We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A true Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Save Saved
You added Next Paradise Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Next Paradise Boutique Resort
4.5 of 5 Boutique Hotel   |   Pwani Mchangani, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
january 2015
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Pwani Mchangani
San Diego, California
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A true Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This is by far the most lovely, quaint and accommodating "resort" I have encountered. As a single, I was looking for palace to relax and breathe before returning home to the US. After 4 months in Ethiopia, I was in need of some tranquility. Next Paradise has the most lovely setting right on the beach. The room was far above average in amenities and space abd cleanliness. The staff is by far the most friendly and accommodating. Everything from the setting to the service to the remarkable food exceeded my expectations. I got more than my money's worth.. Oh! Did I mention... They sent a driver to pick me up from the airport at 330am? Above and beyond! I will revisit Next Paradise for another vacation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

324 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    277
    38
    3
    3
    3
See reviews for
45
211
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was the finale to our adventure-filled honeymoon of climbing Mount Kilimanjaro, camping safari and volunteering at an orphanage. All-inclusive fancy shmancy hotels are NEVER our cup of tea but given that this is our honeymoon and the amount of "roughing it" that was had, we felt we needed to stay somewhere completely luxurious and a no-brainer.

Large resorts are obviously not even on our radar so we sought to find an intimate, serene boutique hotel off the beaten path. Next Paradise was the perfect choice for us. We stayed in the honeymoon suite (of course because when else would we legitimately be on honeymoon?!). We had an entire beachfront, wrap-around veranda with an outdoor bed, large chaise lounge and two arm chairs! The room was beautiful and cozy with french doors that open up the entire wall to cool ocean breezes. Pure heaven.

The staff were all so professional, courteous, attentive, prompt, friendly and warm. They all went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed. Honestly wonderful! We experienced such horrible service from another establishment in Stone Town during our visit so we felt lucky to be surrounded with the staff at NP.

Sadly, I can't speak as highly of the food as most of the commenters. Perhaps it was over-hyped so that our expectations were way high when we arrived. But from what we ate, the food was good but not life-changing like we thought. But they get an A for effort!

As for the beach itself, yes, there is insanely low tide. But we didn't see this until our 6th day. All the other low tides were knee-deep in water. The insane low tide was ankle-deep as far as the eye could see! But really quite a magnificent thing to experience! Especially with the seaweed farmers. The sand was like flour and the water was a beautiful aqua blue and perhaps on the brink of being uncomfortably warm. There are large patches of seaweed/kelp in the water and there are lots of sea urchins so be careful! But since the water is so gosh darn clear, you can see where the dark patches are and avoid them!

In sum, NP was the paradise that we needed for this vacation. An oasis where we could relax, be pampered and do absolutely nothing but enjoy the serenity.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights, wish we could have had more time. On arrival we got a free upgrade to a beachfront room; and my oh my was it amazing! We had a direct view of the ocean every single day, and literally walked out of our room on to the beach.

Our room (no 1) was clean, beautifully decorated and spacious (there is even a separate walk-in closet). There is a fan and air-conditioner.

There are only a few rooms, so lots of privacy and attention to detail. Breakfasts are from 8am till whenever and can be delivered to your room for no extra charge! The dinners were fantastic, a different 4 course menu every night, mostly seafood. Always fresh, delicious and beautifully presented. The staff are very professional and attentive. If you would like to do any activities, this can easily be organised with a local tour operator. We went snorkelling, had lots of fun. They also have free wifi, the strength of the signal tends to vary, but it was pretty decent and best in the bar area.

If you are looking for a small intimate beach getaway with excellent service, this is the place I would definitely recommend it.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karnal
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

it was a wonderful exprience of staying in this hotel..
great location...amazing people...
well decorated rooms and cooperative staff...
value for money..
recommended to all..
plan ur visit timely..so that u can get booking done accordingly..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalton, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed here for a week just before Christmas based on the Trip Advisor recommendations and we were not let down! Rooms were clean, well decorated, and quite comfortable as well. My room was looking out at the pool and had a nice day bed to lounge on during the day. The food was very good, the dinners couldn't be beat. Every afternoon the night's menu would be posted, all seafood and all very good. Other food could be substituted, but we never felt the need to do so. In addition to this the best aspect of the place were the people, extremely friendly owners and staff, they really went above and beyond to make your stay memorable. If I ever make it back to Zanzibar I will stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We spent there 10 days before the high-season which was really nice. The italian couple who runs the place does really nice cooking and breakfast is available until everyone has eaten (even if it's close to 12....).

The beach is really nice but has the one drawback that you cannot take a bath at low tide as there are many sea urchins... But it's incredible if the fishermen with their local boats are coming back...

The location (in the noth-east) has one drawback that excursions are rather far away (although definitely possible, but you want probably another location if you look for daily trips - which I anyway would not recommend).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This is a recently-renovated tiny property on the edge of the Indian Ocean. Owned by couple (an Italian and a Slovak) who clearly have an eye for details, it is quite nice and a great bargain for the price.

I stayed in a beachfront bungalow, which was beautifully decorated with nice local furniture, beautiful lamps, European bath fixtures and local tile. It indeed was only separated from the beach by a lovely tiled pool, surrounded by gorgeous stone pavers. Nice A/C and fan to beat the Zanzibari humidity. Speedy internet. Generator.

Did nothing but lounge around - not much else to do.

Staff are OK - nice but not terrifically effective.

Food was quite good. Breakfast had fruit, yogurt and cereal buffet with breads and eggs made to order. Plentiful and fine. Espresso drinks available from a machine, which were good. Coffee disappointingly was instant in this region of Africa with terrific coffee. Lunch was simple, bar drinks made nicely, and dinner was fantastic. Four courses including a local fish dish, a salad, a desert, and a first plate (I had avocado with shrimp, spinach crepe, grilled white snapper with tomato coulis, passion pie).

Beach was relatively isolated, which is good. Not too many of the infamous hawkers, though still a few. But soft sand, and a walk into the Indian Ocean that felt like it went on forever.

Room Tip: Beachfront bungalows are lovely, but hard to go too wrong here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Next Paradise Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Next Paradise Boutique Resort

Address: Pwani Mchangani, Pwani Mchangani 3363, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Pwani Mchangani
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Pwani Mchangani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Next Paradise Boutique Resort 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Next Paradise Boutique Resort sits on one of the most beautiful white sandy beaches of Zanzibar, facing directly the Indian Ocean and protected by the coral reef which is about one kilometer away.located only 45 minutes drive from Stone Town and 30 minutes from Nungwi and Kendwua, (the beaches of north) it is perfect place to organize excursions, spice tours, swim with dolphins, big game fishing, kite surfing , diving and snorkeling to Mnemba atoll. The charming small hotel is well known because of its sober elegance, the excellent food and especially for its intimate and quiet atmosphere. At Next Paradise you will find 16 fully furnished rooms all provided with air conditioning and sea view private verandahs. Our staff is always happy to offer individual attention to every single guest of the hotel. Whether you're looking to book your honeymoon or need inspiration for a romantic getaway, we have special offers for you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Next Paradise Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Next Paradise Boutique Hotel Pwani Mchangani
Next Paradise Boutique Resort Zanzibar/Pwani Mchangani

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Next Paradise Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.