We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic - I want to go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sydney
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic - I want to go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

This is the resort I will be dreaming about from my internal office at work back home. I wish I could live there forever.

The resort is spectacular. Never seen a pool so big in my life, and it has a swim up bar. The staff are friendly and attentive and all drinks were available when we wanted them.

The food was fantastic and they catered for my husband's coeliac's disease without any issue.

The only issue was that our room was near the entertainment area and loud music was blasting through the walls until 11pm most nights. This is pretty unacceptable really, especially as so many guests are coming off safaris where they were going to bed early and rising early.

The multitude of the areas of excellence within the hotel more than made up for this for us.

Although this hotel was not the most expensive of the Plan Hotels, I cannot imagine what the others have that this one doesn't. I also not many other reviewers referred to the beach boys. I think you need to decide whether you will allow them to annoy you, or just accept it as part of Zanzibar.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the entertainment area, but close to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

540 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    178
    29
    10
    6
See reviews for
97
331
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2011

My best friend and I really wanted to get away from the hustle and bustle of the city and decided a tropical trip was in order. We'd always heard such wonderful things about Zanzibar and because package prices were so reasonable we opted for Neptune Pwani Resort. We went in August 2011 which is their winter, but everyday was at least 27 degrees and I definitely came home with a tan!

What a wonderful place. We were picked up from the airport (after a very long wait at passport control) by Sun Tours. Be sure to carry your own bags to your transport because porters can be quite grabby and expect a tip thereafter. It is about an hours drive from the airport to the hotel, and once we arrived at the hotel we were recieved with a very warm welcome and an ice cold fruit juice. We were shown to our room (which was a fair trek from the beach) and it was gorgeous. Very rustic and charming, linen was clean, room was tidied daily and aircon was in working order (phew!).

The resort itself was very pretty, the food was also delicious. Expect lots of fruit for breakfast, a variety of fruit and breads as well as the usual omlettes, pancakes and waffles. Lunch was by far my favourite-gorgeous fresh fish with coconut rice, pizza, pasta made to your liking as well as some pretty delicious desserts. Dinner was alot like lunch. The waiters were all very attentive and helpful as well. The only downfall with regards to the food is that after lunch service is over, snacks can be found at the bar between 14:00-19:00, but snacks were quite boring and bland. Cocktails were ok-most tasted fairly similar so we stuck to alot of wine which was great! They carry alot of South African brands which were good wines.

The pool area was lovely, as was the beach. i do advise you take your own beach towel, because if you lose a towel given to you by the resort you will pay a $25 fine! There are plenty beach boys who hang around, but are very harmless. We simply told the that we had done all of the tours and they would stop haggling you.

If you walk along the stretch of the beach, you will pass several little stalls. I would advise you dont buy anything there, rather go into Stone Town as it is much cheaper there.

Neptune Pwani is such a lovely place to go to if you are looking for an inexpensive, value-for-money holiday.

Room Tip: Rooms towards the back end of the hotel are lovely and quiet. They are however not wheel chair frien...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bergen, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

I doubted for a long time which resort to choose on Zanzibar. In the end I was definitely not disappointed. The rooms are very spacious and built in a manner that almost all have sea view or at least a glimpse of the sea. The staff is extraordinary. I did not encounter an incident once and all were very helpful and friendly. Also the check-out was good were we got a shower room and we could take all the time in the world. The resort itself has a very relaxed feeling. There are plenty of sun beds and there is plenty of space where you can lie and enjoy the sun. The food is good and there is a good variety.
There was only one small point, but that is more a personal opinion. We had a room aligned with the entertainment area up on the hill. Due to the wind in the evening the sound is being carried all the way into the room, which makes an early sleep almost impossible. I did not complain about it, maybe I should have, but this was a minor point. However if you enjoy some entertainment till late (22.00 / 23.00) then there is no problem.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not aligned with the entertainment area. This will save some music in the evening.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2011

The pwani beach resort is on the northwestern end of zanzibar island about 45km from stone town. It is beautifully laid out along a beautiful white beach with 2 big pools restaurants, bars and a spa. The facilities at the spa are not part of the all inclusive package. Most villas are at beach level but some are 20ft higher accessed via steps. Beach views are all restricted. Food is varied and the bars serve cocktails and local beers which are very good. Getting to stone town or to the south of the island is difficult and expensive. Excursions booked through the resort are very expensive. Beach boys offer them at less than half the cost and are very reliable. The Blue safari is fabulous and not to be missed.

Room Tip: some rooms are up several steps. If you find them difficult, ask for a room at reception level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Like many , I used this hotel as a "beach extension" after a safari. I could not recommend going all that way for it as a destination in itself.

In case a seaview is important to you : literature claims that all rooms have sea-views / side -seaviews. I would argue that 40% have views of the the backs of other blocks, as our two did. If find it hard to believe that many of those near the front could see much through the ( attractive ) rows of trees.

Beach and hassle : Nobody sets up on the beach as it is infested by pedlars - there are warnings about them in the literature in the rooms.Compared to other places I have been they seemed relatively unagreesive. But several simply stand at the edge of the beach staring in at the lounging guests, shouting at them to get attention - quite unsettling. Although there are a couple of guards at the front they keep a fairly passive eye on things - one ( the boss I believe ) even said to me that the "beach boys" will be very friendly but be very wary as they can suddenly turn aggressive ! A long way to go for the beach to be essentially out of bounds. And for the beach front of the property to be insecure.

Reception - we could not have a worse welcome. Bizarre. Officious.

Food was just OK in my book. Restaurant / resort staff generally were very nice. Would have liked a bath in the room.

If you must go to Zanzibar, I would probably recommend staying in / around Stonetown.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paarl, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Positives: Efficient check-in and friendly service. Large and very clean rooms. All the rooms have balconys that face the ocean, although not all are sea-view.

The best part of this hotel is the food - we were on an all-inclusive package and the food was always great! Besides the traditional buffet items, the evening buffet meal always included fresh fish (cooked on demand) which was delicious.

There are 2 pools to chose from and more than enough sun beds (even though this is a large resort). There is also 3 bars in the resort - two at the pool and beach side and one at the restaurant side.

Negatives: Due to this being a very large resort the beach is crowded with locals trying to sell their goods. Because of this the hotel has its own private section of sand with security guards at the entrance/exit to the sea.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2011

Stayed for 2 weeks, the food is amazing, staff friendly and hotel was nice.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa

Address: P.O. Box 3400, Pwani Mchangani 3400, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Pwani Mchangani
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Pwani Mchangani
#2 Romantic Hotel in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and spacious, Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa is an ideal choice for guests in search of a retreat that offers the "special touch", matched with attention to the finest of details. The Resort has been meticulously created, emulating traditional Zanzibar style, using the best in local design, interiors and furnishing, meeting top international standards. The Resort features 150 rooms all with terrace and ocean view, situated in 2 level blocks and 4 individual beachfront suites with in-room Jacuzzi. Facilities include 3 restaurants, 2 bars, the Rain & Earth Spa, the Spherique Boutique, conference room and facilities and a water sports centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Despegar.com so you can book your Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandies Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Neptune Pwani Beach Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Hotel Kiwengwa
Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Neptune Pwani Beach Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.