were taken to our room which was a seaside room (number 456) close to the pools, and the snack bar! yumyum!

The hotel had kept a meal for us and we popped tot he restaurant - this was a nice touch as it was 10pm now and everything was closed and as you can imagine we were TIRED! (7:30am to 10pm is a long trip!)

Next day we looked around the grounds and it was lovely! a beautiful place, two large pool areas, snack bars, swim up bars, beach area (will come back to that!)

Room was nice - we had a large balcony, a bed with mozzie nets, large bathroom - with shower gels, hairdryer and lots of towels! and enough storage/cupboard space. Plugs are UK plugs although be warned - this hotel seemed to have a lot of powercuts!!!! most evenings there were 4 or 5 powercuts! Rooms have a TV with many english speaking channels. Mini fridge as well with pop and water - replenished each day.

Food - nice variety - we visited the Seafood restaurant as well as the hotel gave us a Honeymooners voucher, as honeymooners we also had a fruit platter, a certificate!!!?? and a bottle of bubbly which was a nice touch - but didnt turn up for 4 days! Better late than never!

We also went to the Pizza restaurant - which was a nice change from buffet, although the choice wasnt limited in the buffet! Frsh cooked items each meal, as well as soups, breads, cakes (yum!) and main meal choices. The waitresses/waiters work very hard here and seem to be working all day long!

We didnt visit the spa - it seemed quite reasonable in price though.

We didnt do any trips - too tired from Safari. The beach sellers on the beach want you to buy trips from them and are quite pushy. If you dont like them you can still relax on the beach, as there is a 'barrier' that they dont cross - which is due to the hotel guards. We went into the sea on our last day and got a bit annoyed by them - one asked my Husband that if he wasnt buying a trip (cos we were going home that day) if he could have his football shirt!? Er no. I will keep that for myself thanks! The beach also has low and high tides, and these are detailed at the towel hut!

Overall, i did love our honeymoon - it was lovely - the weather was amazing and the people are very friendly (JAMBO!) I think its a lovely 4 star accomodation but would not return again as i have so much more of the world to explore!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Studley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011

This was our honeymoon beach hotel - so after 5 days of Safari in Kenya we flew to Zanzibar for a chill out and relax!

Our journey was a long one from Kenya, we picked up at 7:30am to drive back to Nairobi from Masa Mara, which took about 6 hours - and then we stayed in the Somak Lounge (our tour operators were Somak Travel) for a lunch and waited for the transfer - our transfer was abour 4pm for a 6:30 flight. The Flight was Precision Air and they are apparently known to be delayed!!! We headed to Zanzibar about 7ish, got there at 9pm and then our driver met us at the Airport. Be wary - people are waiting to 'help' with your bags and it can get a bit hectic!!! (also - i was amused that there wasnt a carosel to get your bags from, just a hatch and a man putting the bags on a table.....basic is the best description for the airport!!!)

It was still super hot in the evening so our lovely air con minibus to take us to resort was nice - we arrived about 45 mins later as the hotel is on the east side of the island. Its dark early so we could only make out the townships as we drove through and our driver advised us to not go out after sunset as it wasnt very safe. We had no intention of leaving our complex anyway!

We checked in - very smooth, and our bags were taken to our room which was a seaside room (number 456) close to the pools, and the snack bar! yumyum!

The hotel had kept a meal for us and we popped tot he restaurant - this was a nice touch as it was 10pm now and everything was closed and as you can imagine we were TIRED! (7:30am to 10pm is a long trip!)

Next day we looked around the grounds and it was lovely! a beautiful place, two large pool areas, snack bars, swim up bars, beach area (will come back to that!)

Room was nice - we had a large balcony, a bed with mozzie nets, large bathroom - with shower gels, hairdryer and lots of towels! and enough storage/cupboard space. Plugs are UK plugs although be warned - this hotel seemed to have a lot of powercuts!!!! most evenings there were 4 or 5 powercuts! Rooms have a TV with many english speaking channels. Mini fridge as well with pop and water - replenished each day.

Food - nice variety - we visited the Seafood restaurant as well as the hotel gave us a Honeymooners voucher, as honeymooners we also had a fruit platter, a certificate!!!?? and a bottle of bubbly which was a nice touch - but didnt turn up for 4 days! Better late than never!

We also went to the Pizza restaurant - which was a nice change from buffet, although the choice wasnt limited in the buffet! Frsh cooked items each meal, as well as soups, breads, cakes (yum!) and main meal choices. The waitresses/waiters work very hard here and seem to be working all day long!

We didnt visit the spa - it seemed quite reasonable in price though.

We didnt do any trips - too tired from Safari. The beach sellers on the beach want you to buy trips from them and are quite pushy. If you dont like them you can still relax on the beach, as there is a 'barrier' that they dont cross - which is due to the hotel guards. We went into the sea on our last day and got a bit annoyed by them - one asked my Husband that if he wasnt buying a trip (cos we were going home that day) if he could have his football shirt!? Er no. I will keep that for myself thanks! The beach also has low and high tides, and these are detailed at the towel hut!

Overall, i did love our honeymoon - it was lovely - the weather was amazing and the people are very friendly (JAMBO!) I think its a lovely 4 star accomodation but would not return again as i have so much more of the world to explore!

Room Tip: Seaside rooms - not as many steps as Seaview rooms. Suites are expensive, but not as nice views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2011

Having just spent 6 days on a very busy but fab safari this hotel was the perfect end to an amazing holiday. Our room was right on the beach front next to the restaurant. I'd advise an upper room so you can sit on the balcony and enjoy the spectacular view out onto the palm trees and ocean (dream on). We were right next to the entertainment - the coconut band were good. Entertainment always finished before we went to bed so noise others complained about never bothered us and wasn't noisy anyway ! Rooms very clean, bed comfy but bit too hard for me, bathroom very spacious with double shower. Room sprayed and mosquito net put down every night by staff. Pools very clean and saw staff check chemicals regularly. Pool towels provided and changed when required. Swim up pool bar hubbies favourite lunch time place - didn't need to build up an appetite tho cos always enjoyed the meals- even my VERY fussy hubbie. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Managed to avoid the beach boys and had a walk out onto the sandbank - gave a beautiful view of the hotel from crystal clear water of the ocean. Very good selection of cocktails - different at each bar. Serengeti beer - cold, refreshing and tasty +++. Peace, relaxation, good entertainment and food - would definitely recommend this hotel

Room Tip: beach front location - upper level blocks had lots of steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2011

Hotel: Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach, Zanzibar
Date of stay: 07.10.11
Duration: 6 days
2 adults
Cost: approx. £3,000

ROOMS:
Light, airy, clean. Not much cupboard or drawer space. Good deco, shower and bathroom. Sparse mini-bar – 5 soft drinks). Bit of a trek up lots of stairs to our room, so if you have any disability, you must be sure to mention it.

BEACH:
Lovely white soft sand but sea was quite ‘reedy’ around the ankles increasing /decreasing according to the tides. Beach boys (local hawkers dresses as Maasai Warriors) are a constant nuisance some not even selling anything! Although they are not permitted to come right up to the hotel sun loungers, they are irritating and distracting if you want to chill out and relax. They try to get your attention by calling out to you and are mostly multi-lingual. The best way to handle them is to totally ignore them and eventually they will leave you alone. However, it does spoil the ambience a little. If you are a beach person and can put up with this, you will be fine!!

SEA:
Lovely sea, didn’t see any real nasties except in low tide you can actually walk to a sand dune where you may come across black sea urchins or anenomies. A little bit reedy but otherwise okay.

POOL:
There are two great pools!! One near the Madafu bar and another (much nicer) quieter one near the Restaurant. There were no kids during our stay so it really was peaceful.

The hotel grounds are stunning and beautifully maintained.

STAFF/SERVICE:
Excellent friendly staff in the Restaurant and Madafu Bar – they couldn’t do enough for you! However beach staff who were meant to help get your sun lounger and mattress, etc. were extremely lazy (choosing instead to spend their time sitting amongst the shade of the trees and service was non-existent).

FOOD:
Fab!! Gorgeous daily selection particularly the soups and fish dishes which were divine! Something for everyone. Only local beer, red and white wine, no rosè served in the restaurants.

LOCATION:
Good. Only 45 mins away from the airport. Smooth pick-up.

SPA:
6/10. Not bad, the treatments themselves were good but the whole experience lacked ambience and those nice little touches that make you feel like you’ve been really spoilt!! I had a full body scrub, full body massage, body wrap, facial and a hair treatment. A body scrub and body massage for 90 min costs USD $146. The therapist really annoyed me by presenting me with the bill before even starting the treatment(s).

I do not go to Spa’s in the UK and tend to indulge in massages and body scrubs when I am on holiday. I have had them in the Maldives, Dubai, Penang, Phuket, Hua Hin, Sri Lanka so I have lots to compare Sandies Spa with … surprisingly, they never asked me:
 What sort of massage I wanted (invigorating/soothing).
 A choice as to what oils I wanted.
 No medical questionnaire – this is standard practice – quite handy especially if you have any allergies or health issues!
I asked what ingredients were being used, but the description was always vague and nondescript.

My therapist (from Bali) lacked finesse and certain etiquette (if you are a regular spa user, you will know exactly what I mean) – she made me undress (and put on the disposable knickers!) all in the treatment room which had no blinds or curtains and was just too bright to fully relax and enjoy the treatments. No locker, bathrobe or slippers were offered despite the brochure telling you they were provided!

OTHER:
Big negative was the issue I experienced with The Beach Towels. Each guest is given a card for one beach towel, so my husband and I had two cards. You hand in the card(s) and also sign the log for ‘two towels out’ and then at the end of the day ‘two towels returned’ and you get your cards back, repeating the process the next day.

I asked if I could have an extra two towels as I have very long thick hair which takes ages to dry. The Pool Supervisor refused, despite my offer to pay a refundable deposit which is standard practice all over the world in all of the 5-star hotels I have ever stayed in!! The very next day, the Pool Supervisor introduced a New Procedure for an extra towel: a form for guests to complete and a charge of USD$5 non-refundable deposit!! This seemed rather petty-minded to me and were solely the actions of the Pool Supervisor. In fact, the local pool staff seemed highly embarrassed by the whole thing, and I certainly didn’t go on holiday to have a row about 2 poxy towels! It appear Hotel Procedure comes before Guest Satisfaction.

One nice touch: upon our arrival, we missed dinner as the restaurant had closed and they sent a tray of food to our room.

SUMMARY:
Average hotel, but I think you could probably find better elsewhere!

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade! Try to get a room situated on the grounds (not up the hill and up countless sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and Agoda so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.