We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place to stay in Zanzibar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Save Saved
You added Next Paradise Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Pwani Mchangani, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
january 2015
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Pwani Mchangani
London
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay in Zanzibar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

We stayed at Next Paradise for 3 nights in September and had a wonderful time. We had found the search for accommodation in Zanzibar quite difficult; it's hard to picture where everything is in relation to everywhere else (as a first time visitor) and the accomodation across the island is very expensive across the board, which adds a lot of pressure to 'get it right' and not spend lots of money on something disappointing.

Some points of note:

1) It is absolutely worth getting a beach bungalow, they are by far the best accomodation and the price difference is really insignificant compared with the leap in quality, location, space and furnishing that comes with the bungalow. We stayed in A2 (of 4), I would suggest this was the best one.

2) We took the transfer offered by the hotel. 40 Euros each way seemed expensive, but was absolutely worth the money. We were new to travel in Zanzibar and after the chaotic streets of Dar Es Salaam it was great to have a well maintained car, with driver and our name on a sign, to pick us up from Stonetown Ferry Port.

3) The grounds of Next Paradise are beautiful from the moment you pass through the main gate. Everything is beautifully maintained, even the parts that seem 'natural' are in fact carefully tended and cared for.

4) All the staff were excellent, with no exceptions. We didn't want for anything.

5) We loved that breakfast could be served on your balcony at no extra charge. The breakfasts were very, very generous, much more than we could eat. Lunch can also be delivered to your balcony / verandah; this was also excellent and well priced (lunch and a drink would cost you between 7 and 14 euros). You are fairly remote, but this isn't taken advantage of with overpricing additional food and drink.

6) Our worry with a resort was the potential 'crowding' of people around the pool / beach / loungers, etc. Nothing could be further from the truth; there are multiple little oasis of calm around Next Paradise, whether by the pools, in the gardens or on the beach itself, you will never feel that you are forced to share space with others.

Overall we had an absolutely wonderful time at Next Paradise, we really didn't want it to end. If you are looking at Zanzibar accomodation and struggling to decide where to spend (lots of) your money, we would highly, highly recommend Next Paradise to you.

Room Tip: A2, beach bungalow, excellent location and wonderful room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    38
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
211
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Attard, Malta
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

We spent 5 nights at Next Paradise, and the whole stay was perfect, great location by a white sandy beach, wonderful architecture that seamlessly blends in the surrounding environment and yet offers all the comforts one would expect from a 5star resort, friendly and extremely helpful staff, and last but definitely not least, each day ended with a delicious 4 course dinner, which is mainly based on seafood and local produce. A true paradise, which this is much closer to home to have the chance to visit more often.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

We've had excellent 10 days, Next Paradise Boutique Resort is a true boutique place - you get personnal attention, management and staff is very friendly and knows you almost on personnal basis, excellent kitchen for breakfast buffet and set dinners, where you could replace dishes according to your wish or taste.
i would recommend to saty in one of beach front bungalows but other beach front ropmms are also very nice (even though in bungalows you get more sunshine during the day).
I would recommend to take the bike and ride along the beach for 3-5 kilometers and stop for lunch in one of small restaurants.
Diving wise - rather difficult conditions, it takes an hour by a bot to get to a dive site, nice coral reef but no big fish or turtles, can get quite rough (big waves!) so watch out for that :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haarzuilens
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We had a perfect stay in "next paradise beach resort" in august 2013, despite of cloudy weather was it a good time in Zanzibar. If you want to go to Zanzibar, this is your hotel!!
The staff was very kind and wants to help you with everything. Breakfast, lunch and dinner (on the beach) were very delicious. Lots of fresh coconuts were taken out of the palms for our children, who loved it. The cigalas and lobster with SA and Spanish wines, mmmmm.
The extremely fine sand on the beach, top!!

Room Tip: we had room 1 and I think it is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

This hotel had a lot to live up to given the overwhelmingly excellent reviews it has received. It did not disappoint. We stayed for a full week and had a unique, very special time. The welcome was special after the journey from Stone, with a cool coconut placed in to our hands that was delicious, and a warm greeting from Danielle. Throughout our stay staff were highly attentive and excellent in their service.

The hotel is beautifully designed, and careful attention is paid to providing impressive flora around the grounds that make the air fragrant. The beach is lovely and close, and Zanzibar local customs quickly to hand. Security is commendably discrete.

Our room was a delight, and our staff member ensured it was immaculately maintained.

The restaurant is a traditional African canopy, smart and well presented. Food was very good indeed, with the choice of fresh fish caught daily by local fisherman lovingly cooked.

Our room was very close to the immaculate pool, and it was delightful to swim in.
The clientele was pan Western European.

Thank you to Stuart, the owner and all his staff for providing us with a very special and totally relaxing Zanzibar stay. A world wide traveller, this is one of the very best places my wife and I have ever stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaLanza, Owner at Next Paradise Boutique Resort, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Warm wishes from Zanzibar,

Thank you for your recent stay at Next Paradise Boutique Resort .

It is so heart warming to recieve a thorough and detailed review of our property; it means a lot to us knowing you had a wonderful time with us.

It gives my team and myself pleasure in receiving your positive and encouraging feedback on Tripadvisor .

Thank you once again for such a fantastic review

Best regards

Marina Bozic Lanza
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maribor, Slovenia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

It was the most amazing trip for me and my B.! Hotel is located on a beautiful beach, where you can really experience ebb and flow. In the time of ebb the see goes back right to the coral reef, so you can go for a walk right to the reef. The hotel itself is very tastefully decorated; merging European comfort and African stile. We stayed in a bungalow beside the pool with the view opening to the white beach and green/blue sea. The room was very nicely decorated and above all very clean.

The staff is excellent!. No wish is too big. Front desk manager makes even the most extreme wishes come true. All meals can be brought to your veranda and you can enjoy the amazing view while enjoying the great food. Waiters and waitresses are very friendly and attentive. On Monday there was also life music during the dinner. This was the best, because we just love to dance.

Big thanks to the staff!!! for such a nice time ;)

Absolutely great place! For all who want to enjoy great atmosphere, food and who want to relax!
Wish we could go back some time, we are even thinking to get married there one day.

Truely a Paradise!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

1 single night out of two as we quit as soon as we could from the hotel.Rates 264 euros/per night/2 people including Bed & Breakfast & Dinner. (Are we crazy ??????)
We are experienced travelers with plenty of boutique hotels seen over the world... Usually Splendia as our searcher not in this case. Previous stay in Zanzibar Z Hotel(Nungwi) just amazing // excellent.
Critics regarding Zanzibar paradise
Positive things: Nice beach (the only paradise of the hotel name) although full of Italians and beach boys.
Free bikes although old useful to ride in the beach.
Negative things:
Lack of service... 264 euros you expect high quality service here none.
Old fashioned hotel they say it is 4 years since opening hardly to believe as it doesn't have any type of detail, no personality, materials are already depreciated the owner seems they want to have the hotel as a cash cow.
Poor service provided by Daniela (guest relations and front office)
Swimming pool uses bleach rather than chlorine.. Bad location of pool as they don't squeeze the excellent views they could have of the beach creating an infinite pool.
Transfers extremely expensive 2 times market price.. When you deal directly with the waitress they provide half price transfer.
Hotel full of mosquito and ants they could try to solve it the hotel with more fumigations.
Rooms with zero personality no design at all, common facilities with lack of innovation.
No welcome attitude at all, they should improve substantially or change management, create partially refurbishment and include additional €1.5 Mn of CAPEX to be able to improve poor standards.
Service wears really poor and dirty clothes, old fashioned.
20 rooms which means at least 40 guests just has 5 service members and x cleaners.
Front Beach of the hotel without safe guards, no safety policy considered.
Toilets not adapted to the zanzibarian environment it seems like a typical toilet in Europe -- design need to adapt to cultures and environment
Wifi not enough powerful to have big perimeter.
Shower without correct water pumping.
It is a hotel I would pay maximum 80 euros.. I would never recommend it. Good to know that is not included within Lonely Planet.
Location of hotel in the west so no sunset and earlier gets darker.
Many thanks continue making things happen or this hotel will not survive within a highly competitive market

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarinaLanza, Owner at Next Paradise Boutique Resort, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Dear Mr Carlos
Let me first thank you for taking your time and describing Next Paradise Boutique Resort from your point of view and for giving us advice on how to work in the future.

Mr. CarlosHBC, booked less than 24 hours in advance for 2 nights and received regular rates, in his review, he forgot to mention that he begged for discount 3 times with preposterous arguments: twice by email and once at the front desk when he arrived by his own.
We don’t encourage last minute booking as a sign of respect to our guests that booked per time, we will not change our philosophy and we consider unprofessional to reward last minute guest to the detriment of diligent travellers.

When possible, we preferr to premiate guest that books in advance with free upgrade.


Let us go step by step:

1. Per email you have booked a room for 2 nights, 1 day prior to arrival
2. You wanted a discount referring to last minute booking
3. We did not agree on any discount but you still decided to came to Next Paradise Boutique Resort.
4. Manager of the hotel Miss Daniela greeted you as we greet all our guests; with a welcome drink, and a smile .... But you got stuck because you insisted on a discount, so you left the Next Paradise one day earlier.
5. For one night you paid 116.1 euro per person, half board, standard room. So, your statement that you paid 264 euro for two breakfasts and dinner is not correct.
6. At Next Paradise 2 Swimming pools are available and we treat water exclusively with chlorine supplied by Henkel.
7. Our rooms are described in detail in our web site with text and eloquent pictures: our furniture is 100% Zanzibari, handmade of solid wood carved by Zanzibari craftsmen in local style.
8. I don’t want to appear arrogant, but as an architect by profession, I am very proud of our European stylish bathrooms (with bidet) our ceramics and taps are imported from Europe (like most of other technical equipment) to guarantee our guests best comfort.
9. May be uniforms of waiters and cleaners are not fashion trends but they are definitely clean and tidy.

10. Before you booked a room you had all needed information online, the exact descriptions and photographs of the rooms.
11. Our security team counts 11 members, all equipped with walkie talkie and 40 cctv cameras (8 on the beach) working 24/7.

By the way: we are Next Paradise and not Zanzibar Paradise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Pwani Mchangani
Free internet...
Show More
14.5 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#1 of 17 in Nungwi
5.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
13.7 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#2 of 142 in Zanzibar
5.0 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Romantic, Free...
Show More
2.0 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 stars 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free Brea...
Show More
0.0 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 4 in Kizimkazi
5.0 of 5 stars 349 reviews
Beach, Pool, Ro...
Show More
0.0 mi away
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
The Z Hotel Zanzibar
#5 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 stars 569 reviews
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
19.9 mi away
Mashariki Palace Hotel
Mashariki Palace Hotel
#1 of 29 in Stone Town
5.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Next Paradise Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Address: Pwani Mchangani, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Next Paradise Boutique Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Next Paradise Boutique Resort sits on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches of Zanzibar, facing directly the Indian Ocean and protected by the coral reef which is about one kilometer away.located only 45 minutes drive from Stone Town and 30 minutes from Nungwi and Kendwua, (the beaches of north) it is perfect place to organize excursions, spice tours, swim with dolphins, big game fishing, kite surfing , diving and snorkeling to Mnemba atoll. The charming small hotel is well known because of its sober elegance, the excellent food and especially for its intimate and quiet atmosphere. At Next Paradise you will find 16 fully furnished rooms all provided with air conditioning and sea view private verandahs. Our staff is always happy to offer individual attention to every single guest of the hotel. Whether you're looking to book your honeymoon or need inspiration for a romantic getaway, we have special offers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, T4B, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Next Paradise Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Next Paradise Boutique Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Next Paradise Boutique Resort Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Next Paradise Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.